stuck at preparing automatic repair screen

dynamojack

just helped a bro to troubleshoot the other day...now my turn kena

Scenario 1: normal boot past bios, at asus logo screen the loading thing load for like 3 secs then hang there
Scenario 2: after forced shut down 3x, still at asus logo screen, now the "Preparing Automatic Repair" appears below the loading thing but same thing load 3 secs hang

- tried to re-seat almost everything liao, same issue, disabled fast boot also
- i googled but almost all results is about how to get out of the loop, i cant even get it to loop. Cannot get into the blue recovery place.
- ran the self test for ssd in bios all ok
- good thing is everything still under warranty

mb: asus b660m-a wifi d4
cpu: i5-13600kf
ram: t-force delta 2x8 gb 3600mhz
storage: wd black sn770 500gb gen4
psu: CM v750 sfx (just bought <1mth)
gpu: 4060 (just bought <1mth)

most likely will head down sls this weekend but just curious if anyone tio this crap before? thanks

tsteo77

just helped a bro to troubleshoot the other day...now my turn kena

Scenario 1: normal boot past bios, at asus logo screen the loading thing load for like 3 secs then hang there
Scenario 2: after forced shut down 3x, still at asus logo screen, now the "Preparing Automatic Repair" appears below the loading thing but same thing load 3 secs hang

- tried to re-seat almost everything liao, same issue, disabled fast boot also
- i googled but almost all results is about how to get out of the loop, i cant even get it to loop. Cannot get into the blue recovery place.
- ran the self test for ssd in bios all ok
- good thing is everything still under warranty

mb: asus b660m-a wifi d4
cpu: i5-13600kf
ram: t-force delta 2x8 gb 3600mhz
storage: wd black sn770 500gb gen4
psu: CM v750 sfx (just bought <1mth)
gpu: 4060 (just bought <1mth)

most likely will head down sls this weekend but just curious if anyone tio this crap before? thanks
Do a clean reinstall of your OS and see how it goes.

kaputzzz

Probably corrupted os or faulty drive. Use a usb boot drive to repair or boot into safe mode and try fixing it from there.

Xihe

Your self test for SSD is it the full test or quick test? If full test, then the OS is corrupted and a fresh install will fix it. If only quick test, do a full test and see how.

Psycovirus

Sometimes... just sometimes, some USB peripheral plugged in can fail and cause the boot into windows to just hang. Try unplugging all other devices except keyboard and mouse.
other than that, it maybe OS HDD failure.

dynamojack

yup plugged out everything only dp, kb and power left.

ok update, got a bootable usb and had 2 options to boot to, the uefi and non-uefi one. However both options leads to a loading screen and same thing it hangs there after 3s, effectively cant even boot from usb

hong gan how now

liewhl

what sort of bootable usb window PE? best is to also remove other storage ssd/hdd when you try in case you never set your boot option properly

try to reseat your system.

try to boot with 1 stick of ram and change the ram slot and ram stick if still dun work.

if still dun boot, i think you need to send to repair shop to test, might be your mb or cpu liao unless you can find some spare part from somewhere to check yourself

dynamojack

ok final update for those facing the same issue:

solved by updating BIOS via ezflash. Weird thing is i immediately tried booting after and it hang again, next morning i wake up then ok.

Thanks to all the bros who gave help, appreciate it! Happy Dragon Year to all!

Psycovirus

Glad it's ok now. But such intermittent issue is the worst kind of troubleshooting to do. Good job on not giving up.

Still, doing nothing and yet it booted means the issue might still persist in the future.

liewhl

ok final update for those facing the same issue:

solved by updating BIOS via ezflash. Weird thing is i immediately tried booting after and it hang again, next morning i wake up then ok.

Thanks to all the bros who gave help, appreciate it! Happy Dragon Year to all!
i advice you to monitor for the next few day, sometime computer very funny one. suddenly can boot then after a while old issue come again.

robolee

get a USB, install window iso on it and boot into safe boot and do this
replaced the source:d to the drive that your usb are assign to

Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth /source:d:\sources\install.esd \limitaccess
then
sfc /scannow

try this before you reinstall OS

liewhl

omg...issue really came back. guess i cant escape a trip down to sls...:cry:
Yeah, is like that one, hopefully the faulty part which you have die for good, if not Ai si buay si. If suay, you take down sls, everything work again and cannot reproduce. If you can take a video of how it spoil.

Xethos

I got stuck at preparing automatic repair screen back in December as well, after resetting CMOS(after playing with memory clock speed).

Turns out I just need to go bios and set windows boot priority to the correct windows drive and everything is back to normal.

dynamojack

good for you bro.

Final update: turns out my cpu uplorry, was i5-13600kf
fortunately still under warranty and have to go through the longass rma process

guess my next pc will be amd :unsure:

86technie

good for you bro.

Final update: turns out my cpu uplorry, was i5-13600kf
fortunately still under warranty and have to go through the longass rma process

guess my next pc will be amd :unsure:

Usually CPU won't spoil unless you see this:

d61o0igr3ng91.png

FYI Intel unlike AMD have CPU Diagnostic tool you can download to check if the CPU is working properly.
Like others mention recommend to do a clean install of Windows to iron out any issue
with Windows.

Take note clean install of Windows is not Windows reset many have confused between the both.
Yes clean install is troublesome since you need to install all your program again.
But especially for new PC it will be worth the time and effort.

That error I encounter is when I try to install Windows through USB than the error pop out than
that means CPU is faulty. Going into Automatic repair screen means the Windows is corrupted
thus need to install from scratch first.

Unless the PC keep BOSD than that means hardware issue.

dynamojack

I didnt even get this blue error screen. The tech guy even opened a new ssd to install clean win10 and my problem still appeared, I was fully convinced the cpu gg already...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.