Henabi

Indeed. It's a very unique blue

Sent from Henabi virus using GAGT

NeonX

I already sold my errant xpac. Too little space is my main grip, and extremely uncomfortable to wear for me. Might be because of the slightly misalign straps

Posted from PCWX using Pixel 3

w4rdsg

I already sold my errant xpac. Too little space is my main grip, and extremely uncomfortable to wear for me. Might be because of the slightly misalign straps

Sorry to hear that. I quite like the firm back and straps. Am currently walking around Bali with it and it’s damn hot but my back is feeling well ventilated.

Henabi

Shiok.... Quite a few Errant owners :D

kingsfall

Pls recommend me a dark coloured heavy canvas messenger bag. Something like filson but not costing an arm and leg. My Budget is around 200-300

indigo22

Looking for a edc backpack. Currently considering the arcteryx nomin is It worth getting from local store. What other options to consider? Even if not in the same price range. Thanks

i'm an ex Nomin user and i strongly urge you to consider the Granville Zip16.

allow me to share one of the main reason why i sold off my Nomin, please note that the carrying style of each and everyone of us here is different so what applies to me may or may not apply to you.

the strap (the part where you adjust the length) is made of seat belt material. As the material is smooth, walking over time will somehow slide the length off and you may leave house with the bag above your tailbone but by the time you reach home after work, you will feel the bag slightly lower (also backed up by the fact that when you remove the bag and compare the length in the morning and night). Now, typical cordura material does slide too but its probably just 5mm over a period of a few months, none as huge as the Nomin.

This is the one and purely only one reason why i sold off the Nomin. If the above does not apply to you (again, the carrying style is so different between each of us), the Nomin is to be, bloody good bag.

indigo22

Pls recommend me a dark coloured heavy canvas messenger bag. Something like filson but not costing an arm and leg. My Budget is around 200-300

without knowing your usage and such, here as some recommendations:

1) https://www.sfbags.com/collections/shoulder-messenger-bags

2) https://www.tkfoto.com.sg/products/ona-leather-bowery-dark-truffle
(also check out other Ona bags, some barely exceeds SGD300)

3) Nixon -> i recall some of their bags being of Canvas quality in CK Tangs, not sure if its still there or does it have messengers or not

4) Timbuk2 -> they have a shop in Bugis that allows some customisation, i recalled they have an option of Waxed Canvas too
for your reference: https://www.evanscycles.com/en-sg/timbuk2-classic-messenger-bag-waxed-canvas-EV264852

5) Fossil has some waxed canvas too, admittedly i'm not sure how much it costs

Henabi

I used to use messenger

Timbuk2 messenger bags are really durable, I used to own one classic during my schooling days and it's not too expensive.

A few other brands you consider since your budget is up to 300
If you are looking at Practicality over Design and slickness.
- Porter (Japan)
- Mr Porter (Taiwan)

More for work, laptops,
- American Tourister
- Samsonite

indigo22

I used to use messenger

Timbuk2 messenger bags are really durable, I used to own one classic during my schooling days and it's not too expensive.

- Porter (Japan)
- Mr Porter (Taiwan)

More for work, laptops,
- American Tourister
- Samsonite

"used to"? what shifted u away from Messengers?
For me, its just too much weight on one shoulder, nowadays for anymore more than 10L worth of items, i'll go for backpacks...

only bringing messenger/sling for super duper light carry items.....

or maybe i'm just getting old

damn :( thats dark.....

NeonX

For me, its just too much weight on one shoulder, nowadays for anymore more than 10L worth of items, i'll go for backpacks...

damn
:(
thats dark.....

Hard to use messenger even for work. Weight is one issue, but the looks sometimes also hard. Even though I work in tshirt and jeans, messenger still feels too casual.

Old Liao I guess

Henabi

Hard to use messenger even for work. Weight is one issue, but the looks sometimes also hard. Even though I work in tshirt and jeans, messenger still feels too casual.

Old Liao I guess

you guys spot on :s13: last time study mah... laptop, mp3, small note book can liao

after working, changed to backpack... better weight distribution, wanna carry long hours no need to scared shoulder sore or pain.
more importantly, got proper item partition for different things... some backpack can be compressed accordingly.

nowadays, i use Errant as my EDC... for both work and gym.
on weekends I will just go with my northface Mantis sling bag.

w4rdsg

Agree. I have Tom Bihn Ristretto for small laptop and nothing else!

crapp0

I used to use messenger

- Porter (Japan)
- Mr Porter (Taiwan)

More for work, laptops,
- American Tourister
- Samsonite

I feel the same way, used timbuk2 for nearly a decade between different models. But i found that the quality isnt that great, though if you can get it on sale, its not that bad, especially the inner waterproof lining will start to peel off after 2 years or so of use.

