The DJI Spark Thread

africatwin

By right if flying in open at night, it should not crash for no reason.

Just need to be familiar with the surrounding when flying.

I ever hit a power cable while filming in JB kampung, it manage to stabilize after a few seconds. This happened in the daytime, so when one is not careful it can crash even in the day.

Nemesismaster

By right if flying in open at night, it should not crash for no reason.

Just need to be familiar with the surrounding when flying.

I ever hit a power cable while filming in JB kampung, it manage to stabilize after a few seconds. This happened in the daytime, so when one is not careful it can crash even in the day.

Day or night doesn’t matter. It’s only no gps lock or no vision that kills. Drone might fly in a way that is uncontrollable or little respond to control. It also will not hover!

intoxicatemyass

Anybody interested in flying drones at west coast park this Saturday morning? Can please PM me? Sorry, I cannot PM+Invite each and everyone here.

Note that I do not know if NPB has a "no-fly" sign at West Coast park. Neither I can ensure your drone will not drop into the sea or crash into pieces there. And also there is not much view at West Coast Park except some dirty shipyard there. And let's hope no rain on Saturday morning. :D

What time?

Xperia17

Was trying the selfie thingy earlier, and failed. After checking a few blogs and websites I came across this:
"make sure you have enabled gesture control in the app before you start."

I thought I could just grab the spark and use the gesture thingy without having to bring along the phone and controller and change any settings.

Looked like a fool earlier pressing the rear of a non responsive drone :(

africatwin

Was trying the selfie thingy earlier, and failed. After checking a few blogs and websites I came across this:
"make sure you have enabled gesture control in the app before you start."

I thought I could just grab the spark and use the gesture thingy without having to bring along the phone and controller and change any settings.

Looked like a fool earlier pressing the rear of a non responsive drone :(

You can use it without remote n phone. But it is not easy. I had a hard time retrieving it using purely gesture. So it is safer to use at least with hp and better still with remote.

hwzlite

#shameLessPlug#

My first amateurish flight video from Yellow Sparky: =:p

Xperia17

You can use it without remote n phone. But it is not easy. I had a hard time retrieving it using purely gesture. So it is safer to use at least with hp and better still with remote.
Think will not bother with the hand gesture thing for now... Prefer to just fly and video with remote and phone, and then just take pic or video without the hand gestures. That day I tried, and it worked a bit but kena the gimbal message "gimbal motor overload"... Batt was low so I stopped.

Xperia17

#shameLessPlug#

My first amateurish flight video from Yellow Sparky: =:p

Nice video! Wah I wish I had the guts to do that.... Always fearful of sparky suddenly lose connection or strong wind (I flew 30m up today before the storm came and in just 10s it moved by about 10m...and batt dropped from 60% when ascending to just 30%...had to quickly descend down with strong wind... Scary sia)

Also, I do suggest u be careful cos I think some parts of the video shows u flying directly over people (which is not allowed in case the drone kamikaze). Generally NParks do not allow drones in most of their parks, but this one I not sure. I think as long as u don't fly too close to people or over them, it should be fine. Maybe u should edit out the parts that u flew over the bridge, in case your video kena single out? Just my friendly advise lah:)

And nice work disturbing those teen couples... Nearly caught them doing PDF :)

hwzlite

Nice video! Wah I wish I had the guts to do that.... Always fearful of sparky suddenly lose connection or strong wind (I flew 30m up today before the storm came and in just 10s it moved by about 10m...and batt dropped from 60% when ascending to just 30%...had to quickly descend down with strong wind... Scary sia)

Also, I do suggest u be careful cos I think some parts of the video shows u flying directly over people (which is not allowed in case the drone kamikaze). Generally NParks do not allow drones in most of their parks, but this one I not sure. I think as long as u don't fly too close to people or over them, it should be fine. Maybe u should edit out the parts that u flew over the bridge, in case your video kena single out? Just my friendly advise lah:)

And nice work disturbing those teen couples... Nearly caught them doing PDF :)

Yeah, indeed flying a drone for fun is becoming overly complicated! No one 101% is absolutely sure they abide by the law every time even if they want to.Apply common sense and blame Murphy law :s22:

My Mitigation Protocols:
- Regimental Pre-flight check , even everytime do a la-compass-calibration-dance.
- Weather/ SA stats / NFZ / NoFlySigns check , assist with Airmap & UAV Forecast appz , taking consideration with head/tail/cross winds, esp @60m height.
- Minimize coverage paths esp flying over ppl/crowd/zombies/properties, inevitable dilemma.... :)

blade81

its all because of the damn rules... some are necessary but most just don't make sense. if the drones rules change for better, I would build a 7inch GPS drone and cruise kilometers out!:s13:

that would be freaking awesome

Quadcopter

Anybody interested in flying drones at west coast park this Saturday morning? Can please PM me? Sorry, I cannot PM+Invite each and everyone here.

