The Drone Thread

weixiang80

hmmm seems like so many NFZ in sg... i am located in the east and basically 0 flyzone... hahaa

leaning more towards indoor drone liao.

Sparks dun seem to be "safe" indoors , dun wan to cause injuries or damages.

Can the camera in Tello be upgraded diy style? :D

blade81

Aiya, young guys doing whatapps while on fast running PMD sure crash oneday one... old people walking slowly with stick how to crash?... so important thing is old guys must always siam young guys' PMD or drones... :s13:

:D

These days many old folks using their electric wheelchair or mobility device also not exactly slow lor, somemore they dont care about traffic jus cross as they please.

@weixiang80 i think tello has no controller. Control using phone app only.. Not fun lor. Juz buy s cheap toygrade like fake dji spare (eachine e58) and play for fun lor. I doubt those can hurt anyone indoor

weixiang80

These days many old folks using their electric wheelchair or mobility device also not exactly slow lor, somemore they dont care about traffic jus cross as they please.

@weixiang80 i think tello has no controller. Control using phone app only.. Not fun lor. Juz buy s cheap toygrade like fake dji spare (eachine e58) and play for fun lor. I doubt those can hurt anyone indoor

seems like a diy micro is more of what i want now .....
too fickle minded, maybe next week i playing with spark again lol

Quadcopter

if you have lots of spare $$, then everything buy 1pc, Mavic, Phantom, Spark, Yuneec, Babyhawk and etc

if you only willing to budget for maximum one S$800 Spark, then think of should you buy Spark, or should you buy few pcs of junk drones.

Option 1) DJI Spark: Allows you to fly high with perfect video and photo. Very shiok cruising around, darn fun money cannot buy!!..

Option 2) If you do not buy a Spark, S$800 gives you all these:
- 1pc Zerotech Dobby at S$270, For aerial photography, Performance quite close to Spark
- 1pc Hubsan H502S at S$170, for bashing around, Spark not for bashing around
- 1pc HB68 at S$160 for you to race with swisspers and blade81. Spark not for racing
- 3pc JJRC H36 S$50 for training. Spark too expensive to crash or knock.
- 1pc Tello at S$150. For indoor selfie. Spark cannot fly indoor.

Important thing is what will give you more fun... don't keep on looking at the fancy product specifications. :s22:
Sometimes or somewhere cannot afford a S$20 drone, go flying a kite also could make you happy... :D
And don't crack your head too much, later head pecah!!.. :s13:

blade81

Unlike mr quadcopter, i dont see the fun with flying a drone meant for professional photography. Yes its worth the money if u into photography but Racing drones have acro mode which u wont get to experience with spark phantom or mavic pro.

If u wan a simple diy, u also have to consider getting a transmitter too

hwzlite

hwzlite

with "no-drone-flying" signs
CCK Park, Limbang Park, Little Guilin, Bt Batok nature park,
S'pore Quarry Park, Lower Seletar Reservoir, Bedok Reservoir
(For lower seletar reservoir I do not understand if the sign is for
that fishing platform only or for whole park)

without "no-drone-flying" signs, Or did not see any previously
Bt Panjang Park, Petir Park, West Coast Park, Pandang Reservoir,
Labrador park, Jurong Lake (Or Lakeside, but west part is under NFZ)

without "no-drone-flying" signs, but believe akan datang
Pasir Ris park/beach

Other places have not tried yet.... i believe NPB is following CAAS's NFZ
forumers please help add to the list, if you know...

:s8:

Finally Npark done a "Last updated on 11 April 2018" from https://www.nparks.gov.sg/gardens-parks-and-nature/dos-and-donts/parks-with-no-flying-signs :

Bukit Batok Nature Park
Bukit Batok Town Park
Bukit Timah Nature Reserve
Cantral Catchment Nature Reserve (MacRitchie)
Chestnut Nature Park
Dairy Farm Nature Park
Hindhede Nature Park
Jurong Lake Gardens Central (Chinese & Japanese Gardens)
Kranji Marshes
Kranji Reservoir Park
Labrador Nature Reserve
Labrador Park
Lower Peirce Reservoir Park
Pulau Ubin
Singapore Botanic Gardens
Springleaf Nature Park
Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve
Upper Peirce Reservoir Park
Upper Seletar Reservoir Park
Windsor Nature Park
Zhenghua Nature Park

As for those location not officially listed above, always good to peek for any 'No Flying' Signs just in case :D

blade81

Finally Npark done a "Last updated on 11 April 2018" from https://www.nparks.gov.sg/gardens-parks-and-nature/dos-and-donts/parks-with-no-flying-signs :

Bukit Batok Nature Park
Bukit Batok Town Park
Bukit Timah Nature Reserve
Cantral Catchment Nature Reserve (MacRitchie)
Chestnut Nature Park
Dairy Farm Nature Park
Hindhede Nature Park
Jurong Lake Gardens Central (Chinese & Japanese Gardens)
Kranji Marshes
Kranji Reservoir Park
Labrador Nature Reserve
Labrador Park
Lower Peirce Reservoir Park
Pulau Ubin
Singapore Botanic Gardens
Springleaf Nature Park
Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve
Upper Peirce Reservoir Park
Upper Seletar Reservoir Park
Windsor Nature Park
Zhenghua Nature Park

