swiber bonds

pattanispirit

some are listed in sgx, which u buy just like any stock.

other are unlisted, which u can talk to yr broker to help u to buy.

wondrdoggie

May I know how to buy bonds etc? Through what mode?

Just a friendly note.. most bonds are for institutional buyers or qualified investors only and come at a minimum size of SGD250k. Some bonds have smaller denominations of about SGD100k but those in SGD are 250k each.

If you qualify under the MAS rule, you can buy via the bank you qualified under. Usually, they are private banks or at least private client class.

Then there are retail bonds like the Genting Perp at 5.125% coupon one which is more accessible to regular investors. Their bitesizes are smaller at $5k.

wondrdoggie

you are not making fair comparisons. this is a mid term bond of 2.5 years only.

I have a Swiber bond bought in 2012. 4 years in duration at a coupon rate of 7%. So 5.55% for 2.5years sounds alright to me. I put Swiber inside my junk bond allocation and while it's higher risk then investment grade bonds, it does give me good yield. Risk and return balance I guess. :)

Mecisteus

I have a Swiber bond bought in 2012. 4 years in duration at a coupon rate of 7%. So 5.55% for 2.5years sounds alright to me. I put Swiber inside my junk bond allocation and while it's higher risk then investment grade bonds, it does give me good yield. Risk and return balance I guess. :)

to me the rate is quite acceptable comparing to other available bonds. i consider it a junk too. but i think that swiber is very very unlikely to go bust, so you can be 99% certain to get back your capital on maturity. furthermore, this is a very short duration bond.

Keverus

2 yrs...not that risky...i think i would be willing to take..

problem is...min investment amt? i poor boy dont have 200k or 250k to put :(

henrylbh

2 yrs...not that risky...i think i would be willing to take..

problem is...min investment amt? i poor boy dont have 200k or 250k to put :(

Even if can cough out $250k, still cannot buy. Must be accredited/expert investor as defined in Section .....

My broking firm need me to have "cash and/or chattels worth as least S$2m collectively" in order to buy SIP. Siao lo.

wondrdoggie

Even if can cough out $250k, still cannot buy. Must be accredited/expert investor as defined in Section .....

My broking firm need me to have "cash and/or chattels worth as least S$2m collectively" in order to buy SIP. Siao lo.

Maybe buy the retail perps then or buy a bond fund. Bond funds can give decent returns, and gives you access to bonds that you can't get. But watch the interest rates though which is set to go up. But if you buying bonds just for income and don't care about interim valuations, then should be ok.

wondrdoggie

There are a few ways to qualify, not just net worth. Check out the MAS rules, if I remember correctly if you have a degree, earn like 350k a year etc, you can also qualify.

henrylbh

There are a few ways to qualify, not just net worth. Check out the MAS rules, if I remember correctly if you have a degree, earn like 350k a year etc, you can also qualify.

There are other criteria. Income is one. 300k income can liao.

starbugs

Woah...this time jialat. Hope nobody ended up buying the Swiber bonds a few years ago.

OngHuatHuat

to me the rate is quite acceptable comparing to other available bonds. i consider it a junk too. but i think that swiber is very very unlikely to go bust, so you can be 99% certain to get back your capital on maturity. furthermore, this is a very short duration bond.

Wahh.......................:eek::eek::eek::eek:

homer123

Anyone who lose on this swiber bond must be well loaded to buy at 250K per lot

madtari

This is really epic lol

He will argue its just too bad the 1% has happened. :s13:

dragonbryan

Really bad man. They just redeem their July maturity bond plus call back their perp last year. Still got news saying got new contracts and stuff. Suddenly now just wind up.

tmkedmw

Facts before more comments:

There are 2 bonds mentioned in this thread.

One is the 7% that is fully redeemed by Swiber in early Jul 2016.
So for those who bought below/at par and hold on till redemption, gxgx, make money liao. Lagi best if you had leveraged.

One is the 5.55% that's not due yet, so gg liao.

Perisher

Most here might say chop this or that before too and was certain things might happen but didn't or vice versa.

Let's just be careful of what we say but not give too much hindsight opinions after the fact. In other words, we all made mistakes.

Peace out. ;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.