The Nexus 4 Thread

emuji

The one is possible to buy...u need to go to chrome book site instead of playstore to buy...its Intel version and damn ex....this arm one is the one I bought cos is much more affordable....

oh ok. i saw the one with WiFi+3G but only available on Amazon and Best Buy... super drooling liao :s13:

Apparently someone previously said the Amex must be not from local one is it? Haiz.....this is a dreadful headache.

So far only concierge service like buyforme seems to be the safer options, they are afterall based in US with US credit card and shipping address. Only risk via that route (less the higher pricing) is that by the time u direct them to buy, no stocks liao. :D

If cannot get directly from Play Store then wait for reseller lor....or till more loopholes appear. :D

apparently so. our fate is sealed, i guess :o

just to test things out as well, I went ahead and ordered Nexus 7 cover from Playstore last Monday,order went through using mg OCBC debit Mastercard, however it seems they haven't deducted my account yet even though the order was already sent for delivery and I received email indicating they have already charged my card. I'm a bit worried they might suspend my Google wallet account.

so it works. can you share the outcome? very curious and if does work, you will be seeing me applying for debit card in a jiffy :D

Coming back to nexus 4, aren't you guys worried about the low in call volume with the phone?

Every review keep mentioning this issue.

End of the day its still a phone and its primary job is to make phone calls right?

apparently, TechCrunch has quite favorable review and the reviewer Chris, said that the calls were "call quality was clear and crisp" though he did mentioned that the "main speaker volume could’ve been a bit louder".

read it here

that sound problem has plagued me regardless of what phone i use. been on iPhone 3 up to 4 and Nexus One in between but i always can't seem to hear the phone rings or alerts when the phone is my pocket but those cases are in shopping malls or roadside. so i guess i can live with it :s13:

Ratix0

Low speaker phone volume is totally differebnt from low in call volume... Nobody uses their speakerphone for calls so why is that a concern?

Furthermore reviews have sung praise of the speakers so im not so sure where that is coming from.

lordlad0

Just to clarify everybody once and for all..

you need a PURE AMEX card...not a AMEX Black by DBS. Not a Citibank AMEX. An AMEX card not issued by any other organisation other than AMEX itself!!!!!

Below is my google wallet...when trying to buy music in google play store (via VPN).

You see, my DBS Mastercard is immediately greyed out.......while is the AMEX has gotten through.

Guys...please, repeat many times liao....and please, applying AMEX is easy and doesn't requires much. Just get the white AMEX Rewards card. That card even students can apply because the entry requirements is low....credit limit is only SGD2000 only though..

googlewallet.jpg

xonix

Low speaker phone volume is totally differebnt from low in call volume... Nobody uses their speakerphone for calls so why is that a concern?

Furthermore reviews have sung praise of the speakers so im not so sure where that is coming from.

"Nobody" is a bit exaggerated. "Not everybody" is more apt IMHO. :s13:

Most of the previews/reviews I've read are generally positive on the telephony aspect with some concerns for the muffled ring tones when phone is laid flat covering the speaker grill.

Here's one review that touches on poor in call volume: Review: LG Google Nexus 4 - Mobile Phones - CNET Asia

agentxq49

you need a PURE AMEX card...not a AMEX Black by DBS. Not a Citibank AMEX. An AMEX card not issued by any other organisation other than AMEX itself!!!!!

Below is my google wallet...when trying to buy music in google play store (via VPN).

You see, my DBS Mastercard is immediately greyed out.......while is the AMEX has gotten through.

Guys...please, repeat many times liao....and please, applying AMEX is easy and doesn't requires much. Just get the white AMEX Rewards card. That card even students can apply because the entry requirements is low....credit limit is only SGD2000 only though..

googlewallet.jpg

So what do you put for the billing and shipping address?

galapogos

I guess this is meant for your shipping address. How abt billing address? Do you use local address or US address?
Billing address has to be the same as the one registered in your credit card.

kennyboy

googlewallet.jpg
Zhun bo.....students also got S$30000 per annum? :D

The Rewards Card | American Express Singapore

UnRiVJuNo

I am sorry. Pretty noob with networking here. How you guys visit those nexus websites when it is not really available here in Singapore?

lordlad0

Haha... So u used the US address, provided by CGW, for both shipping & billing addresses...

Like dat also can har...
why not....i also use same method for amazon and US Playstation network....you will have a copy of the bill via email and comgateway will also keep and send the physical copy of the bill to you as well.....

mun

Great. Thanks for sharing.

Will do the same for my coming purchases :)

nats7798

can any kind soul provide a detail guide to purchasing the Nexus 4.. from buy to checkout to cc payment.. to forwarders..

will be v helpful if there is such a guide.

emuji

why not....i also use same method for amazon and US Playstation network....you will have a copy of the bill via email and comgateway will also keep and send the physical copy of the bill to you as well.....

sweet tips. thanks! :)

nats7798

googlewallet.jpg

so verdict is must use amex issued card..

sg amex also ok..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.