The Independent Singapore - Fresh grad suspects job listings on MyCareersFuture are ‘just for show’, claims employers always find excuses not to hire

xiao.xin

In the first place, it is posted on mycareerfuture is already an indicator that the company intend to hire foreigner.

Saw a role in my firm with $$ mismatch the experience end up am right that another villager took the role

tokong

Actually I don't know what the issue is with youngsters. If the site is unresponsive, just use Jobstreet lah. He already mentioned Jobstreet is better in the article. So just use Jobstreet end of story right? Really is kpkb generation.

Boh bian lor, with the current job market like that, you just grab any job la. At lease 5 months come out you can put 'AI Developer' into your cv, right?

AI Developer - Azure OpenAI | 5-month Contract

Central Region

Developers/Programmers (Information & Communication Technology)

Contract/Temp

$8k - $9k p.m.
Posted 4d ago•Low application volume

Aunt Dino

Just want to share my hiring experience. I work in tech and more specifically system admin of infrastructure. I think it’s my industry, no sinkie ever wanted such jobs. I probably get just one or 2 sinkie applicants out of say 30 or so. I always interview them. But the moment I say because it’s a 24x7 role, they are expected to work off hours and weekends. Their face will change color. One of them even asked : is it must wake up and answer call one? I was speechless. These are not fresh grads though. No fresh grads ever applied even I stated clearly they’re welcomed.

I do get many qualified applicants from other countries. Yes, some just list every available technology and products as their skillset in their CV, and I normally don’t bother. Those who really know their stuff don’t ask for a lot most of the time. They just want a job here in SG. Sinkie do have real competition here in this area.
24x7 on standby or shift work, of course hard to find Sinkies lah. The foreigners who are willing to come here to work are those that are also willing to sacrifice time away from their family or despo to get a job in Singapore. Whether can tahan the working conditions or not is another story. Once arrive in SG, easier to look for other jobs.

If you get a job offer for the same exact job in USA, you will also take it up, tio bo? And when over there, you will work doubly hard so that you can keep your job?

it is hard to find qualified sinkies if your role dont sound satki... no offence bro bt system admin of infrastructure wont make any idealistic fresh grad kkb stand... i from finance... i think is same like advertising back office job... all the nus/ntu fresh grads oso hiam becoz all want trader.. ra.. ib jobs.. front office roles... must be satki one...

my job ned to do night meeting with amdk teams twice a week... when my side gt headcount i recommend frens and ex colleagues... they give me the same reply... all want to pang kang at 6pm and work again at 9am.. tbh nw i oso fed up trying to help sinkies...

my army fren run a shop chain... hire sinkies they always start closing early... 10pm suppose to close... 930pm they alrdy bring some shutters down and reject customers... scold them they dont care becoz they can quit and stay home... when he hire foreigners.. 950pm they still entertain customers...

nt saying all sinkies are bad lah bt those complaining no job... why ppl hiam you... juz remb there are many more sinkies who sabo you indirectly by enforcing stereotypes tt sinkies are nt willing to work hard...
Foreigners are already prepared to work hard when they leave their hometowns... some still value work-life balance though. I have colleagues indirectly asking me to spend more time outside of work 😅

tian_yibang

Duh

Jobseekers want get good/high pay

Employers want gib low/min pay

In before this famous statement - With chiur asking pay I can get 3 foreign on the cheap (with bonus no need absence for ICT/IPPT/RT , childcare/maternity leaves etc) , tell me 1 valid reason why need employ chiu

:s13: :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.