The Continuum

drkcynic

Marine parade HDB is very good. Sea view. Walkable to beach. Mall and amenities nearby. Upcoming MRT at doorstep. Good schools nearby. No downside except for age.
Yep, on the same token Cote D'Azur price is very strong despite being older and a LH. People still appreciate bigger homes, proximity to ECP, MRT and amenities. All about preference.

If push comes to shove I will choose Cote D'Azur over TG, for the attributes it offers. It can easily enbloc next time imo. For own stay in D15 it's pretty great.

abbakonghee

You from the East? Your comments sounds like Katong area is the ONLY place that will stand to benefit from the transformation. I even know some people who insist D15 is "town"...

At the end of the day, let's be objective. TG, TC, GD are in a triangle, maybe barely 1km or less from each other. They are in the same district. Everybody has got their own preference, which is fair enough. But to link Paya lebar airbase to Katong area is abit of a stretch. There are at least 3 townships that is closer to Paya lebar airbase than Katong.
Yes I'm from the east. They talking about new condos right between the 3? Why talk about old condos?

Also of course they are near to each other, but distance makes a difference in selling value. Like selegie-sophia-rochor

My personal views ah.. waiting to get shoot again

abbakonghee

Also why suddenly talk about marine parade? Marine parade is nice but a lot of sinkies typical pattern is private property want to move away from neighboring HDBs. But it up to you. Beyond these 3 condos there are so many good estates to talk about. Why not Nassim? Telok Kurau also quite good. Got consider claydence? The list goes on ..

drkcynic

Yes I'm from the east. They talking about new condos right between the 3? Why talk about old condos?

Also of course they are near to each other, but distance makes a difference in selling value. Like selegie-sophia-rochor

My personal views ah.. waiting to get shoot again
I am talking about the 3 new launches in my reply to you. You attributed the transformations you have quoted only to Katong, or more or less to TG and TC. Why? Simple as that.

abbakonghee

I am talking about the 3 new launches in my reply to you. You attributed the transformations you have quoted only to Katong, or more or less to TG and TC. Why? Simple as that.
Lol because I'm talking about these 3 condos only? Why not talk about Paya Lebar and also Bayshore? Why you need to probe why? Haha you think I'm a Chao agent?

ktyandkyc

More than ten at least but my ranking of the projects is the same as yours. The vibe at the continuum is not that near of TG and I view the separate land plot as cons rather than pros. My comfort level for 3 bedder is 957 sqft so quantum wise won't be cheap, especially if considering long term stay which then makes sense for trying continuum.

Are you planning to stay forever? (Or more than 15 years?)

If yes, continuum
If no, tembusu
Any views haha.

Anyway I think it's just about the intrinsic feelings and preference that one has to the area. No right or wrong!! The three projects are by itself very good imo.

LWZ

not vested in any of the upcoming projects, but just damn sian that the PCNs, F&B and malls I frequent in the area will become more crowded. :s13:

De SantaClaus

Not sure what kind of argument is this? Marine parade also have plenty of HDBs. Why don't buy there instead of TG and TC. Bigger and nearer to ECP.
The point made was "Very lugi, you are overpaying for Dakota location when BTO can get you one nearby"

I think it is about comparing with relatively new HDBs, ie those that was launched in recent years. Those Marine Parade HDBs are quite a lot older so probably it was out of the comparison. People generally prefer newer developments and the issue of lease decay also kicks in.

ktyandkyc

The point made was "Very lugi, you are overpaying for Dakota location when BTO can get you one nearby"

I think it is about comparing with relatively new HDBs, ie those that was launched in recent years. Those Marine Parade HDBs are quite a lot older so probably it was out of the comparison. People generally prefer newer developments and the issue of lease decay also kicks in.
Yupp in any case of cos hdb can't provide any so called quality of life compared to condo but the points were made that the ability to be able to move to the newer hdbs is a rather sensible point by itself. The difference is honestly only hdb versus condo while the same can't be said for TG or TC.

ktyandkyc

Yupp in any case of cos hdb can't provide any so called quality of life compared to condo but the points were made that the ability to be able to move to the newer hdbs is a rather sensible point by itself. The difference is honestly only hdb versus condo while the same can't be said for TG or TC.
Sorry wanted to add that GD by itself its awesome. Anyone that went to TC showflat without driving would prob have walked to Dakota and the walk is rather long. And the next stop is to makan at the famous old airport road. In fact I recalled after visiting TG showflat, the thing that kept me going was the Kway Chup at old airport lol.

But if u r at TC or TG, to go there to makan is quite mafan even though these projects are near to each other. The same applies to TC or GD when it comes to the proximity to ECP. The additional ten mins walk to reach TG before you can reach ECP can be 'daunting'. At the end of the day, it boils down to what is impt to yourself.

drkcynic

Well it's a moot point anyway. Got 15mths cool off period.

I just find it silly to use HDB to compare against condo. It's like saying why buy Panorama and Amo when you have plenty of AMK HDBs to choose from. Obviously the buyers didn't fancy the hdbs enough.

De SantaClaus

Well it's a moot point anyway. Got 15mths cool off period.

