The China Android Phones, Best Value, Updates

metallickgoz

Ok, since im looking at some phones, heres my shortlist of 4 phones that u guys can comment on them!

Requirements
- MTK6589T, 1.5ghz, A7 Quadcore
- dual sim
- 5 inch
- RAM 2GB
- around SGD$300

THL W8S All-rounded phone, Gorilla Glass, but personally prefer a squarish design
iOcean X7 Elite Love the design, but slightly more expensive and low battery life
Neo N003 Best battery capacity of 3000, but lesser forum support or ROM support compared to the rest
UMI/VOTO X2 Turbo Good overall phone but read alot of people having cracked screens even with a slight drop

PhoneCompare.jpg

metallickgoz

I'm looking to purchase a quad core 5 inch android phone for around rmb 1000.any recommendations ?slight over this price is okay.

u can take a look at my list below, i feel that those phones are worth to buy... and within USD300 budget

anyway some online shops to consider are:
antelife
orientdeal
1949deal
MTKmall
SPEmall
aliexpress (must find good credible seller)
MTK6589TCompare1.jpg

MTK6589TCompare2.jpg

MTK6589TCompare3.jpg

Swiftbladez

Ok, since im looking at some phones, heres my shortlist of 4 phones that u guys can comment on them!

Requirements
- MTK6589T, 1.5ghz, A7 Quadcore
- dual sim
- 5 inch
- RAM 2GB
- around SGD$300

THL W8S All-rounded phone, Gorilla Glass, but personally prefer a squarish design
iOcean X7 Elite Love the design, but slightly more expensive and low battery life
Neo N003 Best battery capacity of 3000, but lesser forum support or ROM support compared to the rest
UMI/VOTO X2 Turbo Good overall phone but read alot of people having cracked screens even with a slight drop

PhoneCompare.jpg

where did you get these prices?

metallickgoz

no leh, sls dun think have UMI...
really only have THL, even got like specialty store of THL phones and just some limited zoppo phones at level 3...

maybe u can try ask every small stall, see whether they carry UMI lor..
online cheapest i see the 2gb/32gb version is USD$269

btw since u interested in UMI X2, u can see they did a thorough QC test here
UMi X2 full laboratory strenght and quality test - YouTube

metallickgoz

where did you get these prices?

all the prices all take from online one, and the cheapest price online..
for eg the Neo N003, cheapest is from a seller at aliexpress with the price including the shipping to SG.
the THL W8S, cheapest price from antelife.

anyway i thought THL W8S shipped with 2 batteries, now i see most sellers ship with 1 battery only, think is SingPost restriction on 2 batteries.

might be going sls again, coz if i see that sls sell THL W8S with 2 batteries and flip cover for $360, can buy there liao with some negotiation...

rather than wait for 20-40 day shipping from antelife, with added battery cost = USD251.99+USD14.55 = USD266.54/SGD332

btw swiftbladez u bought how much ar?

angel545

no leh, sls dun think have UMI...
really only have THL, even got like specialty store of THL phones and just some limited zoppo phones at level 3...

maybe u can try ask every small stall, see whether they carry UMI lor..
online cheapest i see the 2gb/32gb version is USD$269

btw since u interested in UMI X2, u can see they did a thorough QC test here

woah.. good vid ! i think i will just buy online ! 269 is include shipping? can provide me link ?

metallickgoz

u click on this link
UMI X2 MTK6589T Quad Core Android 4.1 2GB RAM 32G ROM 3G GPS 5.0 Inch IPS OGS Screen Smart Phone White - GroupDeals - Wholesale Electronics on AntElife.com

1. select your colour, add to cart.. price is now $319.99
2. at the shopping cart page, add this discount code: gumix22g
so now price reduce 50usd to $269.99
3. at the bottom left page, u click the estimate your shipping.
Singpost $0.00 [20-40 day]
DHL $14.68 [4-7day]
so see how fast u want yr phone .. if not price 269.99

btw u can see if u want add battery or whatever accessorry u need

metallickgoz

ops abit cheaper haha , at USD$268.99, cheaper by USD$1
Popular Umi X2 | Aliexpress

but u have to use yr own discretion to choose which aliexpress seller lar..

antelife got free leather protector or smth
aliexpress got give free screen protector..
so u decide yrself ba

Swiftbladez

all the prices all take from online one, and the cheapest price online..
for eg the Neo N003, cheapest is from a seller at aliexpress with the price including the shipping to SG.
the THL W8S, cheapest price from antelife.

anyway i thought THL W8S shipped with 2 batteries, now i see most sellers ship with 1 battery only, think is SingPost restriction on 2 batteries.

might be going sls again, coz if i see that sls sell THL W8S with 2 batteries and flip cover for $360, can buy there liao with some negotiation...

rather than wait for 20-40 day shipping from antelife, with added battery cost = USD251.99+USD14.55 = USD266.54/SGD332

btw swiftbladez u bought how much ar?

I don't know how you get that conversion rate but otherwise SLS at $360 (assuming 2gb ram version) seems pretty good. better if you can bargain down. The price was around ~$350SGD with DHL shipping when I purchased mine.

chong

u can take a look at my list below, i feel that those phones are worth to buy... and within USD300 budget

anyway some online shops to consider are:
antelife
orientdeal
1949deal
MTKmall
SPEmall
aliexpress (must find good credible seller)
MTK6589TCompare1.jpg

MTK6589TCompare2.jpg

MTK6589TCompare3.jpg

Impressive list you've compiled!

Ordered NEO N003 2GB+32GB from AliExpress last week for about 248.5 USD including shipping. It finally shipped out 6 days after payment with tracking number.
AliExpress seemed like a more logical choice because the seller will not receive the money until you've confirmed that goods were received in good condition. I have low faith in Sim Lim Square shops' after-sales support, esp those unknown ones. :o At least there is an option to file a dispute with AliExpress.

Was considering between the <250USD phones, and the N003 seemed to have the best camera amongst the bunch: Neo N003 Review - Is it the phone we have all been waiting for?

There's also a thread on xda that's gaining momemtum: Neo N003 Premium and Neo N003 Youth. - xda-developers

joesph

Is this the version we can use in sg?
Lenovo/
A820 I think no flash on the back and no front camera. it is quad core and very same with my A830
A830 has flash and front camera and is 5 inch
A820 is 4.5 inch and as I know last time only got two colours black and white
so the listing is fake

metallickgoz

I don't know how you get that conversion rate but otherwise SLS at $360 (assuming 2gb ram version) seems pretty good. better if you can bargain down. The price was around ~$350SGD with DHL shipping when I purchased mine.

hmm the usd=sgd conversion rate i just get from goggle, i think is based on 1usd = 1.25sgd.
but the prices on the excel sheet is the cheapest online usd prices i can find..

yeah i was wondering if i can bargain at SLS down to $340, and the package includes 2 batteries, flip cover and screen protector, it will be a great deal!

its funny why THL phone packages dont seem to be consistent, like some have flip cover, some doesn't, some 2 batteries, some 1..

metallickgoz

Ordered NEO N003 2GB+32GB from AliExpress last week for about 248.5 USD including shipping. It finally shipped out 6 days after payment with tracking number.

There's also a thread on xda that's gaining momemtum: Neo N003 Premium and Neo N003 Youth. - xda-developers

yeah the neo bigger battery and better video camera attracts me.. u choose the free shipping 20-40 days? it will be awesome if u could do a review of the phone!

Swiftbladez

Some of the extra stuff is provided by the retailers themselves.

also when paying online through your credit card, the currency exchange is slightly worse then what you get from Google's conversion. Do take note.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.