patryn33

What kind of advice?

Don't think check your budget, yrs u willing to spend, etc

dirty_hippo

Major unis like melbourne, sydney, queensland will be super expensive without exemptions (judging from your gpa)

Prepare a huge mountain of cash, looking at about 60k SGD minimum per annum. And do not even think about loans, no one will loan you any money unless you've collateral.

patryn33

What's your budget? Major? How cheap is cheaper?
Without that how to help.

Uni in melb even RMIT will have issue, don't mind lesser known monash? Ballarat? La Trobe can be hard for certain major

What's your purpose of going overseas? Get a paper or give yourself a 2nd chance to do better?

loveaddict

2.4 very hard to enter GO8 in aus.. my 3.1 only have like half or 1 year exemption from deakin.. don't even need to think about entering uni of melbourne.

UK is a lot cheaper in terms of school fees, but other costs will also increase, such as air tickets etc.

patryn33

If u are returning the cost of ticket is higher but not that great.
The savings from going to uk is like 5k, I don't think the air ticket cost is 5k diff.

Some students make $$ by selling things back to sg. If TS were to do that can make some $$. Not uncommon for ppl that does it to claim they make $$ to cover their flight and expenses in sg.

wingsofire

What's your budget? Major? How cheap is cheaper?
Without that how to help.

Uni in melb even RMIT will have issue, don't mind lesser known monash? Ballarat? La Trobe can be hard for certain major

What's your purpose of going overseas? Get a paper or give yourself a 2nd chance to do better?
a 2nd chance to do better.

wingsofire

2.4 very hard to enter GO8 in aus.. my 3.1 only have like half or 1 year exemption from deakin.. don't even need to think about entering uni of melbourne.

UK is a lot cheaper in terms of school fees, but other costs will also increase, such as air tickets etc.
100% no exemption for my GPA, thats for sure i guess..
so 2.4 can only go to other countries like UK?

patryn33

a 2nd chance to do better.

Budget?
2nd chance u could go addituonal yr of foundation in oz then go for degree. Or transfer but few ppl done that too troublesome in their opinion.

Uk u could also read foundation then transfer additional yr.

Canada or states, go CC for 2 yrs then transfer to uni. CC cost is about half of uni

will the UK be any cheaper? or around the same.. (60K per year)

not hard to dig into Uni site to get that number. All it takes is a little googling. since U are not sharing major. different major different cost leh

thread like this may have some info
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/degree-programs-courses-70/studying-abroad-4379639.html

Havok_ex

I believe Monash has quite a good foundation programme. My cousin did badly for his a level and went to do foundation at Monash for a year. When he went on to do his degree at Monash, he started at year 2. So you don't really lose any time because the foundation is counted as your uni year 1.

patryn33

Well monash foundation is comparable to oz yr 12 qualification

Your cousin might have done the monash college dip program

They are different. cost for these foundation or dip is like aud$10k cheaper.

loveaddict

100% no exemption for my GPA, thats for sure i guess..
so 2.4 can only go to other countries like UK?

doesn't matter one lo, no exemption then just study the full course. you go uk might not have exemptions either. most likely you need to take foundation courses to play safe, make sure you are on par with your peers.

but more of you should look at which uni/course and country.. a lot of factors to consider one.. not just financially and your family/friends, one of the factor i decided to not go uk in the end was because i can barely survive in 21 degree air con room so i'll confirm plus chop die in uk :s22::s22:

loveaddict

The rooms in oz not air conditioned?

lol i meant that im very easily scared of cold, so i will most probably not survive the winter/weather in uk. heard from my friend who's studying in uk that it's mostly always very cold. especially during winter cold until he gonna freeze alr & he's the very big sized kind of guy. tbh, i dont even know if i can survive the weather in OZ liao.. :s13:

patryn33

If u can survive oz?? U not there??

size and cool tolerance level no correlation.
my parents cannot tahan AC in SG, but visited me in states for 3mths over winter and have no issue.

some ppl lived in Scotland for 2yrs no issued, move to NZ have issue... really depends

loveaddict

If u can survive oz?? U not there??

size and cool tolerance level no correlation.
my parents cannot tahan AC in SG, but visited me in states for 3mths over winter and have no issue.

some ppl lived in Scotland for 2yrs no issued, move to NZ have issue... really depends

no correlation but somehow still will affect? like, not all big size ppl are not scared of cold, but still somehow less scared of cold i guess. i have very very very low cold tolerance. most days i can wear a thick hoodie walk around and still will feel my arms a bit cold while my friends all perspiring like crazy >< think my body got prob.

yalor depends on how well you think you can adapt to the weather! i think my body won't be able to adapt well and will keep falling sick :( was actually looking so forward to going uk :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.