The Casual Bag Thread

netzach

Lol MCM to me is what rappers/hip hop stars use.

like this:
:D

tbh quality not so great. But in terms of "luxury tiers", if you want to put it that way, it is slightly above Coach.

The brand used to be German I think (last time same price point as Goyard), went out of business, got bought over by Koreans, and is now making a slow comeback. They got Rain to endorse, if that floats your boat.

the bag looks solid to me sia...kinda tempted to get one. :(:(:(

OriginalF00k

like this:

big-o-taz-arnold-2-500x655.jpg

:D

tbh quality not so great. But in terms of "luxury tiers", if you want to put it that way, it is slightly above Coach.

The brand used to be German I think (last time same price point as Goyard), went out of business, got bought over by Koreans, and is now making a slow comeback. They got Rain to endorse, if that floats your boat.

MCM seems getting more and more popular in SG. when i went korea, alot of ah tiong tourists carry.

dj_flame

Usually if popular amongst ah tiongs, that means it's time to stay away imo.....

feist_

sorry for late reply! i just got back from holiday and finally got internet connection to do more research..

I see a lot of Ah Tiong in my school carrying the MCM backpack
i saw tiong buying the ostrich looking wallet at airport while i was browsing.. but i figured my bag not enough logos for them hahahaha.. so they wont buy

any pictures to share? :o:o:o

i THINK you may be looking for backpack... i bought the clutch leh.
my colleague got the backpack for $650 in Seoul.

anw.. here's the pic! but it's abit washed out..
mwc3sxr03re001.jpg

Product
i think can fit kindle, phone and some makeup hahaha.. and the snakeskin embossed part is SO LOVELY! and the lines are SO compact and sexy - no unsightly bits sticking out. (like you know how most bags have a curved stitching... this leather is HARD. and the lining is silky material. Conversely, i was just looking at some Chloe wallets.. and the innards are that cheap, beige lining that imitation bags have)

Brand
before buying, i also checked U.S. stores for it (because once it's in the U.S., the markup is probably v bad in SG) - i only found it in Saks.

I also did some quick research - the brand is indeed owned by koreans now.. and i see coverage in EU and Japan.. but not much in mainstream English media yet.. but my colleagues were discussing it very excitedly back in 2012, and today one of them carries the wallet (he's the kind who really knows his brands).

they also did some collabs that are featured on highsnobiety...

i have a feeling that like Rag & Bone, they may improve in popularity

But..

like this:

big-o-taz-arnold-2-500x655.jpg
I did an instagram search.. the people i saw using it... are not the people i would like to see using it.....it's really a rapper brand!

Lucky I bought the clutch.. still quite ladylike and proper haha.. and logo not so big

They got Rain to endorse, if that floats your boat.
OH REALLYYYYY? it definitely does!!! ..... hahaha. even better if his shirt's off when endorsing it :s22:

ok kidding :)
just having abit of buyer's remorse now.. after seeing the instagram.. haha
but airport was having sale.. and.. i haven't seen any bags from the big brands that are this attractive...

feist_

any comments/feedback on this ?

:D:D:D

img-thing

actually... it's ok if your school's in the town area..and if you're quite stylish.. haha. just that the colour abit :s25:

if not.. a normal dickies one will do :p or use those skate brand kind.. can throw around!

netzach

Are you open to other styles/brands, or do you prefer just sticking with the mainstream ones? :s11:

hi bro, thanks for the kind reply! :s12::s12:
i'm open to all styles/brands, the brand doesn't really matters to me at all, so long as the bag/style is nice! :s12::s12::s12::s12:

netzach

i THINK you may be looking for backpack... i bought the clutch leh.
my colleague got the backpack for $650 in Seoul.

anw.. here's the pic! but it's abit washed out..
mwc3sxr03re001.jpg

Product
i think can fit kindle, phone and some makeup hahaha.. and the snakeskin embossed part is SO LOVELY! and the lines are SO compact and sexy - no unsightly bits sticking out. (like you know how most bags have a curved stitching... this leather is HARD. and the lining is silky material. Conversely, i was just looking at some Chloe wallets.. and the innards are that cheap, beige lining that imitation bags have)

Brand
before buying, i also checked U.S. stores for it (because once it's in the U.S., the markup is probably v bad in SG) - i only found it in Saks.

I also did some quick research - the brand is indeed owned by koreans now.. and i see coverage in EU and Japan.. but not much in mainstream English media yet.. but my colleagues were discussing it very excitedly back in 2012, and today one of them carries the wallet (he's the kind who really knows his brands).

they also did some collabs that are featured on highsnobiety...

i have a feeling that like Rag & Bone, they may improve in popularity

tumblr_mke212azRA1ql5ylno1_500.gif

thanks for the very very detailed review & pic. appreciate it.
nice clutch! details are good & you won't see it often on the streets like the backpack. :s13:
i'm keen on the backpack because it's roomy & have a laptop compartment.
can put in laptop, charger & files easily for school mahs.
furthermore, the leather looks solid & can tahan for some time to me. lol

star.jpg

netzach

actually... it's ok if your school's in the town area..and if you're quite stylish.. haha. just that the colour abit :s25:

if not.. a normal dickies one will do :p or use those skate brand kind.. can throw around!

i'm actually thinking of the black backpack & not the cognac one (easy to match mahh black & not so flashy imo) to carry for normal sch days. Roomy enough to throw everything in. lol.

Can't possibly carry that for presentations or even when i'm wearing shirts - you gotta be a superhero to pull that off in formal wear. lol :s13:

yap. my sch is right smack in town. 1 more year to GTFO. :s22::s22::s22:

feist_

i'm keen on the backpack because it's roomy & have a laptop compartment.
can put in laptop, charger & files easily for school mahs.
furthermore, the leather looks solid & can tahan for some time to me. lol

what if you get caught in the rain ah.. hahahaha..

if you get this bag you need to bring those big red plastic bag with you.. just in case.. so you can cover it hahahahahaha

netzach

what if you get caught in the rain ah.. hahahaha..

if you get this bag you need to bring those big red plastic bag with you.. just in case.. so you can cover it hahahahahaha

No need for that luh...bag Kena rain so be it lohs. lol

stonedx

whoever keen to get filson, please pm me. i'm looking for someone to share shipping cost to singapore cos i want to get a bag. cheers!

dj_flame

Feist, if the bag looks good, who cares who uses it. :D

netzach monogrammed backpack on a guy is a little bit homo, but thats just my opinion.

Would buy this backpack if I had funds. Quality is good and details are outstanding, probably no one else in SG will have the same bag. :)

patrik-ervell-backpack-01.jpg

patrik-ervell-backpack-02.JPG

(around SGD $1k....)

PetiaC

The reason why the noveau rich PRC likes labels like LV and MCM becos of the monogram either big big or all over the place. They scared people dont know they got money.

In a way our society aint much different from theirs in level of graciousness.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.