The Leather Thread

scasi

kazuki, wah nice butt you have there.... the wallet fit in all your denims pockets?

kazuki666

kazuki, wah nice butt you have there.... the wallet fit in all your denims pockets?

no lah is coz i twisted my waist sideways to take pics...:p

all fit in back pocket smoothly except for 1pair.
The raw MIJ denim from uniqlo, very stubborn pair of denim which simply cant seem to break to wear off... Can slot it, but with some efforts...

grats on your new leather hoot , kazuki !

the rein's like a bit long haha

errrr ya, i do find it a little too. I was thinking issit coz i am short thats why.

Scasi, what do u think???

scasi

That the reason why i stop wearing my MIJ.
The rein length is by standard, could be the fish hook extra 3 inch.

Wait until the leather breakin already and see, at least now when you tuck out your t-shirt the rein can be seen.

kazuki666

That the reason why i stop wearing my MIJ.
The rein length is by standard, could be the fish hook extra 3 inch.

Wait until the leather breakin already and see, at least now when you tuck out your t-shirt the rein can be seen.

ya, i think this wallet will be tough on that stubborn uniqlo MIJ... :(

Most likely will my ripped pair of topman denim. Just that sometimes i find it a little too thin after wearing that uniqlo long :p

no worries bro, i quite like the wallet. Am thinking if i should get a passport sleeve coming dec holidays too :)

kazuki666

I am still cracking my head how to write coz my english sucks... :S

Ok, for the start, here are some pics take with my cam. Sorry for the poor resolution though...

[/QUOTE]

Some may find the rein a little long, i agree its a little. But scasi explains it may be coz of the long hook, i tot that makes sense too.

Ok, on the leather used. I believe its cowhide? correct me if its wrong. I like the smell of gd leather, and this i am loving it :)

The weight of the wallet was actually lighter than i tot it would be, gd thing of coz. I think most guys wouldnt like a heavy item hanging by their butt :p

The dimension was quite within my expectations. it does slot nicely into my work pants back pocket, and same for most of my jeans. Just that it can face some difficulties with one of my raw denim....

As for designs, it was supposed to be a replica of what can be found in obbigoodlabel, the OGL Black Jane mid wallet. Just that i kinda realised its of a mirror image to that piece, and also of coz Scasi managed to stamp in some wordings on the leather :)
Oh ya, i find the bill compartment a little unique (dunno issit i "sua ku"). Very hard to describe in words. Its like a piece of leather slice open for that.

Eventually i believe black was really a gd choice as recommended by Scasi, and i feel this is just the start of collection from the artisans.

Cheers

scasi

Thank you Kazuki for the review, let me explain the mid wallet bill slot concept

Jane%20Mid%20Veg%20Tan%20Wallet%206.JPG

The slit open concept is practice among all the Japanese artisan, originality is unknown and un-claim by any artisan in the markets.

The middle slit that creates the fold is a mechanism. When you craft a piece of wallets, the other layer must be longer then the inner layer, so that when the wallet is fold it will form a bulge feel. The middle sewn will then creates a space for both the cards slot and coin slot ample space to fold, creating a springing concept of the wallet.

The inner layer is the part where it hold the card slot and the coin compartment, so that when you use your fingers to operate your wallet, your thumb can hold the middle part and your the other hand can reach for the bill.

Mid wallet is a much acceptable design, as it can cater for both corporate and casual. Ultimately after you wear in, the wallet will form a shape that you will appreciated.

If you notice, those normal wallets that comes with lining, after couple of month used, the lining will start to smudge with your sweat, and peel off. Good thing with full leather wallet is, it form to your butt shape.

Kazuki, hope you like the wallet!

I_Hate_Veggie

so sian. trying to tan my veg tan now.

but no sun leh, and im usually not at home during the afternoon.

so sian, tan it for like 2hrs so far nia, no change at all yet:o:o:o

--Lipsu--

so sian. trying to tan my veg tan now.

but no sun leh, and im usually not at home during the afternoon.

so sian, tan it for like 2hrs so far nia, no change at all yet:o:o:o

wah...SG sun is power ah!
Try on Sunday noon loh, put out for suntanning, then you go downstairs eat lunch, read newpaper...go back surf HWZ then wear it go out. Night time come back then oil.
Do this a few time, sure change within weeks!

I_Hate_Veggie

@Unique: kk, will post up soon. together with tanned one.

@Lipsu: yea, gonna do some major suntanning on wed. hope wed has a strong sun.

archbishopchia

Hi guys. Been having an increasing interest in leather. Have been planning quite awhile to get a untreated leather belt for wear with denim. Looked at places like tanner goods and corter leather.

Only just realised that there are actually local leathermakers. Do they carry such belts and the general price range??

Side question. Have a pair of oatmeal coloured sperrys. Is it advisible to spread some mink oil over the surface?? Or should i use some other products??

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.