Good ones sit down listen to your problem, give suggestions, work with vendor(s) to see if another backup or work about can be done. Partly also so they can report properly back to their boss. But the idea is, instead of just pushing, they are actively participating and helping out where they can.
met some lousy ones who simply wants me to feed him with weekly updates. Then he copy my mail and send to customer
then there are some who keep asking for weekly internal meeting before the real weekly meeting, then wants everyone to confirm his/her meeting minutes
and some will question me and wants my opinion on customer's comments. I mean if customer say the sky is black and the clouds is blue, then why need go debate with them further
then there are good ones who will handle all sides nicely and make everyone happy
Good ones sit down listen to your problem, give suggestions, work with vendor(s) to see if another backup or work about can be done. Partly also so they can report properly back to their boss. But the idea is, instead of just pushing, they are actively participating and helping out where they can.
met some lousy ones who simply wants me to feed him with weekly updates. Then he copy my mail and send to customer
then there are some who keep asking for weekly internal meeting before the real weekly meeting, then wants everyone to confirm his/her meeting minutes
and some will question me and wants my opinion on customer's comments. I mean if customer say the sky is black and the clouds is blue, then why need go debate with them further
then there are good ones who will handle all sides nicely and make everyone happy
yup same, the bad ones will throw dev team under the bus and por the boss, anything wrong point finger at dev team cannot deliver but in reality he cannot communicate the requirements well and keep changing. also, client keep changing mind he keep accepting their change instead of filing as change request. end up app keep delay cannot deploy because of all the requested changes. then everyday request for meeting with dev and client directly he over there just facilitate creating the meeting room. end up dev team communicate with client directly, don't even know need him for what. rly knn pui chao nua
good one will educate client and work with client to scope the requirements very clearly, then check with both sides on progress and any new requirements and plan them according to deployment stages. dev side every meeting no more than 30min so everyone got time to get back to their own work, everything done swee swee listed in email document sent before meeting so everyone read and synced already, meeting only for questions, clarifications and blockers.
Typically PM is also the boss/manager leh. Tech guys report to him/her. Bosses usually cannot make it. They only keen in revenue and profile. You die your biz
Project liasing and planning is a xxxx job. Got to make sure project meets the target and there are so many variables that can hinder the timeline. And still need to handle uncooperative own company guys who don't want to commit on sub target timeline, chasing them for timely updates of the progress.
Worse is those hog on the task, dilly dally on the update, cos they know they will not answer to customer.
Oi...tiagong u see me no up ah? knn i project manager here hor, professional huan. To be a solid pjm, first thing is your mouth must be sweet, e.g. if the project is a long and tough project, i tell my men, we chop chop ah, get it done and f off from there, this time not hard but a bit more things to do. You must lift their spirits or else it is just a jialat day of sweat and dirt. Really outside must be very 圆滑, to workers and clients it is not easy, need to 见人讲人话,见鬼讲鬼话. If u character is like most of the reticent and those quiet quiet types here, then you cannot be project manager.
Pm main role is to talk to customer. Cos most customer are stupid especially if u do govt project. So if u let engineer talk to customer directly high chance will fight. Pm job is to talk to customer then convince customer to accept something that engineering team can do.
Pm second role is to control cost. Cos if u let engineer do what th ey want high chance the budget will shoot to the moon. So pm must also have some engineering knowledge so that can control the engineers.
and then you have those team members who always do a fxxk job or don't know what they doing, end up PM is the one get screwed by customer but these team members still dare to say PM cannot make it
I see them no up when proj give to them … they failed my delivery time plans and got every n any problems … always jio me for every meeting. End up I control them than he controlling the proj. Very bukeyi
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.