The Leather Thread

scasi

To start off, it consist of a lot of different tools which is not available in SGP most of the time. And the tools are range in basic, intermediate and expert.

For a beginner,starter kit tooling will set you back 2 to 3 hundreds. And for material will be base on the leather you are getting which is normally in 10 to 14 feet size

And as when you go into the next stage, different set of tools will be requires. By end of the expert course, probably you will be owning your own workshop liao :s13:

Right now I cannot commit anything, until last quarter, because we are still preparing some other plans and other work load.

maybe you can constantly check out the website, we might create a page for leathercraft workshop registering page.

Hi scasi, thanks for the info.

I myself a working adult (dun dare say white collar sia, coz of the low salary...), i totally understand the time constraint and commitment.
We never know when our boss will get us to clear some work thus late OTs... :(

What u guys are doing should be considered a form of art as well, and whatsmore in a society like ours who is that small population and influenced by overseas trend...

But having said that, i be curious of coz. How much "capital" will we be looking at if we need to get set of proper tools and of coz the class fees.

and oh ya, i may be looking at getting your help to come up with a wallet later. Need to clear some stuff to generate some funds 1st... :p

Dj-Jax

I don't know about you guys.. but this thread is kind of becoming like a Obbigood label leather selling thread already. I think it'll be best to PM Lipsu or Scasi instead, if you have questions regarding their products
very true Sorry about that, Jax!
Lets talk about general leather rather than Obbi Good Label. Please PM/ email me for questions.
Totally agree with you...... to all, pm pls, or you know where you can get us....

BTW, if we are to organize a denim, boots (redwing), leather festival, are you all interested??

Wonder why all leather topics revolve around 310 woodland. lol. Scared this leather thread gets locked or closes.. Try to pm Scasi and Lipsu about products/services regarding 31 0woodland and obbi good label yea?

platee

all the people here sure have a thing for leather uh! If u get what i mean :D

scasi

In 118 B.C., banknotes in the form of leather money were used in China. One-foot square pieces of white deerskin edged in vivid colors were exchanged for goods. This is believed to be the beginning of a kind of paper money. hehehe

that why we are all interested :)

--Lipsu--

@Veggie, PM sent!

Let's discuss something else rather than revolving 310 and Obbi Good ;)
(lets keep these to PMs and emails)

Anyone here in local (Singapore) has nice and evolved leather to show?
I've seen too many from Sufu or other forums, I'm curious to see some on HWZ :)

kazuki666

my apologies if my postings have caused any issues.

It wasnt really meant to target directly at any particular biz, individual or store. But then its more like seeking knowledge from the expertise.
If there are any others who are keen to pop in to share, i am sure all of us are happy to listen too :)

I will take note to take any direct qns to such biz individuals off the thread.
thanks

scasi

PEN%20Veg%20Tan%20Neck%20Strap%20and%20Lugg%206.JPG

PEN%20Veg%20Tan%20Neck%20Strap%20and%20Lugg%203.JPG

WX2%20Lite%20Mid%20Wallet%201.JPG

RW 877 Vintage Inspired....
WX2%20Brown%20Long%20Wallet%209.JPG

kazuki666

can share more abt this??? It reminds me of something kimutaku is using in his current dorama lor :s7:
like its dimension, quality of leather (soft & smooth or those thick chunky ones?) and of coz pricings:p
We can bring this offline if u feel better

Btw just curious. I see that leather which are in the brown shade seems to age nicely as the colors change. How abt the black ones???

scasi

are those camera straps suitable for heavier cams like dslrs?

these straps are good for 4/3 camera, because of the fixtures.
DSLR strap fixtures are long, can make but not that retro nice lah...

I using also a dslr, i will try to make 1 this week and show see nice anot.

scasi

can share more abt this??? It reminds me of something kimutaku is using in his current dorama lor :s7:
like its dimension, quality of leather (soft & smooth or those thick chunky ones?) and of coz pricings:p

Btw just curious. I see that leather which are in the brown shade seems to age nicely as the colors change. How abt the black ones???

dimension 6 x 4 x 0.4
leather is cowhide, uses 3oz leather

leather natural veg tan is wash color, as it ages it will form it color, black normally will get shinier.

for veg tan user, if you thrash it too much, when you go to a nice restaurant, the waitress will be shock if you tip them hehehehehe

scasi

BTW also, the kimutaku dvd come out liao meh? Where is your source? You are tokking about the lin chiling one or the one showing in SCV????

kazuki666

BTW also, the kimutaku dvd come out liao meh? Where is your source? You are tokking about the lin chiling one or the one showing in SCV????

tmr is finale eps8 lor.
have to say its one of his worst work so far, but imo not his fault or lin chiling's. The producer and scriptwriter cmi lah...

If u keen, pm me? This is more sensitive than talking abt leather here sia lol

dimension 6 x 4 x 0.4
leather is cowhide, uses 3oz leather

leather natural veg tan is wash color, as it ages it will form it color, black normally will get shinier.

for veg tan user, if you thrash it too much, when you go to a nice restaurant, the waitress will be shock if you tip them hehehehehe

what do u mean the waitress will be shock???
6 x 4 x 0.4, is by inch???

hmm... both veg tan and black sounds as interesting leh...

psst, the 30% voucher still valid.:p

scasi

6 inch width, 4 inch height and 0.5inch thick.

When veg tan is season, if you do not maintain with mink and protection, the wallet will look like a piece of bread, burn bread, and is quite rugged in look if you are in formal place.........

30% boh pakay liao.

The rest is PMED

kazuki666

hmm... quite big actally hor, abit like the siz of the yoshida porter wallet i am selling away...

i think black is safer lor if thats the case LOL

scasi

hmm... quite big actally hor, abit like the siz of the yoshida porter wallet i am selling away...

i think black is safer lor if thats the case LOL

The size of the wallet is measure to the back of a denim pockets, yes similar to yoshida porter wallet.

You see my "supermodel" fit pics
2010-06-30_21-29-15_532_orchard.jpg

The reason why this size because when you sit on your wallet, you will not feel a bulging feel (Of course dun stuff your entire life saving inside lah)

SpellSinger

hmm, i just realise that the tipof the leather patch still not impressed on the wallet...keeps getting caught on to my backpocket... :(

scasi

hmm, i just realise that the tipof the leather patch still not impressed on the wallet...keeps getting caught on to my backpocket... :(

Skive and burnished, once the leather set in, it will fit to the main body.

give it another week of use, if not call me again :D

SpellSinger

ok but i'm still a bit worried because i frequently take the wallet in and out from my backpocket, the tip gets tugged on quite alot. right now it's sticking out like dog ears if im not using it...i wonder if it will ever conform? would it better if it is just stitched down?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.