The Leather Thread

mikeeeey

just to share something I made recently.

I also love leather alot. and after reading this thread, decided to do some DIY myself with limited resources i can get my hands on..

i got this pen, INKA pen. its a keychain pen that i keep in my jeans pocket.. decided to make a leather wrap around it. 4th try then it looks alright.

original:
pens_stainless.jpg

after:
34916140818875935691100.jpg

--Lipsu--

my kohana veg tan wallet also arrived today!!!

just curious, the color of the leather changed IMMEDIATELY after i applied the mink oil.. is that normal? the oil seem to have being absorbed and color changed slightly darker..

i use this mink oil to apply, is that ok?

Oh... nice :)
Yes, mink oil takes sometime to settle in and get fully absorb. Usually, I spend oiling of my leathers at night while watching TV, after that I just leave them there until the next morning.
Changes colour immediately after application is normal, because it is moist by the oil.
Yes, most mink oil from Jap works.
Usually my advice is, love your wallet and keep using. This is the only way they are going to evolve nicely.

thanks for the info.

do i need several layers of coating? or just 1 layer for now will do, and maintain it every few weeks/months...?

Just maintain it as and when you think require, no standard rules. However, there is one thing I noticed when I was back in SG for holiday.
The weather is so humid that my perspiration can soak thru my Levi's 501 back pocket to the Veg Tan wallet in it. This creates a patch of damp area due to the sweat.
Prolong moisture on Veg Tan is no good for the leather, so probably you can take this into consideration.

Above are advices for general leather maintenance, not only for Obbi Good's leather.

Nice leather wallet, kazuki :)

Good work on your pen project, Mikeeey.
Love to see more locals getting appreciative towards leather :)

mikeeeey

Thanks for the info.

Got another qn. I only oiled the external sides. The internal i didnt oil it cos its difficult to reach into the slots and i dun wan uneven coating if i leave the inner alots un-oiled

Is it recommended to oil the internal as well?

--Lipsu--

Thanks for the info.

Got another qn. I only oiled the external sides. The internal i didnt oil it cos its difficult to reach into the slots and i dun wan uneven coating if i leave the inner alots un-oiled

Is it recommended to oil the internal as well?

It is recommended to oil the whole wallet, external and internal, even the inner card slots. Uneven coating is inevitable, just try as far as possible loh.

scasi

as promised, but sorry for the lousy pics
But as i dun have a cam, so i have to rely on my hp...

a cardholder by Deoart, a visual kei label

a long wallet by SexPot Revenge, another visual kei label

Wah!!!!.......:s31:
NICE!!! KENG!!!!
Anything With Skull is deifnately old sckool bad ass!!!

Happy to see such wallet here!! More more more!!

scasi

just to share something I made recently.

I also love leather alot. and after reading this thread, decided to do some DIY myself with limited resources i can get my hands on..

i got this pen, INKA pen. its a keychain pen that i keep in my jeans pocket.. decided to make a leather wrap around it. 4th try then it looks alright.

original:
pens_stainless.jpg

after:
34916140818875935691100.jpg

Innovative!! Hope to see the complete work!

mikeeeey

It is recommended to oil the whole wallet, external and internal, even the inner card slots. Uneven coating is inevitable, just try as far as possible loh.
thanks for the tip. just oiled it this morning and leave it to sun tan (damn its a cloudy day today) for the whole day... haha

kazuki666

Wah!!!!.......:s31:
NICE!!! KENG!!!!
Anything With Skull is deifnately old sckool bad ass!!!

Happy to see such wallet here!! More more more!!

haha. I like any stuff with skulls designs :D
btw, its not the brand Skull hor... :p

Its quite thin and soft, but abit fierce and noisy for workwear. Notice the 3 rings? It will clink clink every steps i walk. :S

--Lipsu--

thanks for the tip. just oiled it this morning and leave it to sun tan (damn its a cloudy day today) for the whole day... haha

did you take a before/after pics? It will be interesting to do have some of these pics for memories haha. When the leather is old and battered, looking back at the pics of its fresh leather reminds you how long you had the piece of leather :)

mikeeeey

did you take a before/after pics? It will be interesting to do have some of these pics for memories haha. When the leather is old and battered, looking back at the pics of its fresh leather reminds you how long you had the piece of leather :)
Oh ya! No leh.. Haha nvm. If u want to see its fresh look again just buy a new one to see. Afterall its worthwhile for the great quality

kazuki666

ask u all ya.
for the below wallet strap, how do u "hook" the right end to the pants de? The side without the hook
DR-1326-B.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.