Swimming anyone???

nyquist2000

I hope to start a thread about swimming so that we can learn from each other. Be it butterfly, breast stroke (Frog style), Front crawl (Free style), or back crawl (back stroke), just post any question and we can try to find answer for it. Ultimately, the aim is to gain knowledge and discover new thing at end of day. If you have any clip about swimming.. that is welcome too. Have fun~~

wasupcutler

I hope to start a thread about swimming so that we can learn from each other. Be it butterfly, breast stroke (Frog style), Front crawl (Free style), or back crawl (back stroke), just post any question and we can try to find answer for it. Ultimately, the aim is to gain knowledge and discover new thing at end of day. If you have any clip about swimming.. that is welcome too. Have fun~~

i am learning free style but nvr seems to get it......

kampong boi

i am good in Breast Stroke, but many tell me FreeStyle lets you swim faster.

i fine swimming makes you lean, as in to have a slim V type body. :s8:

Phelps used to load up on Carbs before a swim. i guess thats the thing with swimming, you have to endure, it is a race not a game sport where you can walk and so called rest.

addict951

this is a very good swimming website:
http://archive.totalimmersion.net/index.html

check out the top
low med hi definition videos
the videos are very good ****
very informative
see how they swim, wah u see they swim hu die shi and yang yong like ABC like that :eek:
I sort of managed to correct my front crawl ineffiencies watching and listening to their comments

I realise a lot of swim with their head positions all wrong ****, that's why cannot swim efficiently. When you swim you do not look forward all the time. Head position makes or breaks your swim.

alternarist

i got a question! i find that whenever i swim freestyle, i get tired very easily, and just remain stagnant at the same place after just 1.5 laps.

it means that i am too weaak for freestyle. But if i dont swim freestyle, i cant train. So i resort to breast stroke, which i feel like nothing is trained. I swim faster in breaststroke than freestyle. OMG.

So i want to ask what are the benefits of both Freestyle and Breaststroke? What should i do to strengthen my skill in swimming freestyle?

addict951

i got a question! i find that whenever i swim freestyle, i get tired very easily, and just remain stagnant at the same place after just 1.5 laps.

it means that i am too weaak for freestyle. But if i dont swim freestyle, i cant train. So i resort to breast stroke, which i feel like nothing is trained. I swim faster in breaststroke than freestyle. OMG.

So i want to ask what are the benefits of both Freestyle and Breaststroke? What should i do to strengthen my skill in swimming freestyle?

your breathing not good for front crawl yet
it's like running also, some ppl find running very chuan, then u see some others can run like we drink water like that
Remaining stagnant meaning your front crawl technique is not ideal liao
remember yr head position, you should be looking between down and 45°. you're wrong if you're looking more to forward. Also your fingers should be clasped together straight (but relaxed) scooping water.
Check the totalimmersion link I posted see their front crawl video, got various angles showing the swimmer swimming front crawl

also, mai kan jiong, start slow, get your breathing consistent get the momentum right then go faster. Also can try alternate laps front then breast front then breast.

ramlee

We can go faster with free-style but it's more taxing. Breast stroke is slower but it's more relaxing. That's why they taught us breast stroke during BMT. If we were to swim in our no 4 with our barangs, do think we can make it with free-style.

When we swim freestyle, it's the legs kicking and the pushing of the arms underwater that propell us forward. You can train up your lats and hamstrings with the appropriate exercises in the gym. To increase your stamina to cover more than 1.5 laps, I find that doing steady state cardio helps.

kampong boi

a lot of lats with front crawl
breast stroke more chest than lats

sorry breast stroke does use your chest much. it is just that it more stable hence you are swimming on your chest. and that you can have your head above water more often then other styles.

however, my coach told me it one of the hardest to perfect.

addict951

sorry breast stroke does use your chest much. it is just that it more stable hence you are swimming on your chest. and that you can have your head above water more often then other styles.

however, my coach told me it one of the hardest to perfect.

you dun feel it meh?
you have to pull and bring your hands real close on the hands coming back action
It's not call breast stroke for nothing =:p

kampong boi

you dun feel it meh?
you have to pull and bring your hands real close on the hands coming back action
It's not call breast stroke for nothing =:p

maybe after leisurely swimming for so long, either i am doing the wrong strokes or i dont feel my "breast" any more :spin:

addict951

maybe after leisurely swimming for so long, either i am doing the wrong strokes or i dont feel my "breast" any more :spin:

you chiong, swim faster, pull back and squeeze really quick and hard
everytime i feel my chest wanna burst ****

same also for front crawl, esp. when I use the float to giap in between the legs and chiong 2 laps, same effect like doing pullups ****. :flash:

nyquist2000

Anyone has any idea what is high elbow in front crawl swimming? Is supposed to be high eblow in the air or in the water?

cimman305

Breast Stroke is tough

don't underestimate the breast stroke. I do sprints using the breast stroke. After a lap, I rest for 1 minute before the next sprint. I do this for 10 sprints, and I've to call it a day. At the end of 10 sprints, I feel like I'm in the gym for 3 hours. My chest muscles aches, my thigh muscles are screaming and my triceps are killing me. I can't do this for 2 days in a row, have to rest a day, actually 2 days is better.

I find that for breast stroke, the power is in the legs. You really have to push hard with the legs to get good speed. There was once, my knees were painful, so I ease up on the legs and put more power on the arms. My speed slowed down by 10 seconds per lap. Very dramatic slow down. I didn't know the real reason till my knees healed and I started using my quads again. I thought maybe my gym training was overtaxing my chest and tricep muscles and thus my arms muscles are weaker from overtraining. However, when I was using quads to push, my speed returned to normal. So it's the legs that gives you the power, not the arms, no matter how strong they are. The difficult thing with breast stroke is the synchronization between the legs and hands. In the front crawl, synchronization between hands and legs is not so important.

I tried the front crawl, but after a few weeks of consistent swimming with it, I got pain in my rotator cuff. I went back to breast stroke and the pain went away. Maybe it's the wrong technique, but I find that breast stroke is more forgiving in terms of injury through constant swimming.

The lats don't get much of a workout in breast stroke I guess, but I supplement that with workouts in the gym, to build the muscles in those areas.

I like swimming as a means of exercise. In a swimming session, I get cardio exercise and muscle building, all at the same time. If you're doing sprints, that's the same benefits as interval training, and it burns fats real fast and it keeps burning throughout the day because the muscles are also used as well. In the gym, I'll have to lift weights and go on the stationary cycle to get the benefit in twice the time. Can't do running because of my knees.

nyquist2000

Swim breast stroke in long duration can actually help developing your abs too. High elbow refers to open armpit at the pull and push phase. Not in the air.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.