The Continuum

ktyandkyc

With the market still undersupplied and a lot of new launches concentrated here and in Lentor, I don’t think we need to be overly worried about possible oversupply. Maybe have to wait till 2H2023 GLS to reaffirm this

Who do you think will form the buyer pool for GD ? I can easily think of buyer pool for both TC & TG. But I’m still figuring out for GD.

I’m not convinced that this project will attract loads of HDB upgraders given the price. And there are so many condos in sg that is near transport & have affordable food options & within 1km of primary school. And much more affordable
For me I ranked GD as the last, there is another thread in edmw where the thread starter also ranked that way as the Dakota area is rly unlike TG area.

But I can see why people rank GD to be great as well but it is purely from attributes that's ain't related to Katong per se. PLB also ranked GD to the best .. if you looked at their video on Waterbanks I think which they were selling back then, the views of the south is amazing.

drkcynic

With the market still undersupplied and a lot of new launches concentrated here and in Lentor, I don’t think we need to be overly worried about possible oversupply. Maybe have to wait till 2H2023 GLS to reaffirm this

Who do you think will form the buyer pool for GD ? I can easily think of buyer pool for both TC & TG. But I’m still figuring out for GD.

I’m not convinced that this project will attract loads of HDB upgraders given the price. And there are so many condos in sg that is near transport & have affordable food options & within 1km of primary school. And much more affordable
I have a different view. After seeing the showflat for TC and TG, my thinking is why would people buy them is my question. If someone is to have grew up in D15, they belong to the "atas" crowd. They are used to landed, or homes with a more generous layout. Will they be happy with small tiny spaces on offer at TG and TC? Like I said, at the price points of TG and TC, there are much better offerings for own stay in D15 resale. There are plenty of nice resale FHs too, cheaper than TG and TC.

drkcynic

For me I ranked GD as the last, there is another thread in edmw where the thread starter also ranked that way as the Dakota area is rly unlike TG area.

But I can see why people rank GD to be great as well but it is purely from attributes that's ain't related to Katong per se. PLB also ranked GD to the best .. if you looked at their video on Waterbanks I think which they were selling back then, the views of the south is amazing.
I will buy GD over the other 2. The vibes there are nice. I have never been a Katong person. I nearly bought DR and Waterbank some years back. When i went for viewing, the wind and view from the landed side is great.

Another strong point imo is it's proximity to Kallang. GD will have cycling tracks all the way to Kallang and Tanjong Rhu to barrage to GBTB. I like the whole concept. I like the spaces, which you cannot find in TC and TG. My idea of the perfect D15 is the proximity to ECP, the nature, the spaces, not stuck in the middle of a highly busy area, far from mrts.

drkcynic

Ironically, that day when I took the train to the TC showflat, even the showflat is further than GD is to the mrt. I had to walk past the GD site enroute to the showflat. GD is really super near to the mrt. Maybe 2 mins tops.

I never knew HDB upgrader is a thing until lately. Can’t imagine family with kids have to sell their HDB and rent while waiting for construction. Not in our hdb genes to waste money on rent 😂

But one can never underestimate a parent’s tenacity in putting their kids into the right school. I have a friend who moved back with his family, family of 3 residing in his bedroom while waiting condo completion…..+ Covid delay- respect. Although resale alternative makes more sense. There’s waterina And other freehold near the area…

Young couples with future family planning in mind most likely. It hits all the checklist.. Good alternative of mindlessly waiting for a hdb ballot. Post Covid, the mentality in younger generation would be to enjoy life a little. A couples income on progressive payment should be more than suffice to cover this +dad/mums help.

I will buy GD over the other 2. The vibes there are nice. I have never been a Katong person. I nearly bought DR and Waterbank some years back. When i went for viewing, the wind and view from the landed side is great.