As for those location not officially listed above, always good to peek for any 'No Flying' Signs just in case :D

sigh, Singapore is already small to begin with, already with limited places to fly, and now more places included in the no-fly zone. :(

hwzlite

Another great potential for quad fail-safe recovery routine, just got a reply below from Matt from IQ Motion Control :

To: chris*********@gmail.com
Subject: Re: [Campaign Question] Kudo, impressive tech. u ha

Hi Chris,

Interesting you ask! Mark Mueller (the researcher featured in that article) and I talked a lot while we were both phd students since we were working on a similar problem from different angles. His adviser, Raff D'Andrea, was on my thesis committee because of it!

Our motors would be great for this application! Being able to quickly reverse thrust on the motor opposite from the failure could prevent that initial tumble that the quad does, as well as allow the vehicle to hold its orientation better.

Our motors can actually already do all of this! We need someone (maybe
Mark) to implement the failsafe behavior on the flight controller.

-Matt

On Wed, Apr 18, 2018 at 5:16 AM, Crowd Supply <orders@crowdsupply.com>
wrote:

> chris*********@gmail.com submitted a question about your project, "IQ
> Motor
> Module":
>
> Kudo, impressive tech. u have there.
> Btw any chance of implement this motor a fail-safe recovery routine as
> mentioned @
> http://spectrum.ieee.org/automaton/...ing-failsafe-software#.UxdDHIzx33Y.hackernews ?
>
> Cheers,
> CL
>
>
> ------------------------------------------------------------

Quadcopter

wow!! uncle hwzlite can you help to find out how much power/torque increase with going sensor-ed?

meaning what's the power increase when move from sensor-less motor to sensor-ed motor? let's say, if for the same motor with sensor, what would be the power increase if I change the ESC from sensor-less to sensor-ed? I'm always curious to know... thanks you!... =:p

weixiang80

sigh, Singapore is already small to begin with, already with limited places to fly, and now more places included in the no-fly zone. :(

if just fly low......1 - 2 storey kinda height, easy to get caught ma? :D

yeah v little fly zone is v sucky...

Quadcopter

just close your hdb doors, windows, curtain down and fly your tiny 80mm drone at home. Don't let people know, should be OK.

if someone found out and report to mata, mata comes and knocks at your door, you tell the mata: "no no I never fly, that drone flying sound is from youtube videos, and you cannot come in and search for drones without court warrant".

Later the mata comes again with search warrant, you must quickly move your drone to service balcony and hide beside aircon compressor. Mata seldom goes search there. And even if they find a drone there then you tell them "no no that's not mine, I think blade81 crashed his drone there"....

=> so, You still want to buy a Spark or Mavic?? buy liow very few places to fly...

weixiang80

just close your hdb doors, windows, curtain down and fly your tiny 80mm drone at home. Don't let people know, should be OK.

if someone found out and report to mata, mata comes and knocks at your door, you tell the mata: "no no I never fly, that drone flying sound is from youtube videos, and you cannot come in and search for drones without court warrant".

Later the mata comes again with search warrant, you must quickly move your drone to service balcony and hide beside aircon compressor. Mata seldom goes search there. And even if they find a drone there then you tell them "no no that's not mine, I think blade81 crashed his drone there"....

=> so, You still want to buy a Spark or Mavic?? buy liow very few places to fly...

i wanna precision fly a spark at home :eek::eek:

see how first ba.... not easy to DIY a nice tiny drone too

hwzlite

wow!! uncle hwzlite can you help to find out how much power/torque increase with going sensor-ed?

meaning what's the power increase when move from sensor-less motor to sensor-ed motor? let's say, if for the same motor with sensor, what would be the power increase if I change the ESC from sensor-less to sensor-ed? I'm always curious to know... thanks you!... =:p

Hmmm..... Currently on paper they claimed "4.8% more shaft power than same sized motors" which ESC already integrated in their motor.

hwzlite

Don't pray pray, u can run u cannot hide hor, until the day our gahmen gone dystopia..., they already show off Aveillant Gamekeeper Radar since NDP 2017 . :s22:

Even mediacorp took effort to explain tech. in layman @ 2:30mins mark:

Quadcopter

Hmmm..... Currently on paper they claimed "4.8% more shaft power than same sized motors" which ESC already integrated in their motor.

eh, not comparing their sensor-ed motor with other people's sensor-ed motor lah,...

is comparing "sensor-ed motor" with "sensor-less motor", I'm thinking it might be 50-80% increase in output power with same weight/size. :s12:

hobbyking had been selling "black widow" and "viking" motors with build in ESC. I do not know if it is sensor-ed. All the common drone motors and ESC from market are sensor-less.

;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.