Study Abroad or SIMGE ?

Bradsterr

Hey guys I currently have a huge dilemma, I didn't do well for my poly GPA, so now I'm stuck with two choices, proceed to the UK to pursue Uni or simply go into SIMGE. Hope to hear some useful advice. I'm not applying for SUSS as the courses don't really suit me and I don't intend to study part time as well. I would prefer to study with students my age as well and experience a good Uni life if those factors were to be considered. Local U's didn't accept me if you still have realize by now hahas.

SIMGE - Basically its cheaper, I can stay in Sg with my friends/family etc. Local food. But there seems to be not much of a student life and their teaching style is mainly lectures and one exam. $38000

Uk Unis - New environment, more of a student life, has more "prestige". However I have to do a foundation year thus I have to study 4 years instead of 3 to earn a bachelors. Teaching style all rounded not bad. $200 000

If it were you what would you have chosen if you have the financial means ? Hope those that chose either path could provide some insight

FrostWurm

if parents can afford it then option 2, but at least go to a somewhat more reputable uni.

foundation year can indeed get you into some good unis (but not a lot).

UK is fun (unless you are studying in very remote areas), and cheaper now that GBP cmi. london is of course, the place to be for most people. you also get to travel to europe ever so frequently, what's not to love?

but of course its not cheap la, so something to think about

Parmesean

if parents can afford it then option 2, but at least go to a somewhat more reputable uni.

foundation year can indeed get you into some good unis (but not a lot).

UK is fun (unless you are studying in very remote areas), and cheaper now that GBP cmi. london is of course, the place to be for most people. you also get to travel to europe ever so frequently, what's not to love?

but of course its not cheap la, so something to think about

Agreed, going overseas gives you more exposure, and studying abroad is fun! :s12:

divasion

ya but if u want go overseas and study.. den work there better liao after u graduate,since the cert is considered "local" cert at there and would be foreign cert if u bring back to sg to work.. but both sides got pros and cons la.see wat u want.

patryn33

Hey guys I currently have a huge dilemma, I didn't do well for my poly GPA, so now I'm stuck with two choices, proceed to the UK to pursue Uni or simply go into SIMGE. Hope to hear some useful advice. I'm not applying for SUSS as the courses don't really suit me and I don't intend to study part time as well. I would prefer to study with students my age as well and experience a good Uni life if those factors were to be considered. Local U's didn't accept me if you still have realize by now hahas.

SIMGE - Basically its cheaper, I can stay in Sg with my friends/family etc. Local food. But there seems to be not much of a student life and their teaching style is mainly lectures and one exam. $38000

Uk Unis - New environment, more of a student life, has more "prestige". However I have to do a foundation year thus I have to study 4 years instead of 3 to earn a bachelors. Teaching style all rounded not bad. $200 000

If it were you what would you have chosen if you have the financial means ? Hope those that chose either path could provide some insight

You plan to study in England, what's your intended major for you to do foundation year. Messed up again how?

Students life present if u take advantage if it
Not all major get to stay in U.K.
It's getting harder to stay

Prestige really depends on uni. Not all uni considered prestigious

Bradsterr

Kinda want to study abroad to broaden my horizon and experience new things as well, but if things deem unsuitable I would go to SIMGE only as a last resort. But whats holding me back is I'm not sure if the experience is worth the time and money going abroad thats why I would love to hear from more people. Not to mention I like cold weather :s13:

bubblegumcartel

No point spending the money going to the UK lah, especially if you want to stay there for a few years to gain some experience...

patryn33

Kinda want to study abroad to broaden my horizon and experience new things as well, but if things deem unsuitable I would go to SIMGE only as a last resort. But whats holding me back is I'm not sure if the experience is worth the time and money going abroad thats why I would love to hear from more people. Not to mention I like cold weather :s13:

How to quantify the intangibles?
Study at Oxbridge class uni even major in psychology vs
Study at a uni which offer DL here, hmmm debatable

Depending on the exact situation the 2cents from
Ppl changes. Since it's not their $$ or future the comment may likely be go if you can afford

If you looking at cheaper options then can go Canada also cold, not cloudy like parts like U.K. 4 yrs too, work hard can bring down to 3 or 3.5.
Go thru community college can attend renown uni like UBC. U.K. Route not sure if you even find your way to kings, LSE kinda uni.

patryn33

I mean the employment prospect in the UK ;) Not so easy to find a job as a foreigner even if TS has the intention to do so.

thanx for the clarification. It is hard in UK

@ Bradsterr

I gather u are looking at studying Computer Sci.
need to read foundation to transfer to Uni to do comp Sci, gather the Uni is like Manchester
https://www.thecompleteuniversityguide.co.uk/league-tables/rankings?s=computer science
https://www.theguardian.com/educati...league-table-for-computer-science-information

IF Manchester Option
£27,000 a yr + 3yrs degree. est £130k or sgd$230k
http://www.manchester.ac.uk/study/international/finance/fees/

Canadian Option looks better on paper.
http://www.canadastudynews.com/2016/11/04/top-canadian-universities-computer-science-2017/

CAD$25k a yr for community college. est like cad$170K (sgd$185k) close to your 200K budget
https://www.columbiacollege.ca/admissions/cost-of-study/estimated-living-expenses
https://students.ubc.ca/enrolment/finances/tuition-fees/undergraduate-tuition-fees

Bradsterr

Thanks so much for the informative insight. I still plan on studying in the UK as it seems more viable then Canada though. Staying in the UK or coming back to SG to work does not matter to me as I'm fine with both. Computer/IT are the fields I'm looking at indeed. For SIMGE only the Uni of Wollongong seems to be accredited to Computer societies but not UOL's Computing. Not a big fan of aussie but if I'm studying in Sg it would be an IT course from either of these two. Going abroad seems to offer a better learning environment but like I mention there are still things to consider, thus more opinions from people like you are appreciated.

