The NERF Hobby

ravener

izzit just mi or ..... this thread is a little quiet (NOTE i am not complaining!!!!! so dun reply saying u ********** people are busy and u are complaining over small matter blah blah , i am just saying my opinion....)

maybe the nerf community here not big enough yet? planning to buy a maverick soon...

SgNerf

anyways anyone have a hornet?

One of my friends ordered a Hornet from the States. I had a quick look at it, quite interesting, very alien-style design.

He ordered the blue standalone version directly from Toys R Us USA website:

http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2958480

Actually, it might be a better idea to order the Unity Power System instead, can get 3 blasters (Titan, Hornet and Scout) in one package, save on shipping too:

http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2326183

Menaces

Sweet!! After reading this thread. it got me all hype-up.

Gosh.. u people.. :s13:
Going to the nearest Store after work today! :D

dradude

Erm sg nerf how much on avg a nerf gun when u shipp from states? and like how much the shipping fees?

Menaces

Wha piangz.. the OG beside SLS.. dun have..
They only have Twin pack left.... :(

SgNerf

Wha piangz.. the OG beside SLS.. dun have..
They only have Twin pack left.... :(

Yeah, just last month there were plenty of nerf stock in most of the stores, but i guess due to the huge popularity of the nerf guns, now all mostly sold out, so have to wait for their next shipments.

Anyways, there are still some stocks of the Nerf Maverick at Metro Paragon (better grab them soon before all gone too). :)

dradude

The total cost of shipping a nerf gun from the states can vary quite abit based on which model you are looking at. This is due to the different sizes of the product boxes and the various promos that run from time to time.

For example, a popular nerf gun like the Longshot (its box is one of the biggest), the USA to Singapore shipping cost (via vPost) works out to around S$80. Currently if you pay that shipping charge by UOB credit card you can get a 20% discount, so lets count it as around S$64.

The promo price and domestic shipping of a Nerf Longshot from Amazon.com is currently USD$29.99... or approx S$46. Therefore in this example, a Longshot would currently cost you around S$110+ in total to get from the states.

Note that I have not yet added in vPost's additional base shipping charge of S$13.24 if you are only shipping just that 1 item. If possible, its always a good idea to group and ship more items to spread out the base shipping cost.

Also note that the shipping charges i mention above is an estimate, because you wouldn't know exactly what size of the delivery box the packer uses. The delivery box can sometimes be 20%-30% bigger than the actual Nerf gun's box and you could end up having to pay even higher shipping charges 'cos they calculate by volumetric dimensions of the delivery box (not just by actual weight).

Here is a more detailed guide and some money saving tips:

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=32893837&postcount=95

:)
Omg so ex i just a secondary school student .......dun have so much money...haizz have to wait for sg to bring in lor....=.=

SgNerf

Yup, shipping items from the states will cost more, usually works out 50%-60% more than if the same item were retailed locally.

So if you can wait for local stores to stock it (hopefully they will eventually), it'll save you some cash. :)

sadistephen

Yup, shipping items from the states will cost more, usually works out 50%-60% more than if the same item were retailed locally.

So if you can wait for local stores to stock it (hopefully they will eventually), it'll save you some cash. :)

should have gotten my longshots like last year.....such a waste to have to spend a bomb on them now....

SgNerf

Yeah, i totally agree with you. :)

Next time when new nerf stock hits the local shelves, better rush down and grab a few boxes!

momojay

so does maverick fires like semi-auto weapon or need to cock each time to fire? pls advise....3q!

neobear

DSC_8235.jpg

my maverick under going modifications

ravener

Nerf Maverick - Tactical Rail Attachments (Red Dot Targeter, Flip-Up Sight & Sharpshooter Scope)

NerfMaverick06.jpg

Imho... everyone should get at least one for their collection, or even better... get two! :D

hmmm where can get the attachments?

SgNerf

so does maverick fires like semi-auto weapon or need to cock each time to fire? pls advise....3q!

For the Maverick, it operates like a classic single action six shooter revolver, you'll need to cock the "hammer" (slide back mechanism) each time to fire. The cylinder barrel will auto rotate when you squeeze the trigger and line up the next dart.

The design is such that with practice, you could cock and fire quite fast (aka wild west style).

If you are keen on Semi-Auto/Full-Auto Nerf guns, check out the Vulcan or MagStrike.

:)

ricky1

any bros know where to get 1/2 inch foam backer rod in singapore? wanna make my own stefan darts liao..:s13: thanks

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.