The DJI Spark Thread

Quadcopter

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...rone-use-in-singapore-to-ensure-public-safety

For a moment I thought that one north can go play drone there.. Only to realize that drone estate does not mean drone park :(

And got nparks person demo using small drone to check on a tree... Dunno what drone that is as video quality is kns

https://youtu.be/OPLey3Qzlyo

can someone quickly go feedback to CAAS? CAAS is collecting feedback from public now. i think the western countries like canada/USA got some exemptions for smaller drone <250g... :D

http://www.droneguru.net/canadian-drone-laws/

if CAAS here gives exemption or less restrictions to <250g drones, I will immediately change to flying 200g Zerotech Dobby. Anyway I seldom fly my drone >30m away from me. :s13:

Nemesismaster

I found out that the prop Guards are designed to be install on certain arms not 1 size fits all. Have to use the white marked guard on the white dot arm! Found out by the hard way when I try to take out the wrongly installed guard, 1 of the lcd cover broke and came off with the guard (T___T)

Another sad incident happened also today. When I was flying indoor instead of hovering at a place it just drift to the side and I cannot seems to control with the remote and my spark hit the wall and drop on the ground with battery came off. The wind has cut marks....my spark is only 2 day old

My friends over here hope u guys learned from my sad lessons

assuming the maximum flight time is 16 minutes, what should be the memory card capacity for full 16 minutes of video recording? or full 16 minutes of photo taking?

Quadcopter

I found out that the prop Guards are designed to be install on certain arms not 1 size fits all. Have to use the white marked guard on the white dot arm! Found out by the hard way when I try to take out the wrongly installed guard, 1 of the lcd cover broke and came off with the guard (T___T)

Another sad incident happened also today. When I was flying indoor instead of hovering at a place it just drift to the side and I cannot seems to control with the remote and my spark hit the wall and drop on the ground with battery came off. The wind has cut marks....my spark is only 2 day old

propeller guard S$6+ for 4pcs.
https://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/4pcs-Qu...e=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649

scratches is nothing. drone will have scars everywhere but die die must always protect the camera lens.

most important thing is make sure you don't get injured by the drone. make sure propellers guard put on when you do any simple testing indoor. and watch out it could be something wrong with your spark as it should be very stable indoor with the optical positioning (unless too dim environment, floor too reflective, or hover at too low altitude of <0.5m)

Safety first! ;)

Quadcopter

assuming the maximum flight time is 16 minutes, what should be the memory card capacity for full 16 minutes of video recording? or full 16 minutes of photo taking?

about 3MBytes per second. or bitrate at 24Mbps. I do not remember I could set the encoding bitrate on Spark. 24Mbps bitrate for 1080p is very good video quality. 16min will need 4GB MicroSD. I do not think you could fly full 16min. 12min more realistic. You go fly until empty battery would be dangerous to others, like that guy crashing his mavic onto Sengkang LRT... :(

thanks! i am assuming that is on the best possible setting? just trying to estimate the capacity needed for memory card.

Xperia17

Aiyoh... Yeh the guards have that white marker, can only be fixed onto the blades with the white markers only. I didn't know about it initially but I learned it from YouTube on 10 things to look out for when u first purchase a spark (and I broke two rules... Flying without guard and flying indoors... Too excited)

went to see the video :D

Here's a list of things to do 'Before You Fly'

1) Make sure nothing is missing or damaged
2) Fully charge the batteries and remote before use
3) Download the latest DJI app for your device
4) Write down your Spark and remote wifi and password
5) Connect your device to the Spark
6) Connect the remote control and link to the Spark
7) Fix the wifi disconnect issue with a cable
8) Calibrate the IMU before first flight
9) Make sure you install your memory card
10) Use prop guards if you are new to flying

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CuACnyi-l-k

Quadcopter

thanks! i am assuming that is on the best possible setting? just trying to estimate the capacity needed for memory card.

i'm very noob on camera so i used all the default setting. Spark is also having much less camera setting as compared to mavic. I'm using a 16GB card and is still not filled up yet. Seldom fly my spark, less than 10 times brought it out.

