Swimming anyone???

kampong boi

for learning free style, i thinking of buying the float which i can put in between my legs. This will help to keep my legs up while practising on the arms movement. You think its a good idea?
Cos most of the time y i cannot continue is because i focus on my arms and my legs sink down.....

yea, even those try to "perfect" their FS also use float. it is good idea.

my legs also very "heavy" will sink and worst get tired after scissor kicking for about 5 laps.

wasupcutler

yea, even those try to "perfect" their FS also use float. it is good idea.

my legs also very "heavy" will sink and worst get tired after scissor kicking for about 5 laps.

yeah i am going to get it....saw outside selling for around $10.....
Is there a way the legs should kick?

nyquist2000

for learning free style, i thinking of buying the float which i can put in between my legs. This will help to keep my legs up while practising on the arms movement. You think its a good idea?
Cos most of the time y i cannot continue is because i focus on my arms and my legs sink down.....

I would not advise ppl to train using the pull bouy too often. Pull bouy help your lower body to float easily so you can ignore the leg kicking and focusing of the arm. The main idea of pull bouy as the name suggested... is to allow you to focus on your arm pulling sensation..and that you are only concentrating only on arm action. Is like testing a part of the stroke and every other thing stay put. Eg... doing flutter kicking with arm holding the kick board only focusing on leg action.

If you have problem floating on your lower part of your body.. it could mean your kicking mechanism is not correct or not powerful enough..you can start of by doing flutter kicking and holding the kick board. Ensure when you are doing your leg kicking action, it all come from your thigh, toe in plantar flex position, toe in and relax. Flutter kicking start from your thigh and not from the knee. Please take note. :)

Learning any swimming stroke, we always follows the sequence of BLABC- Body, Leg action, Arm action, Breathing and finally coordination. Hope this help.

kampong boi

I would not advise ppl to train using the pull bouy too often. Pull bouy help your lower body to float easily so you can ignore the leg kicking and focusing of the arm. The main idea of pull bouy as the name suggested... is to allow you to focus on your arm pulling sensation..and that you are only concentrating only on arm action. Is like testing a part of the stroke and every other thing stay put. Eg... doing flutter kicking with arm holding the kick board only focusing on leg action.

If you have problem floating on your lower part of your body.. it could mean your kicking mechanism is not correct or not powerful enough..you can start of by doing flutter kicking and holding the kick board. Ensure when you are doing your leg kicking action, it all come from your thigh, toe in plantar flex position, toe in and relax. Flutter kicking start from your thigh and not from the knee. Please take note. :)

Learning any swimming stroke, we always follows the sequence of BLABC- Body, Leg action, Arm action, Breathing and finally coordination. Hope this help.

noted it too.

but my legs will be tired after 5 laps of flutter kicking. dont say in pool, on land, incline flutter kick 30secs tired liao.

wasupcutler

Can you help to break down and elaborate the freestyle for BLABC? Thanks.

sniperjjj

yeah i am going to get it....saw outside selling for around $10.....
Is there a way the legs should kick?

you can go to WOS cos speedo is selling now at $11+ after 50% discount.
I still used this to perfect my stroke and I usually do none stop 30laps with this bet my legs and cool down with flutter kicks for 2 to 3 laps follow by butterfly n backstroke before i call it a day.
I alternate otherday without it with full FS.
Anyway Im a triathele so I always swim 30-40laps to keep my stamina but u dun have to do it as u r not into this

meowmeowcat

Can you help to break down and elaborate the freestyle for BLABC? Thanks.

this ish my take :)

Body - u need to be able to float.. learn to float in like a straight line a the brim of the water, facing down, arms and legs straightened..

Legs - straighten your legs and when kicking, do not curl the knees and make big splashes, movement comes from the hip, all the while the legs are straight..

Arms - when ur arms pull in the water, angle your arm towards the body and pull it to the back and finally straight, then raise the arm at an angle, the forearm always pointing down, then at an inverted V shape slide the forearm into the water gracefully.. Again, no splash..

