The Casual Bag Thread

NeonX

its a reality buddy, even the likes of MR has production factories in Asia liao, cannot run away from it le...

if it helps, so far despite all the Made In (insert Asia country name here), the users of such brands have not reported items being of interior quality compared to when it's made in USA.

so far i'm impressed with the Granville Zip16, as someone in Facebook said, the Granville Zip16 is 2/3 the features of the Nomin but 1/3 the cost of the Nomin

give it some thoughts, and make a few more trips to Arcteryx SG store to try it out..
check out the hakka yong tau foo at the kopitiam below too, quite nice HAHA

i wonder where my alchemy equipment bag is made in

magna_strike

X1qwFpW.jpg

No regrets

Paiseh quote old post, but were u on 184 this evening from sim to clementi wearing red tee? 🤔🤔🤔

chromehead

MR also got qc dud one

my carousell Front had a dud yoke, one of the floating shoulder plates was bartacked in the webbing. one side strap also keep slipping

after a long time searching and pondering, ordered a smaller yoke from rakuten via forwarder.

now very shiok, but tmd end up spending more than getting at retail

then now see the new Scree with removable waist pads and extra pockets in the main compartment.... sibeh itchy sia

chromehead

i wonder where my alchemy equipment bag is made in

asian factories are way more pro with organic roundish shapes

not many amdk factories can do those, so most made in USA styles you see quite flat and boxy.
even if they are adept at producing advanced shapes economically, they likely have their hands full fulfilling berry compliant military orders

kingsfall

without knowing your usage and such, here as some recommendations:

1) https://www.sfbags.com/collections/shoulder-messenger-bags

2) https://www.tkfoto.com.sg/products/ona-leather-bowery-dark-truffle
(also check out other Ona bags, some barely exceeds SGD300)

3) Nixon -> i recall some of their bags being of Canvas quality in CK Tangs, not sure if its still there or does it have messengers or not

4) Timbuk2 -> they have a shop in Bugis that allows some customisation, i recalled they have an option of Waxed Canvas too
for your reference: https://www.evanscycles.com/en-sg/timbuk2-classic-messenger-bag-waxed-canvas-EV264852

5) Fossil has some waxed canvas too, admittedly i'm not sure how much it costs

Thanks for your recommendation. The bag Price of the brand you recommend places itself in the same league as filson tho. 300-400ish. I can never like timbuk’s canvas. They’re not waxed and feels cheap to the touch. Diesel is pretty good. But I wanna explore other Brands. Saddleback is also a good brand but it’s also very expensive

I am looking for something like this:

https://www.pinterest.co.uk/pin/50172983326154785/
rWhon72.png

indigo22

Thanks for your recommendation. The bag Price of the brand you recommend places itself in the same league as filson tho. 300-400ish. I can never like timbuk’s canvas. They’re not waxed and feels cheap to the touch. Diesel is pretty good. But I wanna explore other Brands. Saddleback is also a good brand but it’s also very expensive

I am looking for something like this:

https://www.pinterest.co.uk/pin/50172983326154785/
rWhon72.png

Ona bags has similar vibes....

Henabi

That kinda design ah....
Hmmmmmm...
Peak Design
Nomatic
Commuterpack by Funk
Dayfarer
Osprey
Chrome Conway

Sent from Henabi virus using GAGT

w4rdsg

Received AEL222 this week.
Good size as EDC gym bag I think.
Materials and design very nice. Love the red lining and subdued grey camo exterior. I am tall and it fits my back well. Straps are comfy.

Minor Negatives:
Not much internal organisation if you want that.
I don’t get the point of the laptop ejector.
Waist belt stowage holes are ridiculously small. I doubt it’s ever coming out again.
Minor fabric defect on my pack but Alchemy have ignored my emailed complaint. Not important enough for me to send it back but their QC and customer service is questionable.

I hope to keep using mine for a long time.

So I discovered what the AEL222 laptop ejector is for. I currently have mine jammed full of clothes on a short business trip. In this state it is difficult to reach a 13” laptop because the slot is so tight, but with the ejector it is just about possible to remove it for security without releasing any other zips.

I think it works well for long weekend one bag trips, but I would want something bigger if I needed to bring more than one pair of shoes or formal wear.

crapp0

American tourist do make backpack... It's quite affordable as well. Usually need to stiff them out in places like OG, Metro, Isetan.

When I first started working, I alternate between an American Tourister nylon briefcase and my Timbuk2.

