29042010058.jpg

Remember eat all these super sweet stuffs already must go pool and

swim as many laps as you can ... :s22:

HAPPY LABOUR DAY TO ALL !!!

:look:

foosoomin

Can swimming consider a HIIT exercise as well ?

Example we swim front crawl for 1 lap, then our heart beat will be pounding very fast, right ? If we keep on swimming front crawl for many laps, i believe we will burn quite a lot of calories, right ?

nyquist2000

Can swimming consider a HIIT exercise as well ?

Example we swim front crawl for 1 lap, then our heart beat will be pounding very fast, right ? If we keep on swimming front crawl for many laps, i believe we will burn quite a lot of calories, right ?

Yes, Swimming can be considered a High Intensity Interval Trainning. In order to do that, you need to swim hard with your heart beat above 85% of your VOmax for 50 meter and swim back slowly 50meter with recovery and repeat. How many set is dependent on how much you can endure. :) Good point brought up.

ketua

It's not WHAT exercise is HIIT, but HOW you execute it to become HIIT.

Skipping, running, swimming, burpees, kick+punch, etc, etc... all can or cannot be HIIT.

Of cos, ideally the exercise uses the whole body (or at least lower body or large muscle groups).

Team Bicep got do Tabata curl boh? ;p

tongkualongan

We can go faster with free-style but it's more taxing. Breast stroke is slower but it's more relaxing. That's why they taught us breast stroke during BMT. If we were to swim in our no 4 with our barangs, do think we can make it with free-style.

When we swim freestyle, it's the legs kicking and the pushing of the arms underwater that propell us forward. You can train up your lats and hamstrings with the appropriate exercises in the gym. To increase your stamina to cover more than 1.5 laps, I find that doing steady state cardio helps.

if you master freestyle. you will find it is easier to swim it then breaststroke :)

tongkualongan

your breathing not good for front crawl yet
it's like running also, some ppl find running very chuan, then u see some others can run like we drink water like that
Remaining stagnant meaning your front crawl technique is not ideal liao
remember yr head position, you should be looking between down and 45°. you're wrong if you're looking more to forward. Also your fingers should be clasped together straight (but relaxed) scooping water.
Check the totalimmersion link I posted see their front crawl video, got various angles showing the swimmer swimming front crawl

also, mai kan jiong, start slow, get your breathing consistent get the momentum right then go faster. Also can try alternate laps front then breast front then breast.

most pple head come up because their leg is sinking... and why leg sinking ? because ankle not flexible .. why ankle not flexible? because too much running ..

running need ankle stability,, swimming need ankle flexibility..

how to cure?
stretching ! do this while you watch tv and you will see improvement in your ankle flexibility.

72d7yh.jpg

tongkualongan

Anyone has any idea what is high elbow in front crawl swimming? Is supposed to be high eblow in the air or in the water?

Its call EVF , early vertical forearm ... I will feature it in my blog soon about equipment that can help you achieve that.. in fact i am using those evf paddles now..

oh ya. btw.. it is in the water..

probably the 'above the water' high elbow thing is the finger drag drill

tongkualongan

don't underestimate the breast stroke. I do sprints using the breast stroke. After a lap, I rest for 1 minute before the next sprint. I do this for 10 sprints, and I've to call it a day. At the end of 10 sprints, I feel like I'm in the gym for 3 hours. My chest muscles aches, my thigh muscles are screaming and my triceps are killing me. I can't do this for 2 days in a row, have to rest a day, actually 2 days is better.

I find that for breast stroke, the power is in the legs. You really have to push hard with the legs to get good speed. There was once, my knees were painful, so I ease up on the legs and put more power on the arms. My speed slowed down by 10 seconds per lap. Very dramatic slow down. I didn't know the real reason till my knees healed and I started using my quads again. I thought maybe my gym training was overtaxing my chest and tricep muscles and thus my arms muscles are weaker from overtraining. However, when I was using quads to push, my speed returned to normal. So it's the legs that gives you the power, not the arms, no matter how strong they are. The difficult thing with breast stroke is the synchronization between the legs and hands. In the front crawl, synchronization between hands and legs is not so important.

I tried the front crawl, but after a few weeks of consistent swimming with it, I got pain in my rotator cuff. I went back to breast stroke and the pain went away. Maybe it's the wrong technique, but I find that breast stroke is more forgiving in terms of injury through constant swimming.

The lats don't get much of a workout in breast stroke I guess, but I supplement that with workouts in the gym, to build the muscles in those areas.

I like swimming as a means of exercise. In a swimming session, I get cardio exercise and muscle building, all at the same time. If you're doing sprints, that's the same benefits as interval training, and it burns fats real fast and it keeps burning throughout the day because the muscles are also used as well. In the gym, I'll have to lift weights and go on the stationary cycle to get the benefit in twice the time. Can't do running because of my knees.

hello.. breaststroke is bad for the knees and the back.. i was a competitive swimmer 10 years ago .. now my knees has a lil bit of problem..

reason : because for breaststroke kick,if u swim properly , u need to twist your knee to achieve the whip kick .

check out one of the world best breaststroker under water kick here.

also , for the back , u need to arch a little for you to come up to breath if you are doing the competitive mode.
:)

http://swimtwitter.blogspot.com/2009/08/world-champion-kitajima-breaststroke.html

tongkualongan

for learning free style, i thinking of buying the float which i can put in between my legs. This will help to keep my legs up while practising on the arms movement. You think its a good idea?
Cos most of the time y i cannot continue is because i focus on my arms and my legs sink down.....

hello, i have to disagree with this :( .. overtime you will become overly dependant on the pull buoy and you will hate swimming if you dont have pull buoy..

master your flutter kick first :) and you have a pleasant fs swim :)

i did write an article about flutter kick before in my blog.. let me search..

tongkualongan

I can't seems to be able to glide well, I think the reason is because my leg always sink into the water. And I also realised that when pulling back I will tend to pull until stomach after reading your post.