I didnt know american tourister made backpacks, i have their carry on luggage though. Samsonite work backpacks are those who have money to spare.

I have transitioned to 2 brands for everyday backpacks, the cheaper osprey outdoor models, or mystery ranch backpacks.

noobzpro

i'm an ex Nomin user and i strongly urge you to consider the Granville Zip16.

allow me to share one of the main reason why i sold off my Nomin, please note that the carrying style of each and everyone of us here is different so what applies to me may or may not apply to you.

the strap (the part where you adjust the length) is made of seat belt material. As the material is smooth, walking over time will somehow slide the length off and you may leave house with the bag above your tailbone but by the time you reach home after work, you will feel the bag slightly lower (also backed up by the fact that when you remove the bag and compare the length in the morning and night). Now, typical cordura material does slide too but its probably just 5mm over a period of a few months, none as huge as the Nomin.

This is the one and purely only one reason why i sold off the Nomin. If the above does not apply to you (again, the carrying style is so different between each of us), the Nomin is to be, bloody good bag.

hmmm i cant get over the fact paying 300+ for a made in asia bag :s13: but 1k made in canada i can accept sorry my weird thinking haha...hmm the strap system is kind of weird when i tried it that time not so easily adjustable because the adjuster is integrated inside the strap...thanks for the input though shall think about it for this month and see if still gian haha

Henabi

I feel the same way, used timbuk2 for nearly a decade between different models. But i found that the quality isnt that great, though if you can get it on sale, its not that bad, especially the inner waterproof lining will start to peel off after 2 years or so of use.

I didnt know american tourister made backpacks, i have their carry on luggage though. Samsonite work backpacks are those who have money to spare.

I have transitioned to 2 brands for everyday backpacks, the cheaper osprey outdoor models, or mystery ranch backpacks.
American tourist do make backpack... It's quite affordable as well. Usually need to stiff them out in places like OG, Metro, Isetan.

When I first started working, I alternate between an American Tourister nylon briefcase and my Timbuk2.

And I agree.... When you start loading it up and use it for more heavy duty carries... The main body material will start to give way...
3rd year into my job, I changed to a Samsonite backpack (From BHG Warehouse sale on 70% discount)
When I started travelling. I invested in a American Tourist backpack ($55 iirc) to use as an EDC and Samsonite for travel, as Samsonite material feels thicker.

But 5 years ago. It finally decided to retire. So I had to depend on my American Tourist EDC but I felt the material is not as good as Samsonite to tahan heavier carries...

So 3 yrs ago. My wife bought me a Bobby but I can't stand the "Turtle Shell" design but it's a really good and affordable EDC.

Since then, I have invested in quite a few backpacks... Koala-Gear Joey (sold off), WIWU ONEPACK (piece of ATB trash) and now Boundary Errant

Henabi

hmmm i cant get over the fact paying 300+ for a made in asia bag :s13: but 1k made in canada i can accept sorry my weird thinking haha...hmm the strap system is kind of weird when i tried it that time not so easily adjustable because the adjuster is integrated inside the strap...thanks for the input though shall think about it for this month and see if still gian haha
There are 1K AMDK brands which are
"Made in Thailand"
"Made in Indonesia"
"Made in Vietnam"
"Made in Laos/Cambodia/Myanmar"

Production cost is probably only $20-30 USD per bag but they sell retail price 1K

whats more.... many of these expensive backpacks not even using those Cordura lah or Ballistic lah or kodra
not even water resistance... zippers dont keep out water...

but tons of people still go ga-ga over them... willing to waste 100s of days Q-ing up and end up with nothing

Henabi

Wanted a vertical laptop messenger which was surprisingly hard to find.
It is so well made that I suspect it will survive to come back into fashion in the late 2020s

have lah... Qoo10 and taobao alot :s13:

but whether it really last or can fit your laptop.... that's another issue on its own:s22:

so far the trend in KS and Indiegogo is EDC techie sling bag or a 10L-16L multi-carry backpack-cum-sling-cum-handbag

if you check out those backpack review channels like Bo Ismono and Excessoize me, Chase

indigo22

its a reality buddy, even the likes of MR has production factories in Asia liao, cannot run away from it le...

if it helps, so far despite all the Made In (insert Asia country name here), the users of such brands have not reported items being of interior quality compared to when it's made in USA.

so far i'm impressed with the Granville Zip16, as someone in Facebook said, the Granville Zip16 is 2/3 the features of the Nomin but 1/3 the cost of the Nomin

give it some thoughts, and make a few more trips to Arcteryx SG store to try it out..
check out the hakka yong tau foo at the kopitiam below too, quite nice HAHA

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.