Talking Point : Retrenchment

li9ht5peed

then why MNCs like to hire fts?

(moi experience ish, FT are way more expensive than sinkie)
that's easy. company keeps the ft passport and can cancel their wp, sp or ep anytime. so fts are at the mercy of the employer

singaporeans are more privileged, have reservist duties and firing them is less straightforward

so basically foreigners are far easier to control and manage

iceblendedchoc

SG like to be first and top for so many glory yet employee rights and labour laws even lose to Thailand. No wonder all like come here do business. So pro business. If as an employer pov I also like it here. Low tax, easy to hire cheaper labour, and lesser than ideal protection for employee rights.

Come in share your thoughts.

Comparison with other countries starts at 33:15

The way is to sack foreigners first .if foreigners still have jobs, while local dun have in such environment,then the pap government should get out of parliament also .

86technie

Employers will always have the upper hand and labor protection in SG is weak.
You go complain most likely end up waste time + kena Blacklist which is why they don't want to show face.
If they show face, no job plus sue by employer for talking nonsense.
Welcome to SG Inc.

Okmolly

Government don’t give a damn lah. Since the new citizen vote for PAP. Nothing will be done. By importing new FTs/PRC the local will extinct or force to move out of their country.

Ravenles

Hi, I need someone from graphic designer background that has been retrenched recently and still feel confident that his/her work experience in designing company logos and events or campaign graphics for future projects works as an independent contractor.
Currently need to design a new social enterprise company logo with a purpose to get meaningful employment for Singapore retrenched PMETS as an independent contractors.
Welcome interested parties to have a separate conversation on this project.
Thank you.
From A Retrenched PMET.

joesands182

is it better for resume if we ownself quit or kena retrench? better leave the job if boss cmi right?

4Dluckystrike

is it better for resume if we ownself quit or kena retrench? better leave the job if boss cmi right?
When i was retrenched , the employer did write a letter indicating my contribution/role , reason for retrenchment (closure of sg branch) and recommendation..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.