This effect of pulling till stomach will result in the sinking of my leg and putting my gliding into a stationary position right?

The reason for me to pull till stomach level is because my head sink quite deep into the water and hence I need to pull more water down in order to make a breathe. Any remedy for this?

Thanks.

NEVER pull back until the stomach .. this will cause MASSIVE resistance when your arm try to recover to the original pulling position. Hope this help..

instead of pulling a bigger shallow circle. try to pull a smaller but deeper circle. :)
cant explain with words but maybe i shall do a video on this :)

tongkualongan

is it possible for someone to forever cant swim? cos it seems im so stupid in trying to swim :s13:

secondary got swimming lessons - failed.
SAF swimming lessons - failed.
friend teach - failed.

:(

patience , my friend .
get a proper certified experienced swim coach , and the fewer the pple in the class the better.

tongkualongan

i got problems with freestyle, i cant seem to be in line. whenever i swim freestyle i will go out of lane and bang into someone else..

i dont have your video but i suspect you cross over .. When you enter the water, there is supposed to be an imaginary line in between your eyes.. if you cross over, you will tend to go holland... so next time , dont cross the imaginary line. imagine there is a big chopping board and once u cross over. it will cut your arms! :eek:

nyquist2000

most pple head come up because their leg is sinking... and why leg sinking ? because ankle not flexible .. why ankle not flexible? because too much running ..

running need ankle stability,, swimming need ankle flexibility..

how to cure?
stretching ! do this while you watch tv and you will see improvement in your ankle flexibility.

72d7yh.jpg

Good and nice pair of leg you got. Thanks for sharing. Our body comprise of Upper body and Lower body. Imagine our Belly Button to be the centre point that separate the upper body and the lower body just like the see saw. If you lean your head downward, your lower body will float. THat explain why. Is also explain in most of the swimming book already. :)

And regards to why some people still sink in the water even they have done their best to streamline their body... was due to the massive body (too many muscles ) or heavy bone genes.

pOlariCe

NEVER pull back until the stomach .. this will cause MASSIVE resistance when your arm try to recover to the original pulling position. Hope this help..

instead of pulling a bigger shallow circle. try to pull a smaller but deeper circle. :)
cant explain with words but maybe i shall do a video on this :)

huh. wad is small but deep and wad is big but shallow?

tongkualongan

huh. wad is small but deep and wad is big but shallow?

when pulling breast stroke with your arm, imagine drawing a big circle vs drawing a small circle .

go for the small circle :) deep has to do with early vertical forearm technique (high elbow) at the very early phase of the breaststroke pull.

big circle = recovery is hard , causes lots of resistance. also the wider your area , the more resistance to your breaststroke at any phase of the breaststroke.. with this said, your kicking recovery should be small as well . but it is hard to master .

breaststroke arm pulling in my opinion is the hardest.
been swimming 20 years and I still haven't perfected my arm pull.

pOlariCe

when pulling breast stroke with your arm, imagine drawing a big circle vs drawing a small circle .

go for the small circle :) deep has to do with early vertical forearm technique (high elbow) at the very early phase of the breaststroke pull.

big circle = recovery is hard , causes lots of resistance. also the wider your area , the more resistance to your breaststroke at any phase of the breaststroke.. with this said, your kicking recovery should be small as well . but it is hard to master .

breaststroke arm pulling in my opinion is the hardest.
been swimming 20 years and I still haven't perfected my arm pull.

deep u mean scooping deeper water?

tongkualongan

Good and nice pair of leg you got. Thanks for sharing. Our body comprise of Upper body and Lower body. Imagine our Belly Button to be the centre point that separate the upper body and the lower body just like the see saw. If you lean your head downward, your lower body will float. THat explain why. Is also explain in most of the swimming book already. :)

And regards to why some people still sink in the water even they have done their best to streamline their body... was due to the massive body (too many muscles ) or heavy bone genes.

yes agreed about the head position .. if you lean it down , the leg will float.
Been coaching part time in my past life for pple with flutter kick sinking problem. Those guys were runners and wants to do triathlon . Most of them , the ankles are so stiff that when they kick it is almost dorsile flex, thus not catching the water. i really have to ask them to strech and i saw improvement .

besides, i have to explain to them ... kicking is not really kicking, it is actually whipping with your legs :) Imagine whipping with a whip. that is how they should feel with their legs while 'kicking'

whip and then relax . Most of them kick with stiffness and recover with stiffness as well . So , I asked them to kick and then relax.. that improve their flutter kick as well.

tongkualongan

crandfs

Me Swimming breast stroke in 25 m pool
http://swimtwitter.blogspot.com/2009/09/i-am-swimming-breaststroke.html

Me swimming breast stroke 50m competition last month
(green cap , yellow goggle )
http://swimtwitter.blogspot.com/2010/04/i-went-to-swim-meet-in-okotoks-few-days.html

You are Darren Lim??? :s22: :s13: :s13:

BTW: Swimming is great for fat loss! I lost about 4 kg in 3 weeks after I switched from wt training to swimming at lunch break. Only 30mins, but quite high intensity lah, else won't work. Weight lifting as least as heavy than before too. Maybe its just because I broke my typical training pattern lah, but I'm gonna stick to swimming for a few weeks more.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.