Your handphone will need some space also. It seems like under DJI GO 4 (dji.go.v4/DJI_RECORD), your handphone is also recording another copy of the video at the same time in 720p? I've not dig out the videos inside my handphone yet, but handphone's copy looks smoother. :s13:

after hwzlite received his spark, he will dig+search the spark drone upside down. he will be our expert here and you will have all your questions answered... :s42:

:D

Xperia17

went to see the video :D

Here's a list of things to do 'Before You Fly'

1) Make sure nothing is missing or damaged
2) Fully charge the batteries and remote before use
3) Download the latest DJI app for your device
4) Write down your Spark and remote wifi and password
5) Connect your device to the Spark
6) Connect the remote control and link to the Spark
7) Fix the wifi disconnect issue with a cable
8) Calibrate the IMU before first flight
9) Make sure you install your memory card
10) Use prop guards if you are new to flying

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CuACnyi-l-k

Yup I followed his video too (but got stuck somewhere... Think his video is very useful but a little outdated liao)... But at least it was straightforward (not like those full of background music and blah blah blah)

Xperia17

i'm very noob on camera so i used all the default setting. Spark is also having much less camera setting as compared to mavic. I'm using a 16GB card and is still not filled up yet. Seldom fly my spark, less than 10 times brought it out.

Your handphone will need some space also. It seems like under DJI GO 4 (dji.go.v4/DJI_RECORD), your handphone is also recording another copy of the video at the same time in 720p? I've not dig out the videos inside my handphone yet, but handphone's copy looks smoother. :s13:

after hwzlite received his spark, he will dig+search the spark drone upside down. he will be our expert here and you will have all your questions answered... :s42:

My phone video was slightly worse than the one recorded onto the SD card on the drone. Guess one good point abt the video copy on the phone is that it can record sound.

dreamer_toons

Are you referring the Prop Guards to the Propeller Guards?

I didn't see any white markers on my guards and manage to install them the other time. Maybe I'm just plain lucky to install them correctly without seeing the markers :s13:???

Yes, there is a video cache in our phone and there is a setting to limit the cache size and to delete this cache in the Apps setting.

blade81

Sianz that the minute u post video, people will say u fly in NFZ... etc. I can understand the sensitivity if u fly near very sensitive areas like Mr Kim's palace but... Youtube too many vigilantes liao

Please be a responsible pilot. You jolly well know you are not to fly in NFZ unless you apply for permit and CAAS approves it.

but no, u ignore the fact its a NFZ and fly there. more incomprehensible is the decision to post on youtube.
receives backlash from the community. still kpkb about it? com'on don't ruin the hobby for others because of your own selfishness.

if I am selfish like you, I would be flying my racing drones in highly populated HDB area, performing dangerous crazy maneuvers and risk crashing into people. do you think that is right?

all we need is one incident just like the e-scooter cases where someone gets hurt, and CAAS will have regulation so strict that will very likely kill our hobby for good.

Xperia17

Please be a responsible pilot. You jolly well know you are not to fly in NFZ unless you apply for permit and CAAS approves it.

but no, u ignore the fact its a NFZ and fly there. more incomprehensible is the decision to post on youtube.
receives backlash from the community. still kpkb about it? com'on don't ruin the hobby for others because of your own selfishness.

if I am selfish like you, I would be flying my racing drones in highly populated HDB area, performing dangerous crazy maneuvers and risk crashing into people. do you think that is right?

all we need is one incident just like the e-scooter cases where someone gets hurt, and CAAS will have regulation so strict that will very likely kill our hobby for good.

