The NERF Hobby

dradude

The longshot like jam alot....
and the quality is abit bad..? like got some scratches here and there and some of the orange paint getting onto the blue paint..

SgNerf

The longshot like jam alot....
and the quality is abit bad..? like got some scratches here and there and some of the orange paint getting onto the blue paint..

True, the Longshot does require some practice to use compared to other simpler nerf blasters (like the Maverick).

The Longshot also uses more extra paintwork than other nerf blasters, and the QC varies from unit to unit. Typical of toys, if you're lucky you get a well-painted unit, if not you get one that has some scuff marks and paint smudges (probably depends on whether the nerf factory staff over in china had his morning cup of kopi). :D

I guess you can touch-up your Longshots with some matched spray paint (or just re-spray the entire unit to your own colour combo). :)

dradude

speaking of paintjob what do u use to cover up the parts which u do not want to spray paint or u hand paint the gun?

sadistephen

hobby stores have some blue or yellow tap you can use to cover the stuff you dont want painted and use a pen knife to cut the extra bits off.....

im gonna spray my longshot silver,then spray it with clear blue....

i like shiny paint =p

SgNerf

Nerf Promo update:

Robinsons has just started their store-wide 20% christmas discount for card members (or 15% for non-members), and they now have Longshots, Mavericks, Hyperfires etc all in stock. Promo is valid until 24 Dec '08.

Good opportunity to get a set (or two). :)

dradude

Is there any recon left in sg?and the companies in sg got any plans on bringing in some more nerf?

timonsim

okay all there is no more Mavericks,Hyperfire in Compass Point Metro their Nerf stocks...BAD...and they only sell Night Finders and StrikeFire 1 and 2 Player sets ...haiz... why wont Singapore bring in some more Nerf Guns? zzz ...ahaha emptied my savings on the firefly haha saving up to get a Strikefire-----> good but only getting one player set anyone wants to buy a Strikefire too? we can get the 2 player set for cheaper at metro anyone? the cost divide by 2 actual price of the 2 player set is S$39.90 divide by 2 is S$19.95 to S$21.90 a good buy man and if anyone wants to buy pm me and if we buy it after that have a 1v1 or more (maybe my sis will come and she plays nerf well) -unbelievable!!!

...:::update:::...
okay...who wants a nerf war
near hougang i have 2 suitable place
for nerf wars all who wants pm or post
as for sadistephen if you want to come
it is at my block's badminton court that is big enough
for a nerf war address is hougang avenue 9 blk 925's badminton hall
if there are 4 and more ppl coming the nerf war will be prepared and the date is
next thursday 18/12/2008 1pm-5pm
for all who wants to come just post a reply not quoting the whole post!!
i hope you ppl come and everybody is invited!!! come earlier please like 12.45pm
each person is only be able to use 2 guns a primary and secondary
my next post will be the rules

XRebirthX

umm @Timon i have no idea what you said about the sharingan cos i stop watching it not long ago and all i know is thats its a mangekyou
SgNerf You may not know it but the rapid fire 20 was actually available in singapore at a point of time retailing at 79.90 as well
BADMINTON HALL IN HOUGANG????
OMG sounds like the place i played in the primary school south zone and nationals competition if i remember correctly yeah it was pretty big
Damn you complaining about longshot??Who cares its one heck of an awesome gun!

timonsim

..............................:::::::::::::::::::::::RULES::::::::::::::::::::::::::.............................

What to bring: 1 or 2 nerf guns depending on how many guns you have
nerf darts(stupid)
finally----------YOU

RULES: depending on how many people are coming teams will be selectedand appointed minimum 2 each team additional people must be fair like 3vs3 4vs4 5vs5 depending
and please do not bring a vulcan. cos i don't want you all to lose a hell lot of darts
those who only have a maverick or nightfinder only a gun like my sis (which i m the one lending her) please don't blame me if you are losing darts this is life.
if you are shoot believe it
if you shoot a person shout his name

there are 2 modes one is the solo slayer mode the other is the team war mode
i explain- solo slayer mode: you must shoot other players maximum 5 players others have to wait to KO someone out of the game shoot them 3 times and they are out

team war mode: either 2vs2,3vs3,4vs4 to clearly announce the game victory simply KO all the people in the other team that is the war.

