The Drone Thread

weixiang80

If you suddenly fly Tello out through 10th floor window, it will not crash down. Sudden change of it's IR distance detected will only cause it to drop few feet. My guess only hor, I won't go try that, If you crash your tello don't come and try kill me... :s13:

Tello has barometer for altitude control, meaning it can stay at certain altitude by itself. But at >5m, the horizontal positioning will not work, you need to manually control it like a normal altitude hold drone. Tello will drift like a cheap drone when optical positioning is not functioning.

It seems like the video image stabilizing is not working when optical positioning is out of range, meaning the video recorded will be jumping/shaky. You have to try it out as I seldom fly >5m altitude.
Selfie photos taking can be performed at any altitude.

You are looking too much at the spec. It reality, whether you get a phantom, mavic or tello, a lot of things don't work as advertised. For e.g, Tiny Tello likely cannot handle the wind at 10 floor height.

i'm using 2 tiny drones, Tello (optical positioning) for low altitude video and selfie. C-Me (GPS positioning) for higher altitude selfie. C-Me does not have image stabilizing and GPS positioning has another set of crappy problems. you want better one? buy expensive spark (Both optical and GPS positioning),.... but is a bit too big for indoor.... :s13:

my suggestion => get a cheap Tello, play and understand drones limitation, then figure out if you want to advance more, what you can do next.... don't think too much, just play!! ;)

have fun with drone flying!!... :D

thanks for detailed explanation!

Tello seems good until i saw Spark.... but the $$$$ wise is out , for now. And dun think i will bring it out so often to fly.... so Tello or other toy drones seems more likely.

Now just need to erase my own memory of Spark.... :D :D

Quadcopter

thanks for detailed explanation!

Tello seems good until i saw Spark.... but the $$$$ wise is out , for now. And dun think i will bring it out so often to fly.... so Tello or other toy drones seems more likely.

Now just need to erase my own memory of Spark.... :D :D

There is a Zerotech Dobby (S$270 on amazon) with both Optical and GPS positioning. It has powerful video stabilizing like Tello also. It is like Tello+CMe into one but even better with brushless motors, and close to Spark's performance. :D

However, my suggestion is still => get a cheap Tello, play and understand drones limitation, then figure out if you want to advance more, what you can do next.... don't think too much, just play and play!! :s13:

losthope00

Lol I wish I could know how to fly. I getting dji tmr also not sure should I go for courses or not. Watching YouTube lately and feel like trying.

umm,.... go fly your mavic pro :s8:
from labrador park to bt chermin boardwalk, to keppel marina should be very shiok! (cable car is NFZ)
from queenstown fly along PCN cutting through dawson, until alexandra canal should be very shiok!

Hort Park need selfie drone
Telok Blangah Terrace Garden, Henderson Wave Bridge, Faber Pt could overshot 60m AMSL and better just fly selfie drones....

remember to come back and show us how shiok that was... :D

blade81

Lol I wish I could know how to fly. I getting dji tmr also not sure should I go for courses or not. Watching YouTube lately and feel like trying.

go buy cheapo 30 dollar drone with altitude hold to train first.
you don't want to crash your 1.5k drone.
Not being mean or what, but you will crash one, and I never hear of any drone pilot never crash before.

weixiang80

go buy cheapo 30 dollar drone with altitude hold to train first.
you don't want to crash your 1.5k drone.
Not being mean or what, but you will crash one, and I never hear of any drone pilot never crash before.

easy to DIY the FPV cam onto these drones ma?
or better to get the ones that already fixed with FPV cams?

Quadcopter

I'm more worried of you get injured by Mavic Pro. That drone is 0.7kg, 8" propeller, 2208 motors.

If you want, you can look for me at Teck Whye Football field this Saturday morning. I can show you some basic control of drone, and safety you need to watch out. Let me know earlier, I need to charge my Spark batteries. You can use my Tello for training purpose also.

I cannot show you those "smartness" of drones hor. I do not even triggered a return-to-home on all my drones before. I'm very beginner..... ;)

:s8:

losthope00

Hmm will let you know as I collecting tmr. Anyway now I am playing around with China clone version of GoPro

I'm more worried of you get injured by Mavic Pro. That drone is 0.7kg, 8" propeller, 2208 motors.

If you want, you can look for me at Teck Whye Football field this Saturday morning. I can show you some basic control of drone, and safety you need to watch out. Let me know earlier, I need to charge my Spark batteries. You can use my Tello for training purpose also.

