Target networth

havetheveryfun

For me at the moment, I think my liberation amount will be S$8m. This figure, which is meant for my wife's and my retirement includes

1) cash
2) CPF
3) equities and bonds

Unfortunately do not have any investment properties.

The amount however would exclude
1) surrender values of insurance policies (viewed it as bequest)
2) wife's net worth (cash, cpf , etc) (viewed it as bonus)
3) my residence because hopefully I can continue staying there during retirement

what are ur plans to achieve 8m ?

malthead

what are ur plans to achieve 8m ?

work (salary) + returns from my current investment in equities (mainly es3, a35 and iwda). So far my networth has been increasing more than my salary every year for the past 4 years (which means my expenses are covered by investment returns). Bonus is to at least cover my taxes.

I am slightly passed half way mark with about 10 more years to go till my kids get into uni.

havetheveryfun

work (salary) + returns from my current investment in equities (mainly es3, a35 and iwda). So far my networth has been increasing more than my salary every year for the past 4 years (which means my expenses are covered by investment returns). Bonus is to at least cover my taxes.

I am slightly passed half way mark with about 10 more years to go till my kids get into uni.

wow .. must be quite a high flyer in corporate

hwarzoner

Wow many high flyers in here, I currently mid 40s single low income earner, networth about 1.07 millions in cash and CPF, no house, no car, no women. Just a simple man with simple needs. Think will just continue to work but less motivated.. all my cash in esaver only.

spiritGate

Wow very inspiring to see many ppl achieving millions in their networth. For me to retire comfortably, I will probably have to work my ass off till 50+ due to Loan repayment of my current unit

Now my networth still far from 100k not to mention 1 million haiz. Although I have reached the 100k goal two years back but all become zero once I bought my property.

If want to become financial freedom, most likely I will need to have $2 million dollars which generates 4% interest (excluding cpf). Hopefully can reach this level

BBCWatcher

all my cash in esaver only.
Oh, dear. You can certainly do better than that, even if you're going to violate all conventional advice about age appropriate, prudent investing. I suppose we should thank you and others like you for subsidizing Singapore's still low mortgage interest rates, but wow.

It looks like, best case, your Standard Chartered e$aver Savings Account would yield 1.60% (I assume that's what you mean by "esaver"), and that's if you greatly exceed the current deposit insurance limit in Singapore. How about Singapore Savings Bonds, which start off at 1.74% currently and rise from there? SSBs are 100% government guaranteed, and you can accumulate up to $100,000 of them. (It'll probably take about 3 monthly purchases to do that since SSBs are typically oversubscribed to some degree.)

The Singapore government's T-bill is currently yielding 1.78%, also 100% government guaranteed. The next T-bill will be auctioned next month (October, 2018) and will have the issue code BY18103Z. A T-bill is analogous to a 12 month fixed deposit, but with an unlimited government guarantee.

CIMB is currently offering 1.84% on a 12 month fixed deposit of $10,000 or more, assuming you open it online which is easy enough to do. State Bank of India pushes that up to 1.85% for a $100,000 fixed deposit for 12 months, and they'll offer even more if you're willing to go 24 months.

hwarzoner

Oh, dear. You can certainly do better than that, even if you're going to violate all conventional advice about age appropriate, prudent investing. I suppose we should thank you and others like you for subsidizing Singapore's still low mortgage interest rates, but wow.

It looks like, best case, your Standard Chartered e$aver Savings Account would yield 1.60% (I assume that's what you mean by "esaver"), and that's if you greatly exceed the current deposit insurance limit in Singapore. How about Singapore Savings Bonds, which start off at 1.74% currently and rise from there? SSBs are 100% government guaranteed, and you can accumulate up to $100,000 of them. (It'll probably take about 3 monthly purchases to do that since SSBs are typically oversubscribed to some degree.)

The Singapore government's T-bill is currently yielding 1.78%, also 100% government guaranteed. The next T-bill will be auctioned next month (October, 2018) and will have the issue code BY18103Z. A T-bill is analogous to a 12 month fixed deposit, but with an unlimited government guarantee.

CIMB is currently offering 1.84% on a 12 month fixed deposit of $10,000 or more, assuming you open it online which is easy enough to do. State Bank of India pushes that up to 1.85% for a $100,000 fixed deposit for 12 months, and they'll offer even more if you're willing to go 24 months.

Hi BBCW, thanks for your kind advice, i will definitely seriously consider your recommendations.:)

Sinkie

Wow very inspiring to see many ppl achieving millions in their networth. For me to retire comfortably, I will probably have to work my ass off till 50+ due to Loan repayment of my current unit

Now my networth still far from 100k not to mention 1 million haiz. Although I have reached the 100k goal two years back but all become zero once I bought my property.

If want to become financial freedom, most likely I will need to have $2 million dollars which generates 4% interest (excluding cpf). Hopefully can reach this level

Many the networth are in millions here, and that's excluding primary residence

Sinkie

there are many high networth here who don't know how to invest. No matter how rich they are, everyone also needs investment advice from SSI warriors.

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...eople-asking-what-do-their-money-5626345.html

Yes, it’s true. Combining all SSI wealth, they can move the market.

You just need to see where crypto bitcoin is right now, when ssi is bearish, they are not joking.

Ssi warrior are just waiting for the trade war to end, their combined war chest will push sti back to 4000

havetheveryfun

there are many high networth here who don't know how to invest. No matter how rich they are, everyone also needs investment advice from SSI warriors.

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...eople-asking-what-do-their-money-5626345.html

Some of them is because they are so stressed trying to keep their networth a secret from their closed ones, they have to let it out subconsciously and tell someone else about it. They may not notice it but the effect is there subtly, can tell by how some of them just dismiss your replies and only care about themselves.

spiritGate

Shouldn't be much of a problem. Save up more and put into different investment like bond, equities and fd, should not be an issue. I hit this target at around 28 years old. If I can do it, why Not you? But right now I am poorer than you :(

I hope to hit $100k by 30 :(

revhappy

38 is the middle life crisis age. It is very easy to keep working and growing networth until that age.
But I find like I have hit a wall now and don't want to work and my networth is stuck at 800k. Not enough, yet not keen to grow it by working. Horrible situation.

Sent from Dont Take Any Of My Statment As Investment Advice. Do Your Own Due Diligence. using GAGT

Toni90

38 is the middle life crisis age. It is very easy to keep working and growing networth until that age.
But I find like I have hit a wall now and don't want to work and my networth is stuck at 800k. Not enough, yet not keen to grow it by working. Horrible situation.

Sent from Dont Take Any Of My Statment As Investment Advice. Do Your Own Due Diligence. using GAGT

Change your job lah.

Incognito1979

We've fairly similar targets. I prefer to target cash. 2 million but I'm more aggressive with my returns at 7% p.a. That's the moment where I'll take a seat and say ahhh finally....

I take net worth as a bonus. Takes a little longer to monetize stuff like CPF and property

havetheveryfun

Shouldn't be much of a problem. Save up more and put into different investment like bond, equities and fd, should not be an issue. I hit this target at around 28 years old. If I can do it, why Not you? But right now I am poorer than you :(

u cash poorer but asset richer ma

Ahboy069

800k is all cash ? Or include others ?
Trying to understand if we are similar

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.