I just find it silly to use HDB to compare against condo. It's like saying why buy Panorama and Amo when you have plenty of AMK HDBs to choose from. Obviously the buyers didn't fancy the hdbs enough.
I suspect the reason why the new Dakota BTOs were brought up was a combination of GD’s appeal to HDB upgraders (MRT, hawker centre, popular school), it’s likely relatively unaffordable price tag of 26xx psf and TC/TG taking a larger share of buyers with private property addresses.

This makes sense in the context of HDB upgraders finding it more difficult to ‘upgrade’ as discussed in the BT article.
https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/op...o-upgrading-quest-has-become-more-challenging
I do think that GD will attract more investors with own stay considerations and singles. And may feature dual key units to stand out from TG/TC.

drkcynic

I suspect the reason why the new Dakota BTOs were brought up was a combination of GD’s appeal to HDB upgraders (MRT, hawker centre, popular school), it’s likely relatively unaffordable price tag of 26xx psf and TC/TG taking a larger share of buyers with private property addresses.

This makes sense in the context of HDB upgraders finding it more difficult to ‘upgrade’ as discussed in the BT article.
https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/op...o-upgrading-quest-has-become-more-challenging
I do think that GD will attract more investors with own stay considerations and singles. And may feature dual key units to stand out from TG/TC.
Actually HDB upgraders are unlikely to buy a new launch. Where do they stay in the meantime? They will more likely be the ones picking up from the owners upon TOP. Also at 2.5m quantum for the 3 bedders, there are alot of ready options for hdb upgraders. Don't think they will all in just to wait for TOP. So we can more or less take 90-95% of current HDB owners out of the equation.

The rest, will be investors, and private upgraders, kids with old money that forms the biggest pool of buyers.

MrGDebonair

Hello korkors, am currently holding TG unit. I am not an eastie myself but I used to go to Bournemouth road for piano lessons twice a week in the past so quite familiar with the area. I did not however realise that the Haig Road area near Paya Lebar is quite lup sup as I was walking in the area at night with my gf. Isn't that where TC is? Reminds me of Balestier v Novena lol (please don't hurt me).

Also, as TC will set a new price benchmark for D15, will be interesting to see where TG and TC fall below that. I don't think many of the older FH condos in the immediate vicinity will catch up in prices because they are usually small boutique developments, different products or in any case, cannot match the amenities provided by the new launches.

Re schools, don't know if anyone here has experience but, the second in priority for P1 admissions is if your house falls into the 1-2km radius from the school. Does anybody have experience with how much worse you fair in terms of chances versus the 1km radius kids? Say it's D15's best school, Tao Nan. How many primary school kids are there in a 1km of condos haha. Is it really as bad as people make it sound such that people scramble to buy houses just for that?

ktyandkyc

Hello korkors, am currently holding TG unit. I am not an eastie myself but I used to go to Bournemouth road for piano lessons twice a week in the past so quite familiar with the area. I did not however realise that the Haig Road area near Paya Lebar is quite lup sup as I was walking in the area at night with my gf. Isn't that where TC is? Reminds me of Balestier v Novena lol (please don't hurt me).

Also, as TC will set a new price benchmark for D15, will be interesting to see where TG and TC fall below that. I don't think many of the older FH condos in the immediate vicinity will catch up in prices because they are usually small boutique developments, different products or in any case, cannot match the amenities provided by the new launches.

Re schools, don't know if anyone here has experience but, the second in priority for P1 admissions is if your house falls into the 1-2km radius from the school. Does anybody have experience with how much worse you fair in terms of chances versus the 1km radius kids? Say it's D15's best school, Tao Nan. How many primary school kids are there in a 1km of condos haha. Is it really as bad as people make it sound such that people scramble to buy houses just for that?
Quick response to your schooling queries is that for Tao Nan, and even Kong Hwa, staying one metre away from these schs doesn guarantee you a chance unless you are an alumni. The same goes for the effect of St Nic at the Lentor area that while it does bring up the marketability of the housing there, the competition is real, especially with so many new properties there now and moving forward.

drkcynic

My nephew didn't get in for parent volunteer phase, less than 1km for Kong Hwa. I would imagine Taonan is the same. PV and less than 1km is still no guarantee of entry for these 2 schools.

ktyandkyc

My nephew didn't get in for parent volunteer phase, less than 1km for Kong Hwa. I would imagine Taonan is the same. PV and less than 1km is still no guarantee of entry for these 2 schools.
Wa .. I feel bad for the parents.. it's hard work and sacrifice for PV.....

De SantaClaus

Actually HDB upgraders are unlikely to buy a new launch. Where do they stay in the meantime? They will more likely be the ones picking up from the owners upon TOP. Also at 2.5m quantum for the 3 bedders, there are alot of ready options for hdb upgraders. Don't think they will all in just to wait for TOP. So we can more or less take 90-95% of current HDB owners out of the equation.

The rest, will be investors, and private upgraders, kids with old money that forms the biggest pool of buyers.
Miss the days where HDB upgraders actually form a substantial % of new launch buyers. In fact for some projects they form the majority! Like TAT & Florence.

Rental not so expensive then, and some even sell 1 buy 2 😂, and some YouTubers even claim to have invented sell 1 buy 2.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.