The Leather Thread

mikeeeey

nice! my gf will like these.. she dont like the raw leather that I like cos she say it looks 'dirty' after a while. haha

Kuroba

Spent the whole weekend working on this. Veg tanned horsehide exterior shell, cowhide interiors.

walletinteriors.jpg

walletexterior2.jpg

walletthickness.jpg

evocomparison.jpg

Comparison with the wallet that ive been using heavily for the past 2-3 months. Leather used for the exterior shell is cut from the same hide. The leather has darkened quite dramatically, and surface has become very smooth and polished. Loving the horsehide, wish I knew of sources that sell horsehide with less imperfections.

Wallet rein made some time ago
walletrein.jpg

kazuki666

Spent the whole weekend working on this. Veg tanned horsehide exterior shell, cowhide interiors.

walletinteriors.jpg

walletexterior.jpg

walletthickness.jpg

evocomparison.jpg

Comparison with the wallet that ive been using heavily for the past 2-3 months. Leather used for the exterior shell is cut from the same hide. The leather has darkened quite dramatically, and surface has become very smooth and polished. Loving the horsehide, wish I knew of sources that sell horsehide with less imperfections.

Wallet rein made some time ago
walletrein.jpg

bro, u not going to freelance take in orders huh? :D

I wont mind a lanyard put workplace staffcard de wor ;)

Kuroba

bro, u not going to freelance take in orders huh? :D

I wont mind a lanyard put workplace staffcard de wor ;)

Hmmm not very keen on taking in custom orders yet (for now and in the near future) although if its something im confident of making then I might do it :)
Will have to depend on what you are expecting for the product.

kazuki666

Hmmm not very keen on taking in custom orders yet (for now and in the near future) although if its something im confident of making then I might do it :)
Will have to depend on what you are expecting for the product.

the holder part will allow to slot a staff card. It will be great if can have a clear piece of plastic or something as protection. But if dun have, its fine.

Then the back, probably 1-2 slots for storing few pcs of namecards, 5-10 pcs will be sufficient.
design wise as in buttons, bling bling, I will leave it to professional like u to suggest? :D

Oh, and the strap. standard lenght of coz. But instead of a 1piece strap, can it be two piece but joined together with a button, clip or buckle.
Coz i have a big head, putting a strap over my head has always been a headache for me.... :p

cheers ;)

alice9

what's the price range there? cheaper?

nice hoot!

Care to share where exactly in bkk?

yes its def cheaper, u will love it when u hear the price converted into sgd, =)

they can be found in a weekend market only open sat n sun... its call jatucha, tell the taxi uncle or hotel staff they will know, its dammmm big, if walk alone can get lost de, alot section and lanes, its like bugis street but 10 times bigger!

or can go khao shan, its a bagpackers drinking heaven, alot ang mao will be there, n inside there have many skilled n good leather smith n stall...

kazuki666

yes its def cheaper, u will love it when u hear the price converted into sgd, =)

they can be found in a weekend market only open sat n sun... its call jatucha, tell the taxi uncle or hotel staff they will know, its dammmm big, if walk alone can get lost de, alot section and lanes, its like bugis street but 10 times bigger!

or can go khao shan, its a bagpackers drinking heaven, alot ang mao will be there, n inside there have many skilled n good leather smith n stall...

chatuchak?

share share how cheap leh.
I dun mind going over for a long wkend if have time:D

reddevil76

my leather experience in bangkok~ just to share what me n my frens hoot there! =D the weekend n night market its heave for leathers lovers

=)

Bro do you mind taking close up pics of the stitching, edges and areas where the layers of leather crossover?

I've heard so much about BKK leather stuff and always very curious about their workmanship.

LeatherUser

chatuchak? I always got lost there and never find the same shop if you ask me to walk back again.

alice9

will try to take some pics la~ but overall the workmanship its good tt why i buy, of coz price its temping too.. another reason the leather smiths its very friendly and he made himself and use the wallet he made himself, so yeah price dont really wan disclose la, dont wan spoilt the local leather market.. later lipsu wan kill me =x haha

alice9

chatuchak its too big alr, but theres maps n section, if u got good sense of direction, its a heaven to shop for clothes shoes and leather goods =)

reddevil76

will try to take some pics la~ but overall the workmanship its good tt why i buy, of coz price its temping too.. another reason the leather smiths its very friendly and he made himself and use the wallet he made himself, so yeah price dont really wan disclose la, dont wan spoilt the local leather market.. later lipsu wan kill me =x haha

Actually price we more or less can guess lah.. the reason I ask is because I noticed a big boom in ebay, with thai made long wallets sold there.

Damn impressive, snake skin, croc skins, detailed carving, all options for only US130-180.

Then one time, finally there was a close up pic to show the wallet rein connector. Thru the pic, I saw how the stitching cross over from one layer to another and the lining. It was a mess of thread. But that is only one out of so many Thai artisan.

Would be curious to see more.

decafie

any idea where i can buy more of these key ring with the holders (circled in red)

got too many keys to hold on to...

259kimv.jpg

--Lipsu--

^ Yes, Yes! wonderful and specialize area. Neat and tidy to search for informations :)

More female design, or rather it is more unisex as guys can use it.

The new Chaotic Long Wallet, for kayodic.
We discussed about a possibility of making a new feminine style wallet but also need to be suitable for kayodic's denim style. The idea of light colour Lambskin external gives an impression of classy and elegant feel. Adding the popular veg tan leather internally will allow aging characteristics and contrasting the colour with the lambskin.

Instead of the usual 4 point braiding of rein, we opted to hand-roll the tough 10/12oz saddle leather lace into rounded form and use it as rope rein. We find that it is more suitable for girls to hang rather then braided rein, which look or already stereotype as manly...
Girls are always girls, they will have their day of wearing pretty dresses and skirts. So to add in more option, we include a matching wristlet for kayodic to carry the wallet as purse by hand, just like clutch bag :)

kayodiccustom4.jpg

kayodiccustom1.jpg

kayodiccustom7.jpg

kayodiccustom2.jpg

kayodiccustom5.jpg

kayodiccustom6.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.