The Drone Thread

Quadcopter

Anyone interested in flying drones together during weekends? Please pm me,...

We are a small group of drone flyers. No commercial objectives between all of us, just simple leisure or recreational flying. We are short of "drone kaki" now as some stationed oversea. All of us are non-smokers. Most of us are flying dji drones. I'm flying some cheap tiny toy drones. Locations usually at west side.
:)

firsttimebuyer

Dose anyone here have any opinions on the P10 drone and the G2 Drone?

I am looking to buy either one of this 2 but not sure if it is worth it.

Has anyone here had any experience with either drone drone?

firsttimebuyer

Anyone interested in flying drones together during weekends? Please pm me,...

We are a small group of drone flyers. No commercial objectives between all of us, just simple leisure or recreational flying. We are short of "drone kaki" now as some stationed oversea. All of us are non-smokers. Most of us are flying dji drones. I'm flying some cheap tiny toy drones. Locations usually at west side.
:)

Hi, very sorry to bother you, but I was wondering, would you happen to have any opinions on the P10 drone and the G2 Drone?

Quadcopter

Hi, very sorry to bother you, but I was wondering, would you happen to have any opinions on the P10 drone and the G2 Drone?

hi,
i do not know anything about P10 or G2 drones. Depending on your budget on these toys, but i would suggest beginners should try not to buy those cheaper toy drones.

1) cheaper toy drones (avoid)
- the cheaper toy drones, those <S$150 normally cannot withstand the outdoor windy condition, shorter brushed motor life, poor photo quality and non-stabilized video. You cannot tilt your camera while in the air.
- try spend more and get a new ryze tello if you want to get a cheaper toy drone, if do not think of spending too much on this toy. note that tello is only suitable for indoor

2) entry level drones (more decent drones, suggested)
- i would suggest get an used dji spark or dji mavic mini from carousell. these are more "professional" drones. no need to get a new set. it becomes old set once you flew it for few times. ask seller to demonstrate to you the drone is fully functioning before paying for it.
- used dji spark fly more: s$200 would be a good price. it has 2 axis gimbal but is >250g so you need to register it
- used dji mini fly more: s$350 would be a good price. it has 3 axis gimbal and is <250g
- you can sell your spark/mini back to carousell when you upgrade your drones later, or do not like it.
- i flew dji spark and dji mini before. i left with a mavic 2 zoom now but stop flying it for >1yr, only make it doing some exercise every 6-month to keep motors and batteries in good shape.
- most of my kaki are flying dji drones: mini, mini3, mavic2pro, mavicpro, phantom4
- flying dji spark and dji mini are safer, and device more reliable.

3) fpv racer drones (avoid)
- this is another type of tiny toy drones. i had been flying this type of toy drones for >1yr. these are diy own-build toy drones that cost ~s$150 each. meaning you buy the parts and assemble yourselves. add another s$50 for a recording camera. price excludes remote control/s$40-100, goggles/s$60, batteries/s$10
- these drones are very difficult to fly. after a year, i only managed to learn how to cruise the drone around, no skill for stunts/tricks.
- beginners should not buy these type of drones.

=> good to go check more on youtube, but also avoid getting con-ed by influencers/promoters.

geniusumi

just got a new drone, does anyone know where can I fly the drone? better if suitable for a newbie, thanks!

Quadcopter

just got a new drone, does anyone know where can I fly the drone? better if suitable for a newbie, thanks!
hi,

now july, is better to fly your drones after national day. there are airspace lockdown now and any mistake will cost you s$50K fine.
https://www.caas.gov.sg/who-we-are/...cted-areas-for-ndp-related-aerial-activities/
go to onemap.sg, turn on "DroneQuery", Select No-Fly-Zones, turn on NPark No-fly. These are the no-fly-zones which will cost you s$50k fine. For no-fly NParks it should be cheaper fine ticket but i do not know how much.

onemap.sg also shows you "recommended UA flying area", but currently the only free for public area is pandan reservoir.

Other important notes:
- Better stay far away from hdb flats or any residential/hotel buildings, people might complain of privacy issues.
- do not fly at north shore, even if the location is outside no-fly-zones. the police and coast guards there are in overly alert for any drug smuggling by drones and etc.
- Some of the locations on onemap might show you that location as outside any no-flying-zones. However, places like Mount faber, Telok Blangah Hill are more than 60m above mean sea level so you cannot fly there. Watch out the ground altitude also before you fly.
- Do not fly at Garden-by-the-bay, Marina Sands, National Stadium, Sentosa. Those are private estate/property.

have fun with your new drone! fly safely,... ;)

Scarlet Tea

hi,

now july, is better to fly your drones after national day. there are airspace lockdown now and any mistake will cost you s$50K fine.
https://www.caas.gov.sg/who-we-are/...cted-areas-for-ndp-related-aerial-activities/
go to onemap.sg, turn on "DroneQuery", Select No-Fly-Zones, turn on NPark No-fly. These are the no-fly-zones which will cost you s$50k fine. For no-fly NParks it should be cheaper fine ticket but i do not know how much.

onemap.sg also shows you "recommended UA flying area", but currently the only free for public area is pandan reservoir.