Another strong point imo is it's proximity to Kallang. GD will have cycling tracks all the way to Kallang and Tanjong Rhu to barrage to GBTB. I like the whole concept. I like the spaces, which you cannot find in TC and TG. My idea of the perfect D15 is the proximity to ECP, the nature, the spaces, not stuck in the middle of a highly busy area, far from mrts.
I hope it stays this way for you! My agent was in the car explaining to me how the empty plot of land around kallang airport are land parcel for hdb/future condo. so I’m more inclined to choosing a place with developments already fixed as opposed to risk losing what i buy over time.

Tbh, my relative who lives at the landed enclave first impression of TG was that it’s not “exclusive” enough unlike the entire Amber stretch, as mentioned by some here. But I think it has a character. The mishmash of tall condos against shop houses and landed enclave.

I find the Amber stretch like tiny New York. Walking down the street flanked by sky high condos- so I understand why you would prefer the space GD offers

if continuum had launch earlier, I may have actually gotten that if the price point is ok and a good ballot number. But atlas, 随缘.

De SantaClaus

I never knew HDB upgrader is a thing until lately. Can’t imagine family with kids have to sell their HDB and rent while waiting for construction. Not in our hdb genes to waste money on rent 😂

But one can never underestimate a parent’s tenacity in putting their kids into the right school. I have a friend who moved back with his family, family of 3 residing in his bedroom while waiting condo completion…..+ Covid delay- respect. Although resale alternative makes more sense. There’s waterina And other freehold near the area…

Young couples with future family planning in mind most likely. It hits all the checklist.. Good alternative of mindlessly waiting for a hdb ballot. Post Covid, the mentality in younger generation would be to enjoy life a little. A couples income on progressive payment should be more than suffice to cover this +dad/mums help.
In fact there are YouTubers who charge advisory fees to help HDB upgraders sell 1 buy 2. Such is the level of interest 😂

TG would also give the same balloting advantage as GD but at a lower cost. In fact, getting Affinity subsale at a lower cost can qualify 1 for Rosyth. Or a much cheaper alternative is Chongfu with NG.

I know of young couples who cannot qualify for EC going for Blossoms and/or the Lentor new launches. Blossoms is quite well liked cos near work place.

I think it’s a bad idea for young couples to stretch hard and settle for a 1b or 1+S or 2b1b here. They don’t qualify for EC yet do not have sufficient capital to go for the bigger layouts.

Perhaps for those investing with own stay considerations.

De SantaClaus

Oh but GD is right beside Dakota MRT 😞. I think it could be quite cramped because of the height restriction and high plot ratio.

U need a NP transplanted in D15 😂

Iridiumguy

Oh but GD is right beside Dakota MRT 😞. I think it could be quite cramped because of the height restriction and high plot ratio.

U need a NP transplanted in D15 😂
Wait 2030 when PLAB moves, height restrictions relaxed... I can foresee orchard height condos (full 36 floors) popping up.

In fact there are YouTubers who charge advisory fees to help HDB upgraders sell 1 buy 2. Such is the level of interest 😂

TG would also give the same balloting advantage as GD but at a lower cost. In fact, getting Affinity subsale at a lower cost can qualify 1 for Rosyth. Or a much cheaper alternative is Chongfu with NG.

I know of young couples who cannot qualify for EC going for Blossoms and/or the Lentor new launches. Blossoms is quite well liked cos near work place.

I think it’s a bad idea for young couples to stretch hard and settle for a 1b or 1+S or 2b1b here. They don’t qualify for EC yet do not have sufficient capital to go for the bigger layouts.

Perhaps for those investing with own stay considerations.

Or east singletons like myself who pay up for east side. Also the crowd will be for family who wants to live their parents who can provide family support for kids.

If you don’t like katong, buyers will have the perception of it’s like paying up for branded bags 😂 all for “face”.

i guess we will know what people are willing to pay up for when GD prices are out.

On the backdrop of banks on the run, I guess most buyers are being more cautious unless you really like East Coast/Katong you will wait. Not forgetting quite abit of Singaporeans investors maybe hurt by the AT1 bonds from CS.

once interest rates stop increasing or fall, it’s the condo uptake action that’s more interesting.