Breathing - u can start with 2 pulls 1 breath, and gradually increase to 4 pulls 1 breath when u are comfortable enuff.. i am doing 4 pulls one breath, on my right hand side.. Do note that turning of the head for breathing should be done concurrently with the raising of your arm into the air and turn back your head into the water as your arm slides in..

coordination - this is your psycho-moto i dunno how to describe to u.. but must practice the above till smooth then coordination should turn out fine..

So, have fun trying :D

wasupcutler

this ish my take :)

Body - u need to be able to float.. learn to float in like a straight line a the brim of the water, facing down, arms and legs straightened..

Legs - straighten your legs and when kicking, do not curl the knees and make big splashes, movement comes from the hip, all the while the legs are straight..

Arms - when ur arms pull in the water, angle your arm towards the body and pull it to the back and finally straight, then raise the arm at an angle, the forearm always pointing down, then at an inverted V shape slide the forearm into the water gracefully.. Again, no splash..

Breathing - u can start with 2 pulls 1 breath, and gradually increase to 4 pulls 1 breath when u are comfortable enuff.. i am doing 4 pulls one breath, on my right hand side.. Do note that turning of the head for breathing should be done concurrently with the raising of your arm into the air and turn back your head into the water as your arm slides in..

coordination - this is your psycho-moto i dunno how to describe to u.. but must practice the above till smooth then coordination should turn out fine..

So, have fun trying :D

I will buy the float and practice my hand movements first......

nyquist2000

Sorry for the delay. Just got back from swim coaching. So I will touch on the body first. Start off by doing a prone glide. Prone glide means leg straight, toe pointed, arm straight locked elbow and ensure arm touch ear. This is the streamline position. Maintain your body in this position the moment you are gliding and blow bubbles as you go along. Then stand up, inhale, jump and glide (blow bubbles).. repeat. Best to do this in a 0.9 m pool. Make sure you blow until no more bubbles before you stand up to inhale. :)

wasupcutler

Sorry for the delay. Just got back from swim coaching. So I will touch on the body first. Start off by doing a prone glide. Prone glide means leg straight, toe pointed, arm straight locked elbow and ensure arm touch ear. This is the streamline position. Maintain your body in this position the moment you are gliding and blow bubbles as you go along. Then stand up, inhale, jump and glide (blow bubbles).. repeat. Best to do this in a 0.9 m pool. Make sure you blow until no more bubbles before you stand up to inhale. :)

This is step one to learning the freestyle?

nyquist2000

This is step one to learning the freestyle?

This is one of the most basic drill and is a base for most stroke. So is also one of the step to learning free style.

When you do your prone glide, you are learning 2 things. One is the exhaling of air while your face are in the water during the gliding and the other is the streamline of your body. As long as your body is streamline, you can glide far. So in order that you can glide far, you must blow out the air slowly. Below are the sequence to follow.
1) Stand and inhale air in the 0.9 meter pool
2) Bend the knee so that your face is near to the surface of water
3) Immerse head facing down and jump toward the direction of the wall
4) Blow bubbles slowly, straighten your arm and lock elbow, leg straight and tip toe
5) Glide and glide until you complete exhaling the air then stand up. Go to step 1.
Hope this help. For those who have problem inhaling and exhaling, Try to coordinate your breathing before attempting this drill.

Cress_knightness

cuz ppl, learn FS/BS first before learning BF.

Difficult in the sense, it is more strength and quality strokes is needed.

i am also not a fan of freestyle.

like i said FS hard to learn, but easy to master.

Easy to master FS ???

You sound like you are very very good in FS ...

But, then again, different pple got different standards of grading ...

Some get 50 marks already so happy, some wanted 100 cause they are

perfectionists ...

:look::look:

pOlariCe

Easy to master FS ???

perfectionists ...

:eek: tio suan dip dip

kampong boi

Easy to master FS ???

perfectionists ...

i am not a fan of FS, people leisurely use FS to swim, i use BS to swim one.

swimming got marks ar? i thought gold means gold liao.

i also not perfectionist, if perfectionist, i can say BS is harder to perfect than FS.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.