Sydney

kevin301

Wa so late ah... Sky dark dark at 4-5pm cannot explore blue mtn liao....

Can some others verify? Shld be go back sydney dinner and not spend anymore time after finishing the trail...

Sent from my LG G3 using GAGT

Journey back takes about 2 hours by train, and the train arrives hourly. So if you had just missed the train it is 1 hour wait + 2 hours journey to Central :)

Can use the Transport NSW website to find train timetables.

Katoomba and Leura have a different vibe to Sydney. When I have an opportunity I always prefer to prolong my stay in the smaller towns, rather than rush back to the city.

mata_hippo

Journey back takes about 2 hours by train, and the train arrives hourly. So if you had just missed the train it is 1 hour wait + 2 hours journey to Central :)

Can use the Transport NSW website to find train timetables.

Katoomba and Leura have a different vibe to Sydney. When I have an opportunity I always prefer to prolong my stay in the smaller towns, rather than rush back to the city.
Think i have to skip the 3 hrs trail in thr wikitravel plan... My other half dun wanna wake up so early :s13:

nlee84

Think i have to skip the 3 hrs trail in thr wikitravel plan... My other half dun wanna wake up so early :s13:

Actually need to wake up quite early leh, unless you don't want to go to Leura.

See ah, my rough plan is as follows:
Take 8.18am train from Sydney Central Station, reach Katoomba at 10.17am.
Take 686 bus at 10.30am to Echo Point - reach 10.40am.
Head to the lookout and admire Jamion Valley & Three Sisters rock formation.
Take 11:40am/12.10pm 686 bus to Scenic World at the same bus stop I alighted from.
Take Scenic Railway down to the bottom.
Take cable car up to the top.
Have lunch
Take 686 at 2.30pm / 3pm / 3.30pm back to Katoomba Carrington Hotel.
Take 685 3.08pm/4.36pm OR 695 3.12pm. 3.54pm, 4.04pm to Leura Mall.
Take 4.26pm/5.26pm train from Leura station back to Central Station
Reach Sydney latest 7.30pm, just in time for dinner! :s13:

I just want to explore these few places, not sure if it will be rushed. Maybe too rush then I don't go to Leura. I'm using OPAL, so daily cap at $15.

Or should I just head straight to Scenic World instead of going to Echo Point?

mata_hippo

Take 11:40am/12.10pm 686 bus to Scenic World at the same bus stop I alighted from.
Have lunch

I just want to explore these few places, not sure if it will be rushed. Maybe too rush then I don't go to Leura. I'm using OPAL, so daily cap at $15.

We r getting the mymulti3 card...

I think still manageable if take the 9+ train and reach 11+... But not explore the towns there...

kevin301

Have lunch

sounds very rushed... :)
Must go back to city for dinner?
I like Katoomba after dark. Quite peaceful.

The view at Echo Point is nice.
Actually I prefer another lookout called Sublime Point, but it's easier to get there by car. By walking from Echo Point would be a fair distance.

nlee84

sounds very rushed... :)
Must go back to city for dinner?
I like Katoomba after dark. Quite peaceful.

The view at Echo Point is nice.
Actually I prefer another lookout called Sublime Point, but it's easier to get there by car. By walking from Echo Point would be a fair distance.

I also think abit rush. LOL
Else means I have dinner in Leura area lor.. haha.. any nice recommendations?

kevin301

haha sorry no recommendations from me. I'm not much of a foodie.

Eat to live, basically... :)

mata_hippo

if you had to choose between walking the coast from taronga zoo to middle head VS watsons bay area, which would u go with?

watsons bay area will take half the time needed for taronga zoo to middle head i believe...

kevin301

if you had to choose between walking the coast from taronga zoo to middle head VS watsons bay area, which would u go with?

watsons bay area will take half the time needed for taronga zoo to middle head i believe...

Your estimate of the time seems about right.
Hmmm tough choice.
Watson's Bay views to Sydney Harbour a little more compromised, I would say.
But its also a very nice place to visit :)

mata_hippo

yea tough choice... that's y i had to ask...

i think the watson area is good if u wanna c the ocean and try luck at whale spotting... seems like also good area for sunset...

magna_strike

The view at watsons bay is good.. and its a nice and easy walk around the gap and other places..not been to north head yet,but nvr planned for it in this trip..haha..

jasvon21

I have 3 adults 1 child whale watching cruise with Captain Cook for sale. UP$65 for an adult now selling $60 for all. Departing from Circular Quay Sydney.

Anyone keen please sms or whatsapp to 9720 9740.

nlee84

i was looking at buses to Birkenhead Point Outlet and saw that M50 goes there which is more convenient for me.

However, it is indicated as Pre-pay, meaning tickets must be purchased before boarding. Can I use OPAL card instead? Thanks!

http://www.sydneybuses.info/routes/M50_map.pdf

"Metrobus M50 is a PrePay-only service. PrePay simply means purchasing a ticket before boarding the bus"

kevin301

i was looking at buses to Birkenhead Point Outlet and saw that M50 goes there which is more convenient for me.

However, it is indicated as Pre-pay, meaning tickets must be purchased before boarding. Can I use OPAL card instead? Thanks!

http://www.sydneybuses.info/routes/M50_map.pdf

"Metrobus M50 is a PrePay-only service. PrePay simply means purchasing a ticket before boarding the bus"

Isn't Opal card = pre-pay ? ;)

hahaha
Does that answer your question?

Benchin_

Skydive Sydney

Yea. I have not go for the skydive but i have booked 1 on 19th July at Wollongong Beach. You can check skydive at the beach website. Apparently it is the best and closest to Sydney. Have fun for your trip!
hey guys...

hope to get some comments/ideas for my itinerary in August... i'll be flying in on 30th July and going home on 5th August...

as you can see, i got nth for day 4 other than skydiving... i think we can shuffle things around since it's F&E... but was thinking of doing blue mountains and the coastal walks on weekdays so possibly less crowd?

i think i got enough physical walking liao so dont think i wanna put another walking+scenery day otherwise my other half will kill me...

pls share with me ur ideas/comments on wad else i can put in or shuffle things around...

thanks in advance!

day 1
- reach sydney around noon
- check in accommodation around Redfern station
- pancake on the rocks
- opera hse
- sydney harbour bridge
- dinner at chinatown

day 2
- fish market
- national maritime museum
- lunch somewhere?
- featherdale wildlife park
- dinner/rest

day 3
- paddy's market
- lunch at chinatown
- paddington market
- bus to bondi beach
- coastal walk from bondi beach to bronte beach
- dinner/rest

day 4
- skydive (any skydive company to recommend?)
- nothing additional planned yet

day 5
- blue mountains w/o tour
- train to katoomba
- walk trails and take bus 686 around

day 6
- ferry to taronga zoo
- coastal walk from taronga zoo to middle head
- take bus 244 from chowder bay home

day 7
- noon flight home

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.