Note that I do not know if NPB has a "no-fly" sign at West Coast park. Neither I can ensure your drone will not drop into the sea or crash into pieces there. And also there is not much view at West Coast Park except some dirty shipyard there. And let's hope no rain on Saturday morning. :D

Anybody interested in flying drones at west coast park this Saturday morning? Can please PM me? Sorry, I cannot PM+Invite each and everyone here. Last Saturday ended at Pandan Reservoir instead.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8N5Z4qgn7e0

and, Where is hwzlite, our Spark expert? Help!!

My Spark camera gimbal does not perform stabilizing on roll movement.

- If Spark hovers in the air, no movement and wobbles due to wind, Gimbal performs stabilizing for both Pitch and Roll.
- If Spark moves forwards or backwards, Gimbal performs Pitch stabilizing and camera tilt is always correct.
- If Spark moves sideways, Gimbal does not want to perform Roll stabilizing. This one got any setting or fix? :(

Xperia17

Yeah, indeed flying a drone for fun is becoming overly complicated! No one 101% is absolutely sure they abide by the law every time even if they want to.Apply common sense and blame Murphy law :s22:

My Mitigation Protocols:
- Regimental Pre-flight check , even everytime do a la-compass-calibration-dance.
- Weather/ SA stats / NFZ / NoFlySigns check , assist with Airmap & UAV Forecast appz , taking consideration with head/tail/cross winds, esp @60m height.
- Minimize coverage paths esp flying over ppl/crowd/zombies/properties, inevitable dilemma.... :)

Most of us here just wanna have a good time with family or by ourselves flying our small drones... Quite sianz to think twice about flying a drone and whether will kenna complain or not... That is why so far I did not post any videos but just pics... And even so I refrained from saying anything that suggest that a drone took the pic. Just keeping to the rules and laws.
Hopefully no more of that mavic-landing-on-mrt incident anymore.

blade81

Anybody interested in flying drones at west coast park this Saturday morning? Can please PM me? Sorry, I cannot PM+Invite each and everyone here. Last Saturday ended at Pandan Reservoir instead.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8N5Z4qgn7e0

and, Where is hwzlite, our Spark expert? Help!!

My Spark camera gimbal does not perform stabilizing on roll movement.

- If Spark hovers in the air, no movement and wobbles due to wind, Gimbal performs stabilizing for both Pitch and Roll.
- If Spark moves forwards or backwards, Gimbal performs Pitch stabilizing and camera tilt is always correct.
- If Spark moves sideways, Gimbal does not want to perform Roll stabilizing. This one got any setting or fix? :(

west coast park can fly racing drone or not?=:p

hwzlite

Hmmm.....did u set Gimbal to "Follow" rather then "FPV" mode ?
Sport mode will also overwrites to "FPV" mode too.

035244rnlur9zplll6jm7l.png

hwzlite

Xperia17

Me too just ordered the sunnylife hood... Will test it and update anyone who is interested. I tried the PGY quick release legs... Had to apply some force to put them on, and my fingernails nearly came off when trying to remove them. And it left a little bit of scar marks on sparky... Will be more of such marks if one puts it on and remove. And it has some sharp edges that need filing. Not cheap, looks good but bad design.

Will try the spring legs one in a moment

Quadcopter

west coast park can fly racing drone or not?=:p

West coast park not a good place for racing drone or video drone. Too crowded during weekend and terrible view.

One day when I'm free I will go check north of Kranji Reservoir. It is outside Tengah NFZ and outside Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve. That seaside should be nobody around, no HDB, no shipyard, no 2.4G interference. It is full of greenery, can fly out the sea and opposite is M'sia Danga Bay. That type of place then could give you that "freedom feeling" when flying. My 5" racer with single-axis gimbal is built for this. Will let you know after I checked if can fly drones there. May be is better than marina barrage.

Just bought a 1/10 truck from HobbyKing. Might want to switch to bashing RC trucks if too much constraints on drones flying. :(

btw: I'm getting some 350mAh 1S from Taobao and test shipping with sgshop. Let me know if you want some batteries.

:s8:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.