And I agree.... When you start loading it up and use it for more heavy duty carries... The main body material will start to give way...
3rd year into my job, I changed to a Samsonite backpack (From BHG Warehouse sale on 70% discount)
When I started travelling. I invested in a American Tourist backpack ($55 iirc) to use as an EDC and Samsonite for travel, as Samsonite material feels thicker.

But 5 years ago. It finally decided to retire. So I had to depend on my American Tourist EDC but I felt the material is not as good as Samsonite to tahan heavier carries...

So 3 yrs ago. My wife bought me a Bobby but I can't stand the "Turtle Shell" design but it's a really good and affordable EDC.

Since then, I have invested in quite a few backpacks... Koala-Gear Joey (sold off), WIWU ONEPACK (piece of ATB trash) and now Boundary Errant

Im not familiar will all the brands you mentioned besides samsonite and american tourister.

crapp0

its a reality buddy, even the likes of MR has production factories in Asia liao, cannot run away from it le...

if it helps, so far despite all the Made In (insert Asia country name here), the users of such brands have not reported items being of interior quality compared to when it's made in USA.

so far i'm impressed with the Granville Zip16, as someone in Facebook said, the Granville Zip16 is 2/3 the features of the Nomin but 1/3 the cost of the Nomin

give it some thoughts, and make a few more trips to Arcteryx SG store to try it out..
check out the hakka yong tau foo at the kopitiam below too, quite nice HAHA

I've had good luck with backpacks made in the Philippines and vietnam, my previous timbuk2 and osprey are made in those countries.

Btw, is the Arcteryx SG store the same as campers corner? I know alot of my ex malay colleagues love to shop at that store for overseas trips.

Henabi

Im not familiar will all the brands you mentioned besides samsonite and american tourister.
Joey, Wiwu and Errant are created through Kickstarter.

Same with Wandrd, Peak design, Nomatic, evergood CPL, Alta 21, AER, Ember equipment, Bobby etc

indigo22

I've had good luck with backpacks made in the Philippines and vietnam, my previous timbuk2 and osprey are made in those countries.

Btw, is the Arcteryx SG store the same as campers corner? I know alot of my ex malay colleagues love to shop at that store for overseas trips.

yup, Campers and Arcteryx SG is same same de...
sometimes the same staff can be stationed at either of the shops :D

Spladox

5gU6iOL.png

Just dropped an order for Brown Buffalo's new 26L Conceal backpack. Always liked the previous version but 19L dimensions was too small for me. Currently, the bag is MTO and estimated to be shipped 3-4weeks later.

Also sent a request to change the interior back to the previous version with more contrast in colours.. dunno why they make the interior blackout. :s22:

Waiting game start now.

Henabi

5gU6iOL.png

Just dropped an order for Brown Buffalo's new 26L Conceal backpack. Always liked the previous version but 19L dimensions was too small for me. Currently, the bag is MTO and estimated to be shipped 3-4weeks later.

Also sent a request to change the interior back to the previous version with more contrast in colours.. dunno why they make the interior blackout. :s22:

Waiting game start now.

shipping is only 11?! wow

Black, on Black, on Black or AKA Blackout... its a fashion statement on its own.

You can check out the following two videos by Accessorize Me

Henabi

ho ho ho...

can't imagine the international shipping cost hahaah!

w4rdsg

how you liking the bag so far?

I resolved my initial quality control issue with AE and I still like the design and materials so I am happy.

Currently one bagging with it (AE222) on a 3 day business trip to India and it’s doing well, but some of the compromises made for form over function are more noticeable than when EDCing.

Mainly I wish the waist strap was more accessible and the laptop slot is really tight when the bag is packed. Also the slight taper in the bag means you have to think and bit about how to load your packing cubes as it is top loading.

None of these things are deal breakers if you like the design and colour scheme though. It’s breaking in nicely.

Henabi

I resolved my initial quality control issue with AE and I still like the design and materials so I am happy.

Currently one bagging with it (AE222) on a 3 day business trip to India and it’s doing well, but some of the compromises made for form over function are more noticeable than when EDCing.

Mainly I wish the waist strap was more accessible and the laptop slot is really tight when the bag is packed. Also the slight taper in the bag means you have to think and bit about how to load your packing cubes as it is top loading.

None of these things are deal breakers if you like the design and colour scheme though. It’s breaking in nicely.

I thought the AEL222 was marketed as a short-trip backpack?

I noticed the tapered bottom as well... that was a big deal breaker for me when I got my Joey :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.