De SantaClaus

This thread in edmw (first post) provided a nice summary. Also echo-ed the predicted psfs at similar range provided by our gurus here!

Click here
Here no need jjww, I summarize for you all

Despite their pros and cons, these 3 katong projects projects still WAY WAY WAY better than all the low ses condos like lentor, telok kurau, dairy farm crap coming up. Those projects psf already 2000 for lousy location lol.

CondoProsCons
Tembusu Grand
99LH
~ $2465 psf
Best location amongst all 3 - heart of Katong
Closest to ECP
10 mins walk to MRT
Surrounded by 3 MRTs: Tanjong Katong (Brown), Dakota, Paya Lebar
638 units over 19567 m2 site = 30.6m2 per unit
2 Expressways: ECP/PIE
MCL/CDL developed
MSCP
Less lots than units
Can be heavy traffic
Dunmand Grand
99LH
~ ?$2600 psf
Closest to MRT
Surrounded by 2 MRTs: Dakota and Paya Lebar
Best traffic situation
1 Expressway: PIE
Actually it is more Dakota than Katong
Surrounded by Dakota HDBs
Worst land entitlement per unit: 1035 units over 25234 m2 site = 24m2 per unit
Tiong Singhaiyi Developer ewww
Continuum
FH
~ ?$2800-2900 psf
Nowhere close to any MRT
FREEHOLD
816 units over 25083 m2 site = 30.7m2 per unit
2 Expressways: ECP/PIE
Hoi Hup
Next to Haig Road HDBs and Haig Road Market (if you know the area, you know the situation there)
Nowhere close to any MRT
Can be heavy traffic
Two plots amalgamated with 1 public road thru it

Katong has the right ingredients for prices to pump further:
- on the ground a lot of rich north asians are moving in
- Katong is the heart of the [Historic East] identity corridor announced by URA (https://www.ura.gov.sg/Corporate/Pl...tion/Cherish/Loveable-City/Identity-Corridors) this means the whole area would likely be rejuvenated and huat huat over next 5 years
- Future Long Island plans (https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...could-have-reservoir-be-developed-for-housing) means meyer/amber condos will have view obstructed but Tanjong Katong never had views in the first place but will benefit from new amenities and redevelopment in Katong
- Relocation of PLQ: the entire geylang/katong will have huge enbloc potential due to height limit removal
- Katong for very long no mega launches already and probably these are the last 3 in a long while

Summary:
Personally i find Tembusu Grand > Continuum > Dunman Grand

Dunman Grand is really the worst to me. Very lugi, you are overpaying for Dakota location when BTO can get you one nearby. Singhaiyi developer.. Sigh. no way

Otherwise its a fight between Tembusu Grand and Continuum. If you got more money can top up to buy freehold then continuum, but personally i like location of Tembusu way better, and Tembusu way more easier to rent out next time for obvious reasons.

ps: I'm not a Chao agent, pls don't shoot me

I quoted @abbakonghee's post here. This got to be the best table summary. I also agree on the indicative prices he shared.

Assuming the indicative prices, which are likely market prices for their specific areas, and strictly in terms of near-term capital appreciation, i will go for TG>TC>GD. Of course, things will change if the actual pricing is lower than expected !

To summarise, do you want:
  • Near East Coast Park (TG)
  • Near MRT (DG)
  • Freehold (TC)
Imo, in D15, I will prefer near ECP. This is the USP of D15.

With regards to DG, he made a really interesting point - why not get one of those newer Dakota HDB when it MOPs ? If what matters the most to the buyer is near MRT, near Hawker Centre/affordable food, within 1km of Primary school, there are loads of affordable HDB options available. No point paying 1-2m more just to stay in a condo and rarely use the facilities.

abbakonghee

I quoted @abbakonghee's post here. This got to be the best table summary. I also agree on the indicative prices he shared.

Assuming the indicative prices, which are likely market prices for their specific areas, and strictly in terms of near-term capital appreciation, i will go for TG>TC>GD. Of course, things will change if the actual pricing is lower than expected !