I cannot show you those "smartness" of drones hor. I do not even triggered a return-to-home on all my drones before. I'm very beginner..... ;)

:s8:

weixiang80

just gotten a jjrc h36 to try out.... seems need to practice a lot now :D

looking ard to get extra batts and charger, should i? but seems not many sellers in carousell...

Quadcopter

just gotten a jjrc h36 to try out.... seems need to practice a lot now :D

looking ard to get extra batts and charger, should i? but seems not many sellers in carousell...

key thing is to just keep training on your throttle, that left stick up-down control. throttle controls the altitude of the drone. once it becomes some simple reflex action to maintain the drone at same altitude in the air, you become master liow!!... :s12:

congratulation to our new drone buddy here!!.... :s13:

:D

weixiang80

key thing is to just keep training on your throttle, that left stick up-down control. throttle controls the altitude of the drone. once it becomes some simple reflex action to maintain the drone at same altitude in the air, you become master liow!!... :s12:

congratulation to our new drone buddy here!!.... :s13:

:D

ya... so hard to stay at the same level.
Do you guys turn the drone via the left stick or the right stick?
my coordination fails me badly, need a bigger space to play now.

blade81

don't worry, as you play more your reflex improve and your finger moves automatically and becomes 2nd nature. this is me with about a 1 month of practice.
https://youtu.be/Q9bp2Fuj8is

one of the best training was to get a stool and attempt to land the drone there and take off. that helps a lot to train your throttle management.

weixiang80

don't worry, as you play more your reflex improve and your finger moves automatically and becomes 2nd nature. this is me with about a 1 month of practice.
https://youtu.be/Q9bp2Fuj8is

one of the best training was to get a stool and attempt to land the drone there and take off. that helps a lot to train your throttle management.

i hope so!
worth to invest in batteries and charger now? can jjrc batts be used in future drones? (FPV quads?)

Quadcopter

you got some wrong drone to start with, JJRC H36 is without altitude control so it is a bit difficult to start learning with. Most people give up here because they can't control the altitude easily, or simply they got the wrong drone to start.

important thing is that training your throttle first. Try set the drone to headless/headfree mode at beginning learning stage.

Trust me, JJRC H36 is very fun indoor racing drone. If you know how to fly it, you can fly all types of drones manually. The only problem I have with JJRC H36 is the remote control's spring pulling-back effect is too strong.

:s12:

weixiang80

you got some wrong drone to start with, JJRC H36 is without altitude control so it is a bit difficult to start learning with. Most people give up here because they can't control the altitude easily, or simply they got the wrong drone to start.

important thing is that training your throttle first. Try set the drone to headless/headfree mode at beginning learning stage.

Trust me, JJRC H36 is very fun indoor racing drone. If you know how to fly it, you can fly all types of drones manually. The only problem I have with JJRC H36 is the remote control's spring pulling-back effect is too strong.

:s12:

learn the hard way then can appreciate more ma hahaha
able to control this little drone will be v satisfying. :D

blade81

i hope so!
worth to invest in batteries and charger now? can jjrc batts be used in future drones? (FPV quads?)

I think I got those 6x 150mah with a parallel charging for under 30 dollars from qoo10 or ezbuy, can't remember
I bought 2 sets if I recall correctly.

but the batteries die on me after 3 months or so.. some puff up. some no longer hold charge. one even emit smoke when charging. you can buy a lipo bag to keep them inside while charging, incase of fire hazard.

since than I stop flying at home, because I dun monitor those little batteries when charging usually.

when its definely worth it because everytime u crash u learn a lesson. a cheap drone cost less to repair or buy a new one, or unless u rather crash your mavic pro ? LOL

weixiang80

I think I got those 6x 150mah with a parallel charging for under 30 dollars from qoo10 or ezbuy, can't remember
I bought 2 sets if I recall correctly.

but the batteries die on me after 3 months or so.. some puff up. some no longer hold charge. one even emit smoke when charging. you can buy a lipo bag to keep them inside while charging, incase of fire hazard.

since than I stop flying at home, because I dun monitor those little batteries when charging usually.

when its definely worth it because everytime u crash u learn a lesson. a cheap drone cost less to repair or buy a new one, or unless u rather crash your mavic pro ? LOL

may i know what you flying now?
which transmitter is good ah? :)

Swisspers

may i know what you flying now?
which transmitter is good ah? :)

There are 3 popular protocols now.

Frsky (most popular)
DSMX
Flysky

The receiver on the flight controller must match the same protocol on your transmitter radio.

Something like the Jumper T8SG v2 plus is a multi-protocol radio that can bind to any receivers.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.