The Drone Thread

losthope00

Quadcopter

Oh ok. Thanks. Actually I’m new to it. Wondering if dji tello good? Wanting to get this.

Tello is tiny, handy and safer. It has optical positioning making it very easy to be controlled by beginners. Tello will stay at the same spot in the air if you do nothing. But note that this crap drone cannot fly >5m away from you, and cannot fly higher than 5m altitude. I got my 2nd set from Hachi at S$149.

Hovered a tello at Bt Panjang Market for few minutes, nobody noticed there was a drone up there. Tello is tiny.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y6xTXWpaON8

If still in doubt, then get a DJI Spark, it cannot go wrong except Spark is expensive.

:s8:

losthope00

Thanks. Actually waiting for my dji mavic pro just that I read this thread people said it’s best for beginners to get cheaper drone to try first. So I tot to try while waiting for my dji. Totally Rockie here.

Tello is tiny, handy and safer. It has optical positioning making it very easy to be controlled by beginners. Tello will stay at the same spot in the air if you do nothing. But note that this crap drone cannot fly >5m away from you, and cannot fly higher than 5m altitude. I got my 2nd set from Hachi at S$149.

Hovered a tello at Bt Panjang Market for few minutes, nobody noticed there was a drone up there. Tello is tiny.

If still in doubt, then get a DJI Spark, it cannot go wrong except Spark is expensive.

Quadcopter

Thanks. Actually waiting for my dji mavic pro just that I read this thread people said it’s best for beginners to get cheaper drone to try first. So I tot to try while waiting for my dji. Totally Rockie here.
Hi, Cannot go wrong with a mavic, and not much point to get a tello if you already bought mavic. I would suggest beginners should go with cheap drones first as mavic/spark could easily become white elephant if later seldom flying it, or later found out what you like is racing drones and not aerial photography drones.

Have fun flying your mavic! :)

losthope00

Oh I see your point and I too hope I’ll carry on with it. Any idea if you guys meet up and play drone together? I’m learning it via YouTube actually.

Hi, Cannot go wrong with a mavic, and not much point to get a tello if you already bought mavic. I would suggest beginners should go with cheap drones first as mavic/spark could easily become white elephant if later seldom flying it, or later found out what you like is racing drones and not aerial photography drones.

Have fun flying your mavic! :)

Quadcopter

Oh I see your point and I too hope I’ll carry on with it. Any idea if you guys meet up and play drone together? I’m learning it via YouTube actually.

phantom/mavic/spark are stable and easy to fly. first time flying watch out for safety first. find somewhere no people, don't push the drone to near flat battery.

if you want to look for me, it will be very far corner at cck or bt. panjang area... :D

weixiang80

can fly indoor? apartment?

Quadcopter

can fly indoor? apartment?

ya, tello's optical positioning somehow is still able to locked on to my half reflective tiles flooring.

This drone is good for indoor, selfie, party and simpler social media clips.

Note that optical positioning is something quite similar to your desktop mouse with a downward pointing camera. and it does not work properly at altitude >5m, above water surface, or dim environment.

;)

weixiang80

ya, tello's optical positioning somehow is still able to locked on to my half reflective tiles flooring.

Note that optical positioning is something quite similar to your desktop mouse with a downward pointing camera. and it does not work properly at altitude >5m, above water surface, or dim environment.

;)

ohhh optical positioning, thats why is 5m range....
dunno if the height is good for taking soccer footages.

May i ask more?
- About the battery life, how long can one charge last?
- About memory, how long can it record?

Thanks so much!

Quadcopter

ohhh optical positioning, thats why is 5m range....
dunno if the height is good for taking soccer footages.

May i ask more?
- About the battery life, how long can one charge last?
- About memory, how long can it record?

Thanks so much!

think soccer footage needs go get a proper DJI Spark/Mavic/Phantom or Xiaomi Mi Drone 4K lah... Those can last up to 30min in the air

this crap tello the most only useful for street soccer, and it might even drop frame at your very exciting "GOAL!!"... :s13:

tello is 13min flight, video recorded onto handphone so unlimited size/length but will have drop frames due to Wifi communication problems.

;)

weixiang80

think soccer footage needs go get a proper DJI Spark/Mavic/Phantom or Xiaomi Mi Drone 4K lah... Those can last up to 30min in the air

this crap tello the most only useful for street soccer, and it might even drop frame at your very exciting "GOAL!!"... :s13:

tello is 13min flight, video recorded onto handphone so unlimited size/length but will have drop frames due to Wifi communication problems.

;)

Wooooooo 13 mins is good enough for casual flights at home liao, may try try soon :)

thanks!

Quadcopter

Wooooooo 13 mins is good enough for casual flights at home liao, may try try soon :)

thanks!

Tello is S$150, buy Tello for the purpose of cheap and fun. Tello is good for selfie, social media clips and beginners' learning curve. But this cheap drone is unable to produce that perfect quality video (until next Tello version or Tello clones putting a MicroSD slot onto drone). I find this drone very handy and good quality for selfie photos, and it takes <30s to start hovering in the air.

If after using Tello and you think drones are good for capturing your precious moments, may be you can buy a mavic air for your soccer video shooting. Tello is 1/10 the price of mavic air, and mavic air cannot fly inside your apartment. Use Tello as learning curve to find out which S$1-2K drones would be best for you ultimately.