if there is a prob in the rules simply post it cos i m a newbie in nerf wars i just got them from my friend that is a pro nerfer

sadistephen

tim,may i know who is you pro nerfer friend?

lol,anyway.....a badminton court doesnt seem like a gd place to play....
we cant hide we would just be exposed in the court......

should do in in a walled soccer court,
so we dont lose our darts.....
dunno its jst my opinion on what you should do...
anyway i cannot go nxt few weekdays i have a digipen course...

dumdum98

Just went Jusco last thurs, left with some Vulcan, a lot of firefly and rapid fire 20.

Vulcan 209.90 ringgit, Rapid Fire 99.90 Ringgit and Firefly 89.90 ringgit.

bought a vulcan and a rapid fire, was very impress with rapid fire 20, which fires all the 20 shots in like 1 sec.

timonsim

tim,may i know who is you pro nerfer friend?

lol,anyway.....a badminton court doesnt seem like a gd place to play....
we cant hide we would just be exposed in the court......

should do in in a walled soccer court,
so we dont lose our darts.....
dunno its jst my opinion on what you should do...
anyway i cannot go nxt few weekdays i have a digipen course...

umm there are a second place which is a park not far away from my house another place is the excercise corner behind the area which has lots of hiding places and more so you have a digipen course... since you cant make it this weekday sorry cos i really want you to come along.. my friend will not come since he sent me the rules but i edited something like the (stupid) haha so you will not come thursday 1pm-5pm?

dradude

Well i guess that mi, i apologise cause first time using longshot lah....
Erm sadistephen when u painting the longshot do u like take apart the longshot and then spray paint the 2 sperate sides or u just left it as 1 whole gun and spray paint all around??and what kind or colour combination you guys recomend....

sadistephen

20081214-230908.jpg

this is my phycho mod ls...this is so far my onli modded longshot and its really long.....
dont think i will bring it anywhere anytime soon..
but if u host the war maybe i can call some of my friends and use stock longshots...

timonsim

umm @Timon i have no idea what you said about the sharingan cos i stop watching it not long ago and all i know is thats its a mangekyou
SgNerf You may not know it but the rapid fire 20 was actually available in singapore at a point of time retailing at 79.90 as well
BADMINTON HALL IN HOUGANG????
OMG sounds like the place i played in the primary school south zone and nationals competition if i remember correctly yeah it was pretty big

so...you in? there is a choice of: a park which there is a so-called safe house
the badminton court
beside the badminton court there is a mini park there
also have a safe house but the mini park and also have
lots of hiding places very fun it is this thursday 18/12/2008

Wadafishy

o_O picture taken very very dark. Care to use flash? or u took it with your webcam?

Oh yea, did a check on my bro's vulcan, apparently the soldering of the copper wire to the motor was badly done, thin solder by those operator in china, like sgnerf said, maybe he hasn't had his cup of kopi in the morning yet.

sadistephen

i no camera.....
my com onli gt webcam....
but if u can see i have two recin barrels with the recon barrel at the end with the ls legs transferred under there,
i also have a dtg under the ls,
and have some spare tactical rails pasted at the sides of it....
also have some pvc i took from a stand i had....
i have sacrificed alort of stuff....
jst broke it apart today anyway...

goin to paint it shiny..... =o

Nerf Nerd

HI all, im new to nerfs!

i am going to ask some stupid questions, so please dont mind me :D

anyways, i just got my longshot. i want to paint it in a color scheme, so would anyone please tell he how to go about doing it?

do i have to disassemble the gun, then paint each half separately? what about priming? how to "delete" the logo? do i have to do any sanding? how long will the whole process of painting and drying take? finally, do i have to apply clear coat?

haha and here's another bunch of questions.

how big is the nerf community in sg? do you guys do alot of modifications? and i want to go for a war! but i only have 6 streamline darts! is that advisable?

haha thank you very alot :D

dradude im painting mine black and green. the nicer ones online seem to always be some black+ red/green/yellow/blue. looks damn "serious".

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.