The Drone Thread

Quadcopter

have you gotten yours?
i just received delivery confirmation to deliver on 7. not sure if it’s coincidence but this came after i sent them an email earlier today.

received yesterday, have not opened out box, hope everything working, confirm is ce model as labelled outside box. courts delivered without my philips iron free gift, only received that mavic mini flymore box. i also don't care that free gift liow... :D
i think yours should be a bit slower due to delivery schedule, don't worry.

happinesscuminpairs

Anyone using Ipad or Ipad mini for flying drone? Wonder if it is overkill and will weight issue outweigh the big screen advantage ?

joelchan

Anyone using Ipad or Ipad mini for flying drone? Wonder if it is overkill and will weight issue outweigh the big screen advantage ?

I am using ipad mini with data with my Mavic Pro. I like the large screen.
Was using my phone in the past but always forget to set to airplane mode and all the whatsapp .. notifications very annoying.. and of course battery drained faster too.

happinesscuminpairs

I am using ipad mini with data with my Mavic Pro. I like the large screen.
Was using my phone in the past but always forget to set to airplane mode and all the whatsapp .. notifications very annoying.. and of course battery drained faster too.

Getting a ipad mini 🥳

Quadcopter

this should be the official government map for no-fly-zones.. this map should be the most accurate. but note that at the moment the official map still does not include "no-fly" parks by NPB.

https://www.onemap.sg/main/v2/dronequery

(use your desktop browser for the link, android apps or handphone browsers still not working properly...)

:s8:

Quadcopter

https://youtu.be/LIY_RvWEtpU

Another 249gm, but 50 minutes flight time Bi-copter

meanwhile i will stay with quadcopter structure. I have less confidence with the bi-copter structure. That bi-copter is geared tilting rotor, meaning:
- yaw movement could be less smooth than quadcopter. quad uses diagonally opposite props to perform yaw movement and faster, more accurate response.
- structure of 2-prop with suspended body might make the drone's body keep swinging like seesaw under windy condition. 4-prop should has less of that swinging problem.
- at 250g, 7-8" prop, 50min flight time, it could be worse than 4.7" prop mavic mini in handling wind. Might not be good for windy s'pore as could crash easily.
- tilt rotor has slower response. locking to GPS might be ended like hubsan drones. Meaning circle, oscillating, sway, swing around a GPS position than locking steadily to that position. For a mavic it will hover steadily in the air, with that GPS fixed point.
- Drone likely not useful for low altitude filming or selfies which is important for tours. Only good for high altitude scenery filming.

i will skip this. Unless there are excellent feedback from youtube reviewers, and price closer to mavic mini.

other more technical evaluation got to wait for our expert hwzlite's comments liow.. ;)

Middle-C

Anyone here registering with caas for MM?
I'm flying it stock currently so there isn't a need to but I'm thinking if I were to fly with a filter installed it may cross 250g, or any accessories such as led or decal skin, might as well register it to be on the safe side.

I ordered and received a CAAS sticker. But I don't think I will bother to complete registration. (still need to take a pic of the drone w the sticker to send to CAAS.) Reasons below:

I have:
(1) a glass film protector on my MM lens - hope this is still within limit
(2) a CPL filter - almost certain this will send it over the weight limit

I think the sticker adds unnecessary weight to my MM. Yes, it will be safe (kiasu) for me in SG, but dangerous w the 250g limit if I bring it overseas. The sticker should not be tampered with, is $15, and have a 1-year expiry. So I can't just peel it off, to manage the sticker weight when I travel, and stick it back on in SG.

Since flight spots are pretty limited in SG, currently my idea is to just enjoy flying and hone my skills and controls while in SG. And only apply for license when I travel, if required, so that I can attach the filter and take nicer pics.

Interested to hear others out about having a CAAS registration for the MM.

happinesscuminpairs

Registered but on CAAC is quite simple exception that will need a mobile number. QR code can simply print and best of all is FREE!

yeowkwang

hi all, anyone knows anywhere in sg to get good deals for dji drones? i am currently looking at dji mavic 2 pro. thanks!

Quadcopter

hi all, anyone knows anywhere in sg to get good deals for dji drones? i am currently looking at dji mavic 2 pro. thanks!

Mavic3 could be announced in next few months. So,...

if you are looking for the best drone, may be you can wait for Mavic3.
if you still only interested in Mavic2, Mavic2 price should drop after Mavic3 announced.
There is also an Autel Evo2, <1.2kg, all spec looks better than Mavic2, and not too much more expensive than Mavic2

( Note that Mavic2 has the side obstacle sensors shut-off/not-functioning under normal P-mode flying, and at the moment only Evo2 and Skydio2 are having obstacle sensing in all directions )

https://auteldrones.com/pages/evo2

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XDiWQps-Rxc

yeowkwang

Mavic3 could be announced in next few months. So,...

if you are looking for the best drone, may be you can wait for Mavic3.
if you still only interested in Mavic2, Mavic2 price should drop after Mavic3 announced.
There is also an Autel Evo2, <1.2kg, all spec looks better than Mavic2, and not too much more expensive than Mavic2

( Note that Mavic2 has the side obstacle sensors shut-off/not-functioning under normal P-mode flying, and at the moment only Evo2 and Skydio2 are having obstacle sensing in all directions )

https://auteldrones.com/pages/evo2

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XDiWQps-Rxc

Hi, any local retailers for this?

Quadcopter

Quadcopter, don't poison him leh.... he's ask for MP2..lol

aiya, never poison him lah! or else would had asked him to get a spark liow. I just bought an used spark-flymore S$250 from Carousell. ;)

Hi, any local retailers for this?

Both Skydio2, Evo2 shipping USA/Canada only. And I do not think there is any agents here.
If you need local support, then DJI will be better choice.
If you are not in a hurry, wait for Mavic3 announcement. Then decide if getting Mavic3 or Mavic2. Local resellers will have to clear their mavic2 stocks and give big discount then. Anyway following half a year is not good time for outdoor activities with this Wuhan Virus around.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.