Taiwan new year countdown 2015!

xsurycx

wondering how many of us will be going Taiwan this year for countdown. me and my group of frens will be going to 101! who else??

koolgalx

ME! I'm going in with my friend as well. first time there for the count down!!

xsurycx

ME! I'm going in with my friend as well. first time there for the count down!!

cool! where will you be staying? and where will be going for countdown? 101? i heard have to be there at 12noon alr.. since the concert starts at 5... like that have to stand for 12hrs sia:eek::eek::eek:

koolgalx

cool! where will you be staying? and where will be going for countdown? 101? i heard have to be there at 12noon alr.. since the concert starts at 5... like that have to stand for 12hrs sia:eek::eek::eek:

Staying @ ximending area. What about your group? WHAT?! 12noon?!! Zomg.... But you go in a group can still take turns ma. Dieeee...

How long will u guys be there for? I will travel out of taipei after the countdown liao.

xsurycx

Staying @ ximending area. What about your group? WHAT?! 12noon?!! Zomg.... But you go in a group can still take turns ma. Dieeee...

How long will u guys be there for? I will travel out of taipei after the countdown liao.

will be staying at New Continental Hotel... yeah going in group but if going to stand for the next 12hrs very waste time ma..

going taipei on 26th to 3rd jan hahaha. but going taichung first then head down. you?

koolgalx

will be staying at New Continental Hotel... yeah going in group but if going to stand for the next 12hrs very waste time ma..

going taipei on 26th to 3rd jan hahaha. but going taichung first then head down. you?

I'm going taipei on 30th to 1st then head out to Hua Lien. Lol! Mine's countdown first ;p

xsurycx

I'm going taipei on 30th to 1st then head out to Hua Lien. Lol! Mine's countdown first ;p

haha catch you around in taipei then.. 101 is a must go la... thou tons of pple are there but i believe it will be fun. lol

nikomesh

taipei countdown is very shiok. went there for 2 years back and there are a few pointers i hope to share:

1) Bring your jacket

When I went there years back, the weather is very cold, and a thick jacket is needed unless you want to risk catching cold. Plus, you are going to stand around watching the performance for hours.

2) For Taipei countdown book hotels near ximending

Since the countdown at Taipei is at 101, it make sense to book near Ximending area as it is relatively close, and yet a good district to stay for shopping and the likes. (can consider these hotels) This is because after the countdown is over, thats when the headache starts. Everyone will be going back and the MRT will be jammed with tonnes of people. In the end, we walked a few kilometres to take bus as it is too jam packed. So stay near.

3) Be prepared to stand 3 hours or more

If you want to stay near the stage, go early. And if you are early, it means you need to stand longer before it hits 12midnight. So prepare food, water, etc and make sure you can tahan the standing..

The fireworks from 101 is awesome in my opinion and the concert atmoshpere is nothing compared to singapore. THis is because in Taipei or taiwan, the people watching the concert very enthu and this makes the whole mood much better..

xsurycx

taipei countdown is very shiok. went there for 2 years back and there are a few pointers i hope to share:

1) Bring your jacket

When I went there years back, the weather is very cold, and a thick jacket is needed unless you want to risk catching cold. Plus, you are going to stand around watching the performance for hours.

Since the countdown at Taipei is at 101, it make sense to book near Ximending area as it is relatively close, and yet a good district to stay for shopping and the likes. (can consider these hotels) This is because after the countdown is over, thats when the headache starts. Everyone will be going back and the MRT will be jammed with tonnes of people. In the end, we walked a few kilometres to take bus as it is too jam packed. So stay near.

If you want to stay near the stage, go early. And if you are early, it means you need to stand longer before it hits 12midnight. So prepare food, water, etc and make sure you can tahan the standing..

The fireworks from 101 is awesome in my opinion and the concert atmoshpere is nothing compared to singapore. THis is because in Taipei or taiwan, the people watching the concert very enthu and this makes the whole mood much better..

wow thanks for the advise. shall get the ladies to wear jacket then

koolgalx

haha catch you around in taipei then.. 101 is a must go la... thou tons of pple are there but i believe it will be fun. lol

Yes! I believe it's a one in a lifetime must go once for countdown place!
Another one on my list is NY Times Square.
Now only got the budget to go the cheaper one ;p

koolgalx

1) Bring your jacket

Woo! Thanks for the tips. Yes I'm staying @ xi men ding area. I think that's the most convenient already.

So really gotta go "chop" position at noon ah? Oh noooo... 12 hours wait... Zzz

xsurycx

Yes! I believe it's a one in a lifetime must go once for countdown place!
Another one on my list is NY Times Square.
Now only got the budget to go the cheaper one ;p

haha same.. hope to go time square next year or the year after next.. then follow by sydney and london hahaha. one year one place ba.

misssotong

I went for 2012 new year countdown.
I arrived around evening time. I stood for around 7 hours. The view of tv was clear, the stage not really.
That year it was not really cold and standing among the crowd in a jacket, feel quite warm. Just check the weather before heading out.
We did not bring much stuff except a bit of money, our phone and maybe some water and snacks.
It will be hard to stand so long with a heavy bag and is hard to squeeze back if need to go to the toilet.

There was a bit of pushing but not a lot.
Some irritating teenagers try to push their way around to get nearer to stage. If not, is usually peaceful.

Fun Fun Fun: Taipei Day 2 free and easy : Taipei 101 countown

calkel20

The countdown parties have spread to other locations other than 101.
Other better locations are like kaohsiung e-da 世界, 劍湖山遊樂區etc.
For those who like mayday,五月天,they do not perform in Taipei much, most of the time, it will ne in kaohsiung.

Only thing good about 101, is their fireworks but that has be surpassed by abu dhabi's tower.
So why not think or change location to the other two locations mentioned?

xsurycx

The countdown parties have spread to other locations other than 101.
Other better locations are like kaohsiung e-da 世界, 劍湖山遊樂區etc.
For those who like mayday,五月天,they do not perform in Taipei much, most of the time, it will ne in kaohsiung.

Only thing good about 101, is their fireworks but that has be surpassed by abu dhabi's tower.
So why not think or change location to the other two locations mentioned?

Wow Thanks for the advise. But most pple in my grp wanna see 101 fireworks and tot will gonna be like a YOLO thingy hahaa. And yeah i like Mayday. Hope they will come to taipei

xsurycx

I went for 2012 new year countdown.
I arrived around evening time. I stood for around 7 hours. The view of tv was clear, the stage not really.
That year it was not really cold and standing among the crowd in a jacket, feel quite warm. Just check the weather before heading out.
We did not bring much stuff except a bit of money, our phone and maybe some water and snacks.
It will be hard to stand so long with a heavy bag and is hard to squeeze back if need to go to the toilet.

There was a bit of pushing but not a lot.
Some irritating teenagers try to push their way around to get nearer to stage. If not, is usually peaceful.

Fun Fun Fun: Taipei Day 2 free and easy : Taipei 101 countown

Haha standing for 7hrs wo going toilet is damn troblesom sia.. lucky weather not like sg hahaha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.