Mavic air has very powerful CPU, you can set the camera tracking your soccer ball, meaning the camera will keep pointing to soccer ball automatically. If soccer ball is too fast for tracking, may be you can set the camera tracking one of the players running around. Come back and tell us how good mavic air is after you played with it. That could be some lame excuse for me to buy a mavic air. I'm still very refuse to get a mavic air. :s13:

:D

jjchsg

It seems that NPark has updated their policy related to drones. Now it is :

"Look out for 'No Flying' signs in our parks and Nature Reserves. The flying of drones is allowed in most parks except for those areas which are designated as 'No Flying' zones by signs, e.g in the Singapore Botanic Gardens and the Nature Reserves. For the safety of others and to protect our biodiversity, please fly your drones in a safe and responsible manner (see CAAS' website for more information)."

I know that all Nature Reserves cannot fly. But in the other parks, do you know which has the "No Flying" sign?

Quadcopter

It seems that NPark has updated their policy related to drones. Now it is :

"Look out for 'No Flying' signs in our parks and Nature Reserves. The flying of drones is allowed in most parks except for those areas which are designated as 'No Flying' zones by signs, e.g in the Singapore Botanic Gardens and the Nature Reserves. For the safety of others and to protect our biodiversity, please fly your drones in a safe and responsible manner (see CAAS' website for more information)."

I know that all Nature Reserves cannot fly. But in the other parks, do you know which has the "No Flying" sign?

with "no-drone-flying" signs
CCK Park, Limbang Park, Little Guilin, Bt Batok nature park,
S'pore Quarry Park, Lower Seletar Reservoir, Bedok Reservoir
(For lower seletar reservoir I do not understand if the sign is for
that fishing platform only or for whole park)

without "no-drone-flying" signs, Or did not see any previously
Bt Panjang Park, Petir Park, West Coast Park, Pandang Reservoir,
Labrador park, Jurong Lake (Or Lakeside, but west part is under NFZ)

without "no-drone-flying" signs, but believe akan datang
Pasir Ris park/beach

Other places have not tried yet.... i believe NPB is following CAAS's NFZ
forumers please help add to the list, if you know...

losthope00

Actually wanting to try in these places for try out once I got my Dji
Labrador Park, Hort Park and Queenstown.

Wonder anyone will be there maybe can learn from you guys.

with "no-drone-flying" signs
CCK Park, Limbang Park, Little Guilin, Bt Batok nature park,
S'pore Quarry Park, Lower Seletar Reservoir, Bedok Reservoir
(For lower seletar reservoir I do not understand if the sign is for
that fishing platform only or for whole park)

without "no-drone-flying" signs, Or did not see any previously
Bt Panjang Park, Petir Park, West Coast Park, Pandang Reservoir,
Labrador park, Jurong Lake (Or Lakeside, but west part is under NFZ)

without "no-drone-flying" signs, but believe akan datang
Pasir Ris park/beach

Other places have not tried yet.... i believe NPB is following CAAS's NFZ
forumers please help add to the list, if you know...

Quadcopter

Actually wanting to try in these places for try out once I got my Dji
Labrador Park, Hort Park and Queenstown.

Wonder anyone will be there maybe can learn from you guys.

umm,.... go fly your mavic pro :s8:
from labrador park to bt chermin boardwalk, to keppel marina should be very shiok! (cable car is NFZ)
from queenstown fly along PCN cutting through dawson, until alexandra canal should be very shiok!

Hort Park need selfie drone
Telok Blangah Terrace Garden, Henderson Wave Bridge, Faber Pt could overshot 60m AMSL and better just fly selfie drones....

remember to come back and show us how shiok that was... :D

weixiang80

;)

Morning!

If i fly the tello out of a 10th storey window, will it just drop ?
or only the optical position wont work but still able to manually control?

Quadcopter

Morning!

If i fly the tello out of a 10th storey window, will it just drop ?
or only the optical position wont work but still able to manually control?

If you suddenly fly Tello out through 10th floor window, it will not crash down. Sudden change of it's IR distance detected will only cause it to drop few feet. My guess only hor, I won't go try that, If you crash your tello don't come and try kill me... :s13:

Tello has barometer for altitude control, meaning it can stay at certain altitude by itself. But at >5m, the horizontal positioning will not work, you need to manually control it like a normal altitude hold drone. Tello will drift like a cheap drone when optical positioning is not functioning.

It seems like the video image stabilizing is not working when optical positioning is out of range, meaning the video recorded will be jumping/shaky. You have to try it out as I seldom fly >5m altitude.
Selfie photos taking can be performed at any altitude.

You are looking too much at the spec. It reality, whether you get a phantom, mavic or tello, a lot of things don't work as advertised. For e.g, Tiny Tello likely cannot handle the wind at 10 floor height.

i'm using 2 tiny drones, Tello (optical positioning) for low altitude video and selfie. C-Me (GPS positioning) for higher altitude selfie. C-Me does not have image stabilizing and GPS positioning has another set of crappy problems. you want better one? buy expensive spark (Both optical and GPS positioning),.... but is a bit too big for indoor.... :s13:

my suggestion => get a cheap Tello, play and understand drones limitation, then figure out if you want to advance more, what you can do next.... don't think too much, just play!! ;)

have fun with drone flying!!... :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.