Other important notes:
- Better stay far away from hdb flats or any residential/hotel buildings, people might complain of privacy issues.
- do not fly at north shore, even if the location is outside no-fly-zones. the police and coast guards there are in overly alert for any drug smuggling by drones and etc.
- Some of the locations on onemap might show you that location as outside any no-flying-zones. However, places like Mount faber, Telok Blangah Hill are more than 60m above mean sea level so you cannot fly there. Watch out the ground altitude also before you fly.
- Do not fly at Garden-by-the-bay, Marina Sands, National Stadium, Sentosa. Those are private estate/property.

have fun with your new drone! fly safely,... ;)
can recommend a good place to fly in sg? i just bought dji mini 3. so many places cannot fly now.

Quadcopter

can recommend a good place to fly in sg? i just bought dji mini 3. so many places cannot fly now.
aiya,... only those standard places lor, go marina bay for sunrise/sunset if you are taking drone photos, or bishan/east coast/west coast parks if you are video filming...
try lazarus islands if you want less artificial scenery,.. mini3 is good for tour to m'sia/bali.... ;)

i have already given up on dji photography drones, i gave away my spark, gave away my mavic mini, and selling my mavic2zoom soon. i downgraded to flying toy drones now...

btw: anyone interested in flying toy drones together please look for me, i got no toy drones kaki now... is smaller 2-3in propellers, safer with propeller guards, <250g, cheaper per drone, cheaper to repair, cheaper consumables like batteries and propellers... safe flying at places with no people, or fly above water...

Note: be careful, today Aug13 but still have some "SPF NDP Special Event Area" covering whole marina/kallang on onemap.sg. i also do not know why onemap.sg added in 10km aerodromes on onemap desktop version now, cannot fly at 10km aerodromes? (previously 10km only on android apps version)

Scarlet Tea

aiya,... only those standard places lor, go marina bay for sunrise/sunset if you are taking drone photos, or bishan/east coast/west coast parks if you are video filming...
try lazarus islands if you want less artificial scenery,.. mini3 is good for tour to m'sia/bali.... ;)

i have already given up on dji photography drones, i gave away my spark, gave away my mavic mini, and selling my mavic2zoom soon. i downgraded to flying toy drones now...

btw: anyone interested in flying toy drones together please look for me, i got no toy drones kaki now... is smaller 2-3in propellers, safer with propeller guards, <250g, cheaper per drone, cheaper to repair, cheaper consumables like batteries and propellers... safe flying at places with no people, or fly above water...

Note: be careful, today Aug13 but still have some "SPF NDP Special Event Area" covering whole marina/kallang on onemap.sg. i also do not know why onemap.sg added in 10km aerodromes on onemap desktop version now, cannot fly at 10km aerodromes? (previously 10km only on android apps version)

i tried marina bay once with my spark. too much of signal interference. maybe my mini 3 ocusyn could handle this issue better. usually where to find dji kakis that are active now?

Quadcopter

i tried marina bay once with my spark. too much of signal interference. maybe my mini 3 ocusyn could handle this issue better. usually where to find dji kakis that are active now?

dji kaki?... may be you can join us flying,... last time this small group have half dji photo drones, half toy drones,... now toy drones only left me,.. others all big dji photo or dji fpv drones... pm me your contact if you want our fierce lady boss to take you in,...

all the dji drones kaki are moving towards more sunset/sunrise photo shots, night flights etc,... also new time slots or those crowded locations not suitable for my toy drones,... you can come replacing me in the group and you very fitting,... plus replacing me in those vlog publishing also... Cool!... :LOL:

i have to go find 1-2 toy drones kaki and fly separately,... anyway these days when i'm flying in the group, i need to stay 50-100m away from the other kaki, their big dji birds are RF jamming my analog fpv video feed...

look for those posts with heading "drone meetup" here:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/851391965424914

Scarlet Tea

dji kaki?... may be you can join us flying,... last time this small group have half dji photo drones, half toy drones,... now toy drones only left me,.. others all big dji photo or dji fpv drones... pm me your contact if you want our fierce lady boss to take you in,...

all the dji drones kaki are moving towards more sunset/sunrise photo shots, night flights etc,... also new time slots or those crowded locations not suitable for my toy drones,... you can come replacing me in the group and you very fitting,... plus replacing me in those vlog publishing also... Cool!... :LOL:

i have to go find 1-2 toy drones kaki and fly separately,... anyway these days when i'm flying in the group, i need to stay 50-100m away from the other kaki, their big dji birds are RF jamming my analog fpv video feed...

i dont dare to play other drones aside from dji small ones. even the big ones sound threatening to me. cos got once i tried to test a fpv racing drone in my room. i lost control and one of the propellers sliced a piece of skin off my forehead and left a scar.

ok will pm u my contact soon.

elvintay07

Almost anywhere in SG is like no fly zone. Like Punggol, woodlands, Seletar etc where there are nice scenery. So where can we fly? Lol

YYCole

actually with all these no fly zone, we can look at flying tinywhoop type of drones indoors. Similar fun POV race, and min wind disturbance and wont encounter no fly zone and more imptly no sun!

hansolo4843

if you have the time and means of transport to go over to jb and play your drone, do it. I play and fly my drone until sian over mass open areas or even around the housing estates!

Quadcopter

if you have the time and means of transport to go over to jb and play your drone, do it. I play and fly my drone until sian over mass open areas or even around the housing estates!
may be you can start trying a tiny and safe racer drone. something like a betafpv cetus x. that drone is only about 70g take off weight. you can try flying it anywhere for fun, even inside your own home.

too bad i'm not capable of flying fpv racer drones, i'm only in fpv free flight, that's mostly slower speed fpv drone video filming. i do not have the gaming type of fast response or that racing skill. i wish i have that gaming skill....

:LOL:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.