Clone_

Maybe you can consider one of those DL programmes that let you transfer over the the country's campus during your final year?
It's much cheaper than studying the full duration overseas.

patryn33

A lot of seems...
Viable? What makes you think this way? No reason?
U.K. Admission requirement lower of so what makes you think it has a better ROI? What makes U.K. Better to see new things and brighten horizon

Read around a few ppl have done this option and went on to UBC. Sure it's hard work to get GPA of 3.5 to transfer over, uni such as Manchester if the requirements just to complete with a C and let's u play thru uni and get a 2.1. We'll you will be in a world of hurt when u start your career.

Canada still giving out visa b4 students find their job today, no sponsorship required
http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/study/work-postgrad-who.asp

Here you need sponsorship
https://www.internationalstudents.cam.ac.uk/immigration/work-visas-after-study

FrostWurm

A lot of seems...
Viable? What makes you think this way? No reason?
U.K. Admission requirement lower of so what makes you think it has a better ROI? What makes U.K. Better to see new things and brighten horizon

Read around a few ppl have done this option and went on to UBC. Sure it's hard work to get GPA of 3.5 to transfer over, uni such as Manchester if the requirements just to complete with a C and let's u play thru uni and get a 2.1. We'll you will be in a world of hurt when u start your career.

Canada still giving out visa b4 students find their job today, no sponsorship required
http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/study/work-postgrad-who.asp

Here you need sponsorship
https://www.internationalstudents.cam.ac.uk/immigration/work-visas-after-study

If want to transfer from community college, might as well study in California then transfer to Berkeley or UCLA.

Studying in Canada is also not fun. Unless you love extremely cold weather and nothing to do. More stuff to do in USA / UK.

Lastly, I don't think the UK syllabus is more relaxed than Canada.

The only advantage, as you pointed out, is giving you a visa after graduation. But this does not mean that you cannot get a job after graduation from USA (OPT or H1B1) / UK (exempted from resident labour market test).

TS intends to do com science anyway, so it definitely won't be hard to get a job regardless of location.

bubblegumcartel

You sure about this? Regardless of what TS decides to do in the UK, it's damn bloody hard to get a employer to sponsor your visa given the current economic situation... why do you think the Brits voted for Brexit?

patryn33

Community college to UCLA possible but will blow the 200k budget
UCB what are the chances with TS? Not many successfully transferred to UCB, even a 3.9 has no guarantee not to mention it will exceed the 230k budget. No budget donate 1-2M can get your way to ivy. Issues with many ppl is having crazy load of $$ or darn smart. Missing one too bad

UK with briexit they not giving EU ppl a chance you from Singapore better chance? Computer sci 4 years later, no one can predict, current situation not the case

Vancouver extreme cold? Really u are indoors most of the time, 😒 unless u study or spend your nites sleeping outside
http://www.holiday-weather.com/vancouver/averages/
Manchester
http://www.holiday-weather.com/manchester/averages/

Nothing to do? UK more things to do as in what? What is more? Castles and scotch? Campus life more to do in U.K. Vs Canada as in what? Busy studying you think can find time to do stuff? Comp Sci many ppl spend late nites till like 1-2am to code. If u think U.K. More siong, what's make u think TS get to enjoy more stuff? Siong not siong also depends on uni. Go Waterloo do comp sci more siong than your avg U.K. Uni.

kan3siao

Community college to UCLA possible but will blow the 200k budget
UCB what are the chances with TS? Not many successfully transferred to UCB, even a 3.9 has no guarantee not to mention it will exceed the 230k budget. No budget donate 1-2M can get your way to ivy. Issues with many ppl is having crazy load of $$ or darn smart. Missing one too bad

UK with briexit they not giving EU ppl a chance you from Singapore better chance? Computer sci 4 years later, no one can predict, current situation not the case

Vancouver extreme cold? Really u are indoors most of the time, 😒 unless u study or spend your nites sleeping outside
http://www.holiday-weather.com/vancouver/averages/
Manchester
http://www.holiday-weather.com/manchester/averages/

Nothing to do? UK more things to do as in what? What is more? Castles and scotch? Campus life more to do in U.K. Vs Canada as in what? Busy studying you think can find time to do stuff? Comp Sci many ppl spend late nites till like 1-2am to code. If u think U.K. More siong, what's make u think TS get to enjoy more stuff? Siong not siong also depends on uni. Go Waterloo do comp sci more siong than your avg U.K. Uni.

2nd that on the points in block.

KNN, buang at poly level still got people suggesting about going to on-campus UK uni for 4 years since UK is more "fun or more things to do"??

Even if TS eventually manages to secure a place at 1 of the Russell Group of Unis, it only makes sense to spend that huge of $$$$ (4 Years???) if the Uni is strong / well-known for Comp Sci.

Otherwise, MEH......................... :s8:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.