• Near MRT (DG)
  • Freehold (TC)
But people scold me property agents/developer lolol.

Aiya the best location in d15, if you want to buy is close to ecp! That's why people liken d15 to "east coast!"

abbakonghee

Imho tembusu > continuum> Dunman grand

But still these 3 way better than all the other condos.. walao lousy location already 2k psf.. these 3 above cheap cheap la.

$2500 in d15 (note: Katong, not joochiat/still road/telok kurau) considered damn cheap. Price low cus I think dev scared recession/interest rates. the Katong neighborhood will stand to gain from paya lebar airbase / east coast island / and Katong heritage transformation.. all these from govt planning and master plan.

Just come back to this thread 5 years later and look at the price again

Dyod. I'm not a Chao agent

ktyandkyc

But still these 3 way better than all the other condos.. walao lousy location already 2k psf.. these 3 above cheap cheap la.

$2500 in d15 (note: Katong, not joochiat/still road/telok kurau) considered damn cheap. Price low cus I think dev scared recession/interest rates. the Katong neighborhood will stand to gain from paya lebar airbase / east coast island / and Katong heritage transformation.. all these from govt planning and master plan.

• Near MRT (DG)
  • Freehold (TC)

With regards to DG, he made a really interesting point - why not get one of those newer Dakota HDB when it MOPs ? If what matters the most to the buyer is near MRT, near Hawker Centre/affordable food, within 1km of Primary school, there are loads of affordable HDB options available. No point paying 1-2m more just to stay in a condo and rarely use the facilities.
After reading all these posts, I placed a cheque for fighting chance for continuum but may I ask for your opinion regarding tembusu grand? Was in a dilemma to choose a 3 bedder between 13-19 (north facing further GLS hence blocked views) and 18-30 (south facing upcoming July GLS and hence also blocked views also). But stack 30 moved faster than 19 during new launch maybe because of some slight views?

18-30 oredi 25xx while 13-19 maybe 245x

abbakonghee

After reading all these posts, I placed a cheque for fighting chance for continuum but may I ask for your opinion regarding tembusu grand? Was in a dilemma to choose a 3 bedder between 13-19 (north facing further GLS hence blocked views) and 18-30 (south facing upcoming July GLS and hence also blocked views also). But stack 30 moved faster than 19 during new launch maybe because of some slight views?

18-30 oredi 25xx while 13-19 maybe 245x
Are you planning to stay forever? (Or more than 15 years?)

If yes, continuum
If no, tembusu

ktyandkyc

Are you planning to stay forever? (Or more than 15 years?)

If yes, continuum
If no, tembusu
More than ten at least but my ranking of the projects is the same as yours. The vibe at the continuum is not that near of TG and I view the separate land plot as cons rather than pros. My comfort level for 3 bedder is 957 sqft so quantum wise won't be cheap, especially if considering long term stay which then makes sense for trying continuum.

drkcynic

• Near MRT (DG)
  • Freehold (TC)

Not sure what kind of argument is this? Marine parade also have plenty of HDBs. Why don't buy there instead of TG and TC. Bigger and nearer to ECP.

drkcynic

You from the East? Your comments sounds like Katong area is the ONLY place that will stand to benefit from the transformation. I even know some people who insist D15 is "town"...

At the end of the day, let's be objective. TG, TC, GD are in a triangle, maybe barely 1km or less from each other. They are in the same district. Everybody has got their own preference, which is fair enough. But to link Paya lebar airbase to Katong area is abit of a stretch. There are at least 3 townships that is closer to Paya lebar airbase than Katong.

googoogaga

Not sure what kind of argument is this? Marine parade also have plenty of HDBs. Why don't buy there instead of TG and TC. Bigger and nearer to ECP.
Marine parade HDB is very good. Sea view. Walkable to beach. Mall and amenities nearby. Upcoming MRT at doorstep. Good schools nearby. No downside except for age.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.