SUSS Part Time 2019/01

aika111333

Anyone else here working on the Nobel Prize argumentative essay?

I have the structure as follow
  • Intro (thesis statement)
  • Agreement point 1
  • Agreement point 2
  • Disagreement point 1
  • Conclusion

Do I need to list at least 3 agreement pointers?

Introduction. Balance your points- 2 agreement, 2 disagreement. And then your conclusion.

aika111333

anyone done and pass their pre-course quiz for SCO101 - Why Do Good?

Able to share some tips on how you do the quiz hahaha :D

Me.... 70/100 on first attempt. The questions are seriously difficult,even after I read the study guide (crappy guide with too many bombastic words. Internet explains better). The good news is that
After an attempt, you can view the question including the mistakes ones. Hence, help you answering the right one for the next attempt.

aika111333

Are we allowed to use other sources that's not about nobel prize to back up claim on essay? Or only can use Text A?

You can if you're trying to make a point in regards to women scientists, and why there are fewer of them winning the Nobel Prize. My research is 20 articles but I ended up using only 8 of them, including Text A.

orinyori

Hi guys if there is an e textbook available in the canvas but not available for main distribution does that mean i do not get to collect a physical copy of the textbook?

that's right. If the checklist shows "N/A", it means you have the etextbook and not the physical textbook.

aika111333

Then how? Next time will have modules wanting 2500 to 3000 words.

No worries. When doing project, you wouldn't even realise your essay will hit 1k. Most of my past essays usually hit 1.5k to 3k. And I did complain to the lecturer that it wasn't enough. The max he gave me was extra 200 words. That was under SIM GE. I'm not sure if SUSS is very strict on protocol.

Apple Jack

anyone done and pass their pre-course quiz for SCO101 - Why Do Good?

Able to share some tips on how you do the quiz hahaha :D
I got "cheat sheet", do liao fail but they will show you. Then correct one record down, wrong one eliminate :s22:

3rd time finally 75%

Nv bother to read. Tikam one

Apple Jack

You can if you're trying to make a point in regards to women scientists, and why there are fewer of them winning the Nobel Prize. My research is 20 articles but I ended up using only 8 of them, including Text A.
Finish liao lor.

aika111333

I got "cheat sheet", do liao fail but they will show you. Then correct one record down, wrong one eliminate :s22:

3rd time finally 75%

Nv bother to read. Tikam one

Hahaha! Awesome! 👍
But seriously, the study guide is damn confusing sia! It's like playing a game of words. I nearly gave the study guide up.

divasion

Hahaha! Awesome! 👍
But seriously, the study guide is damn confusing sia! It's like playing a game of words. I nearly gave the study guide up.

suss quiz format change alot le..last time the quiz question take from other website one.haha they recycle.

orinyori

Thank you! I dont really like to use the e textbook though is it advisable to purchase the textbook instead?

This is up to individual preference. Most of my classmates use the etextbook only and do not purchase the physical textbook. A few of my classmates buy the physical textbook and don't use the etextbook at all.

Personally, I use both. I'll read the physical textbook in-depth, but I use the etextbook as an audiobook (I will play it during my daily commute) and to access additional activities that are in the etextbook. I actually read the textbook faster after I have listened to it even though I'm also playing games on my phone while the textbook is playing on the background.

Find what works best for you! :)

RocketBunny

Why I got lessons start at 15:00 de?

Edit: what is the L00 and L01 below the course name? Don't rmb have 2 same course in a week

SCREAMS

Yo all
May i ask where to see if there is any course material to collect for the course?

Apple Jack

Oh. So it’s okay to cite other sources too?
I cite alot of other sources after squeezing Text A dry

You search nobel imbalance alot will come out.
If you are writing pro- action can use Pierre Curie and Antony Hewish as example

junn95

I cite alot of other sources after squeezing Text A dry

You search nobel imbalance alot will come out.
If you are writing pro- action can use Pierre Curie and Antony Hewish as example

I dont think there was alot to cite from Text A? As Text A mainly tells the reader that gender diversity has been an issue and tells us how they are making changes to improve this. But I don't see many arguments from Text A on why we should/should not consider gender diversity when nominating scientists.

Because we were ask to write "to what extent do you agree that the nobel committees should consider gender diversity in addition to work quality when nominating scientists"

I'm new to this, hopefully someone can comment if this sounds right? haha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.