SUSS vs AUS Uni

patryn33

I don’t mind just working in Singapore tbh. And I’ve got an advance standing of 1 year for UOM, that makes it a 2 years bachelors for UOM compared to a 4 years honours at SUSS.

Problem is i’ve heard from my friends in the course I’m attending that it’s very hard to score well (most only get 3rd class), and its not because they didn’t put in the effort but rather on the university’s stance that they have to be stricter since they’re becoming an autonomous uni. Not saying that i’ll let it dictate my scores as well but it’s a good gauge realistically speaking. I’m more confident to score well in UOM.

With that I’m not sure if lets say an employer is presented with a 3rd class honours from SUSS vs a 2nd upper from UOM, which of this will be more favourable?

it is also hard to score at UOM, what makes u think its easy to score.
ppl who excel with their 3yr bach many just move on to Masters skipping Honors. my pal who did extremely well at UWA got accepted by UOM to do Biz masters and LSE. unfortunately LSE is 2yrs vs the 1 yr at UOM.

not all grads with 3yr bach with UOM get a auto entry to their honors program. its not uncoomon to find ppl retaking modules.. I come across ppl who did.

hard to score is really subjective, if U choose to slack off sure its hard. I know ppl who enjoy life in SG and took SIM-UOL and dropped out cause so hard.. 2-3yrs left for UWA and did extremely well. is course work easier? well from what I learnt she changed her ways. if U do the same thing and say SUSS is harder than UOM sure, but I have yet to come across apples to apple comparison.

if U are into immigration... OZ biz degree may not be your best bet.. comb the OZ immigration thread on EDMW, ask those guys for insights.
if U open to other places, check out those who move to Canada. It is relatively easier there today, but changes 4yrs later no one can predict.

g_t2006

For business course, just do wherever it's cheaper. Getting PR in Australia with a generic business course isn't that possible.

Herpaderpus

For business course, just do wherever it's cheaper. Getting PR in Australia with a generic business course isn't that possible.

that's why i recommend ts to do local, subsidized and recognized ;)

unless he doesn't plan to come back :vijayadmin:

can go to his prestigious "aus" uni all he wants then :s22:

patryn33

that's why i recommend ts to do local, subsidized and recognized ;)

unless he doesn't plan to come back :vijayadmin:

can go to his prestigious "aus" uni all he wants then :s22:

One can plan or want not to come back, the oz system must allow that to happen. If not even plan is moot pt as it will achieve his goal

yodatan

it is also hard to score at UOM, what makes u think its easy to score.
ppl who excel with their 3yr bach many just move on to Masters skipping Honors. my pal who did extremely well at UWA got accepted by UOM to do Biz masters and LSE. unfortunately LSE is 2yrs vs the 1 yr at UOM.

not all grads with 3yr bach with UOM get a auto entry to their honors program. its not uncoomon to find ppl retaking modules.. I come across ppl who did.

hard to score is really subjective, if U choose to slack off sure its hard. I know ppl who enjoy life in SG and took SIM-UOL and dropped out cause so hard.. 2-3yrs left for UWA and did extremely well. is course work easier? well from what I learnt she changed her ways. if U do the same thing and say SUSS is harder than UOM sure, but I have yet to come across apples to apple comparison.

if U are into immigration... OZ biz degree may not be your best bet.. comb the OZ immigration thread on EDMW, ask those guys for insights.
if U open to other places, check out those who move to Canada. It is relatively easier there today, but changes 4yrs later no one can predict.

When you know each unit costs $3-4k in OZ you sure study hard one lah

but

totally worth it in my view

owchan

Local or overseas, as long as its a recognised uni it doesn't matter really.

I have friends going to recognized private unis in Japan, aus, USA. End up working in IBM, goldman Sach Singapore and other big firms, they get the choice of working in the country they studied in or get relocation bonus and work in SG. Note, these people worked insanely hard, I'm not saying anyone can do it, I'm saying if you work hard, build connections and score an average of B+, you can make it far.

Anyone who thinks that local unis are the best and only way to get a great job in Singapore is ignorant. Aus unis are recognized and there's plenty of aus uni graduates who came from poly working in decent jobs pulling 4k in their first month.

Personally, I favor local unis because they are cheaper, convenient and recognised but overseas unis have been successful for many of my friends so take that for what it's worth.

If you feel like aus will give you better opportunities, go for it. In the end you can always come back and work in SG with aus degree.

patryn33

When you know each unit costs $3-4k in OZ you sure study hard one lah

but

totally worth it in my view

By this logic SUSS should charge more to motivate students
It’s not hard just student slacking lol

yodatan

By this logic SUSS should charge more to motivate students
It’s not hard just student slacking lol

Don’t give sinkie gahmen ideas lah

If SUSS and UOM same price school fees I know which one I’d choose easily if i was TS

Ultimately it’s about ROI isn’t it

rabbit1

The honest truth is most (not all) who goes to overseas or private universities, not including those MIT or Oxbridge or other atas universities are probably academically inferior to their peers who entered NUS/NTU. Of course they love to claim that they are superior in street smartness or they've heard of friend A and B earning a lot more than NUS grads but these are just fluffs to fuel their insecurity. Next time I can tell my kids: hey you don't have to work hard and can have fun all day! If you flung your polytechnic I will just throw money and send you to Aussie land or SIM!

yodatan

The honest truth is most (not all) who goes to overseas or private universities, not including those MIT or Oxbridge or other atas universities are probably academically inferior to their peers who entered NUS/NTU. Of course they love to claim that they are superior in street smartness or they've heard of friend A and B earning a lot more than NUS grads but these are just fluffs to fuel their insecurity. Next time I can tell my kids: hey you don't have to work hard and can have fun all day! If you flung your polytechnic I will just throw money and send you to Aussie land or SIM!

Don’t Cock la

TS is asking a genuine question, u all ** go derail the thread

This time of the year got many young ppl in this position

Many years ago I also got genuine advice from ppl like Patryn33 which did help inform the decision or at least point me in the right direction

Some advice is good, some advice not so zhun but if you going to go to uni u need to know how to sieve through the advice

U want to troll and start lse Clementi thread that is what EDMW is for, Sunday we 1 on1 la

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.