Cool it bro, please refrain from calling me or anyone here irresponsible or assuming that I did fly in NFZ

I believe many of us here are just very excited and enthusiastic about flying, but pls don't go to the extend of naming me as irresponsible when I have never flown in a NFZ. I know that u are concerned bro, but pls don't turn this messages here into one for scolding people. Not nice lah.

Quadcopter

Cool it bro, please refrain from calling me or anyone here irresponsible or assuming that I did fly in NFZ

I believe many of us here are just very excited and enthusiastic about flying, but pls don't go to the extend of naming me as irresponsible when I have never flown in a NFZ. I know that u are concerned bro, but pls don't turn this messages here into one for scolding people. Not nice lah.

no worry, not big issue, I flew drones with Blade81 sometimes. He can't be that bad.

Will look for Blade81 to fly drones again when I tune GPS on my 5" quad. Drone had been left as GPS done half-way since Chinese New Year... :D

I also wanna look for hwzlite the next time I fly drone at Kallang. His Kallang is the best location on this island for drone flying.... :s13:

all friends friends here, don't fight.... have fun with drones!!... ;)

blade81

Im not out to scold people. I dont want people to ruin the hobby for the rest of us. All we need is caas to gather enough statistic that many people flying in nfz or one idiot to crash into human. that make onto news and caas will come down hard on all of us.
People who will break laws wouldnt care much anyway
People like me who abide laws will have problem flying anymore.
And your comments about youtube vigilante sure sounds like u are supporting to fly in nfz

Xperia17

Im not out to scold people. I dont want people to ruin the hobby for the rest of us. All we need is caas to gather enough statistic that many people flying in nfz or one idiot to crash into human. that make onto news and caas will come down hard on all of us.
People who will break laws wouldnt care much anyway
People like me who abide laws will have problem flying anymore.
And your comments about youtube vigilante sure sounds like u are supporting to fly in nfz

Bro, my sincere apologies then; intention was never to put down folks whose real intent is safety and fun for all. My mistake.

No bad intend but thks for the clarification.... Also hoping that govt can provide more clarity and also locations (signs saying "recreational drones allowed") about where we can fly our drones without getting anyone into any trouble. The locations as suggested in ST is just too little (marina barrage area, somewhere near Holland, and another patch near bukit Timah area I think?)

blade81

no worry, not big issue, I flew drones with Blade81 sometimes. He can't be that bad.

Will look for Blade81 to fly drones again when I tune GPS on my 5" quad. Drone had been left as GPS done half-way since Chinese New Year... :D

I also wanna look for hwzlite the next time I fly drone at Kallang. His Kallang is the best location on this island for drone flying.... :s13:

all friends friends here, don't fight.... have fun with drones!!... ;)

Maybe im that bad leh. Anyway i tested gps module on 5 inch. Gps hold brought it to holland and crash into mud. The module has been discarded for good. Erratic drone behavior is worst than without having a rth function
Bro, my sincere apologies then; intention was never to put down folks whose real intent is safety and fun for all. My mistake.

No bad intend but thks for the clarification.... Also hoping that govt can provide more clarity and also locations (signs saying "recreational drones allowed") about where we can fly our drones without getting anyone into any trouble. The locations as suggested in ST is just too little (marina barrage area, somewhere near Holland, and another patch near bukit Timah area I think?)

Singapore indeed dont have much places to fly, especially for you guys who fly dji stuff for beautiful scenery video taking. With most of the parks become nfz recently makes it worst. But despite that, breaking the law in my opinion makes it worst, especially if someone gets complain or get caught. Ppl are doing it, but thy dont publish what they do. Like what we learn in army, u can do anything but do get caught. Putting a video is asking for it isnt it. Caas is asking for feedback recrntly. If u can go give some feedback it would be good

Quadcopter

Maybe im that bad leh. Anyway i tested gps module on 5 inch. Gps hold brought it to holland and crash into mud. The module has been discarded for good. Erratic drone behavior is worst than without having a rth function

what firmware you tried on? your GPS got compass?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.