The Casual Bag Thread

aquaris85

Roll-Top

For those guys who use roll-top messengers like the Mission Workshop Rummy, how practical is the roll-top for everyday, on the move use?

I am currently using a battered old mid-sized crumpler. My commute is mostly on buses. Very crowded ones during peak hours, cramped space. Looking for a new bag with new looks. Good thing about the crumpler design is the accessibility of the main compartment where I put my barang. Even in a crowded space, with my bag slung in front of me, i still can access things inside fairly simply.

The rummy looks really great but because the roll-top part unrolls up, will it become to tall to access your stuff on the move? Most of the video reviews I watched on youtube shows the bag being loaded while on the floor, not while it is being slung, which actually is the main reason why people get a messenger right?

uRiZEn

Anybody ordered filson bag and have to give your credit card details including security code? Feels apprehensive giving them via email leh.

snip82

I gotten the rambler few months back.. use it everyday including weekend..
One thing I like is it can expand to larger capacity if needed. But it doesnt have much compartment, you need additional organizer..
it Weather proof, tested.

Do note it pretty heavy .. the bag itself weight if not wrong.. around 1kg? The sew part of the bag look good and did not came off.. gotten it near opposite Queenway shopping along the shop houses..

archangle13

Anybody ordered filson bag and have to give your credit card details including security code? Feels apprehensive giving them via email leh.

How come through email and not paypal?

Anyway, where in Singapore are Filson bags available? I only know the Denim Store.

SexMuffin

Eh guys, need help. I saw the topo design klettersack. Sibei swee but very big. Anyone know where got sell something similar but smaller anot? By 1-2 inches on each side. Herschel bag so common even my grandmother have sia.

ylime87

anyone knows where can i get this backpack? :)
rugzak.jpg

help is appreciated!

nicholaslee

Hello, I have a Filson 257. But at the side got some red stains which I suspect came from a red plastic object that I placed inside the pocket for too long.

Is there any remedy? Any shops that specialise in cleaning bags recommended?

Dynosaur

Hi guys,

I have Head Porter Black Beauty Brief Brand New for sale.
Price is $350 obno.
If keen, please pm me.
Thanks.

l_01.jpg

chromehead

For those guys who use roll-top messengers like the Mission Workshop Rummy, how practical is the roll-top for everyday, on the move use?

I am currently using a battered old mid-sized crumpler. My commute is mostly on buses. Very crowded ones during peak hours, cramped space. Looking for a new bag with new looks. Good thing about the crumpler design is the accessibility of the main compartment where I put my barang. Even in a crowded space, with my bag slung in front of me, i still can access things inside fairly simply.

The rummy looks really great but because the roll-top part unrolls up, will it become to tall to access your stuff on the move? Most of the video reviews I watched on youtube shows the bag being loaded while on the floor, not while it is being slung, which actually is the main reason why people get a messenger right?

i think roll-top + messenger is a fail combo if you want access when slung

those conventional messengers' big flaps still can tuck under chin to see your stuff in the main compartment

roll top main compartment when slung and unrolled will probably reach your face already and its like sticking your arm into the black hole to grope for stuff, better to take off the bag then opening it

plus point is confirm + chop weatherproof and can use as an ice bucket bag for eg beer

SquallLH

This thread has gone pretty quiet huh...
Just to revive some activities, has anyone seen similar bags to this design? Am very attracted to the leather accent and quick lrelease straps. Was going to grab the original one since it's on sale but it appears Ghurka bag's has dropped in quality over last 20 years and not worth the price of USD300...

ghurka-walker-backpack-twill-leather.jpg

Links to the bag here Leather Backpacks | Norwalk Backpack in Dune Herringbone Twill | Ghurka

SquallLH

hi all, does anyone know where i can get a filson 256 online with a good price?

Revolveclothing.com
Price is USD248; use tulip as the discount code for 10%(sometimes 15% depending on luck)
International Shipping is free for orders above usd200.

Else, you can wait for brooks brother sale with 30-40% (free shipping in US? Can't remember correctly though cause I did not buy from them) but you probably need a proxy like Vpost or comgateway and the US to SG shipping is probably around usd30-50... It's probably still at least SGD220-250 even with the steep discount due to the international shipping...

Above only applies for 256, 257 costs at least sgd40-50 more

lyrrom

Revolveclothing.com
Price is USD248; use tulip as the discount code for 10%(sometimes 15% depending on luck)
International Shipping is free for orders above usd200.

Else, you can wait for brooks brother sale with 30-40% (free shipping in US? Can't remember correctly though cause I did not buy from them) but you probably need a proxy like Vpost or comgateway and the US to SG shipping is probably around usd30-50... It's probably still at least SGD220-250 even with the steep discount due to the international shipping...

Above only applies for 256, 257 costs at least sgd40-50 more

thank you for your detailed reply!

SquallLH

The big Robinson in orchard got carry some filson bags.

Yup, price not very attractive as usual for retail though :) it's SGD339 for the 256 in Tan. Robinson Card holders get 10% off (GSS discount) regular price filson items lol... :s13:

Good place to check out the bags though. Last check when they started the GSS on weds was: 256, limited edition 256 with white sides, Black Sportsman bag, Horween Leather Tote, Tote briefcase and etc... No 257, 258 and field bags iirc...

thank you for your detailed reply!

Welcome :)

aquaris85

Tom Bihn

Is anyone using the Tom Bihn Super Ego? What's your experience?
Might want to ship one from US but it's out of stock~!

TB0825_01b.jpg

*Picture credit of tombihn.com.

crossfiire

hi, anyone know where i can find men's clutch bags? those that looks kinda professional to be used for work.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.