[SUMMARY] Gaming Monitor Recommendations

Nickkkyy

No one bought the PRISM+ monitor cos it's too expensive for a rebranded Korean monitor.

Why buy from small local company with worse warranty when you can buy AOC 24G2 and Asus VP249QGR for around the "sale" price of $260~

At the current $300~ prices, the AUO models like Acer VG252Q P and Asus VG259Q are a much better buy.

If you want cheap IPS, the Armageddon model is damn cheap. Often $179 if you stack $20 coupon on qoo10.

Hi, thanks for your reply!
I am looking for a fast IPS monitor at 24" and I believe the PRISM+ PG240 is the only one available? As I mainly play FPS games and do some editing work, TN panel doesn't seem suitable for me. Which other monitor would you recommend that have low input lag?

jnashville

i am using the 280hz Asus VG259QM IPS monitor

good monitor for playing esports titles such as csgo, pubg, overwatch, valorant that can hit high fps.

the colors are good out of the box as its an IPS monitor with 1ms response time. its a 240hz monitor that is overclockable to 280hz.

jasonwsc

smlj quoting causes 403 error?

@Nickkkyy

Full list of all monitors and reviews are on the first page.

I personally like my Acer VG252Q P, but most people seem to recommend the AOC 24G2. The AOC is a wide color gamut monitor though, so colours might be a bit too vibrant and not super accurate for editing while the SRGB mode locks some other settings. That being said, people who are serious about editing should use a colourimeter anyway.

The Asus VP249QGR is also recommended for the price, but the stand is pretty bad. Also no professional reviews for the model.

Armageddon Xtreme XF24HD(who TF named this thing) for people on a very tight budget.

Other models a bit too expensive IMO.

wei406015

No one bought the PRISM+ monitor cos it's too expensive for a rebranded Korean monitor.

Why buy from small local company with worse warranty when you can buy AOC 24G2 and Asus VP249QGR for around the "sale" price of $260~

At the current $300~ prices, the AUO models like Acer VG252Q P and Asus VG259Q are a much better buy.

If you want cheap IPS, the Armageddon model is damn cheap. Often $179 if you stack $20 coupon on qoo10.

yeah those 2 are my current options, but sseem hard to find any AOC 24G2, so might settle for ASUS VP249QGR,

anyone with the ASUS VP249QGR can give their opinion on it?

Shutterbox

I got list a few Dell and Alienware leh.

But mostly cos Dell don't make good gaming monitors at the lower end. Most people aren't paying $300 for a 1080p TN S2421HGF.

The Dell S2721DGF looks pretty good though. LG nano IPS 1440p panel but still a bit too expensive. I personally think Dell QC is a bit better than Acer. :s13:

Dell S2721DGF available in Sg?

wwenze

Got AOC 24G2 at $260?

But yea looking at the response time of all Panda monitors measured so far, it's not really at the same speed as AUO. It's a pity that nobody has compared directly the uniformity, but at the rate things are going (response time, color accuracy, IPS glow?), it's not better than AUO.

Maybe I'll buy the Armageddon IF I can get it for $179

EDIT: Walao $249 before discount nia I might as well buy the ASUS

Limexx

What is the difference between prism and taobao monitors other then warranty?

Hyperephania

yeah those 2 are my current options, but sseem hard to find any AOC 24G2, so might settle for ASUS VP249QGR,

anyone with the ASUS VP249QGR can give their opinion on it?
I got the Asus one did some testing for pixels before putting in back in the box cos waiting for my monitor arm to arrive then assemble it.

Looks OK, the glow is minimal as far as I can tell. But like some people mention the stand is really cui that's why I got a arm for it

Also do take note that the hdmi cable that comes with it can't achieve 144hz, the store recommended me to use DP instead

Sent from My Phone using GAGT

Hyperephania

Got AOC 24G2 at $260?

But yea looking at the response time of all Panda monitors measured so far, it's not really at the same speed as AUO. It's a pity that nobody has compared directly the uniformity, but at the rate things are going (response time, color accuracy, IPS glow?), it's not better than AUO.

Maybe I'll buy the Armageddon IF I can get it for $179

EDIT: Walao $249 before discount nia I might as well buy the ASUS
Not sure which model you're talking about but I think I saw one IPS 144hz FHD from them for $199 with free speaker. Or has that promo ended?

Sent from My Phone using GAGT

jxjxjxa

Have been doing a lot of research but still not sure what to pull the trigger on based on price vs value. Looking for 144hz 1440p 27inch IPS monitor.

Gaming and media consumption

Would really appreciate it.

jasonwsc

How about MSI monitors?

Considering MSI Optix G27C4 ;)

Just a personal opinion but I don't like VA panels. Many VAs change screen brightness changes based on framerate(google VA Freesync voltage flicker), and are thus more prone to flickering which I am quite sensitive to.

Have been doing a lot of research but still not sure what to pull the trigger on based on price vs value. Looking for 144hz 1440p 27inch IPS monitor.

Gaming and media consumption

Would really appreciate it.

Acer VG272UP is a decent option, uses the same panel as the LG 27GL850 but for a much cheaper price. No idea about how well Acer tunes the overdrive settings though.

If got money the LG is obviously better.

anyone buy monitor from taobao before?

A bit risky la, but the prices pretty good. AOC 24G2 was like $180ish dollars with coupon etc on 618, plus additional $20-30 for shipping with ezBuy. No warranty though.

jxjxjxa

Acer VG272UP is a decent option, uses the same panel as the LG 27GL850 but for a much cheaper price. No idea about how well Acer tunes the overdrive settings though.

If got money the LG is obviously better.

Can not find any vg272up in stock in SG sia!

Limexx

A bit risky la, but the prices pretty good. AOC 24G2 was like $180ish dollars with coupon etc on 618, plus additional $20-30 for shipping with ezBuy. No warranty though.

I mean those not branded ones.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.