The Nexus 4 Thread

expositox

Get a ringke fusion, a case that protects the phone while showing off your sparkly white back. The sides are black though :/

Jin jealous of your white n4!!!!!

walamak88

Get a ringke fusion, a case that protects the phone while showing off your sparkly white back. The sides are black though :/

Jin jealous of your white n4!!!!!

till now havent been delivered le mine..i scheduled around 7-10 pm for delivery..hmm..btw,it comes with official bumper so i think case wont be necessary..correct me if im wrong

Mach3.2

u buy from US will be export set n u will have the contacts caller id issue.
What smoke you talking, had the haze got to you?:crazy:

Local sets and the Google sets are running the same ROM, unless of you flash a custom ROM..:s22:

So if the issue you described(?) is present in "export" sets, then the issue is affecting all nexus 4...

cwtanz

How much to repair power button at LG Singapore? mine one end sink in. Button not flush.

How much to send back US Google?
not worth sending back to google unless serious problem. my set developed screen problem after 2 weeks, where a section was not responsive to touch. cost S$83 to courier back to US plus $18 postage again (by vpost) for a replacement set.

weiyang76

not worth sending back to google unless serious problem. my set developed screen problem after 2 weeks, where a section was not responsive to touch. cost S$83 to courier back to US plus $18 postage again (by vpost) for a replacement set.

Update: I just sent my phone back. It cost only $21.70 SGD inclusive of tracking number & a brown-parcel bubble wrap over nexus 4 package. It will take 6-8 days to arrive in US.

Previous post: Too expensive! Cost for overseas parcel by our local postage is SGD $50 first 0.5kg, see their rates on their website. CGW charges USD 45 flat for any return international parcel.

hey guys, im keen in getting nexus 4. however, i have some questions.

1) understand that nexus4 supports only hspa+. does it have much of different compared to 4g?
2) what about the warranty if my friend from aussie help to purchase from google store?
1. I moved from iPhone 4 to Nexus 4, the surfing speeds has greatly improved from 3G to 3.5G.
2. If it's more expensive, then buy from Playstore USA.

walamak88

bro ah abit lag eh.. HALO already open source liao, custom ROMs can have HALO already. Personally I'm on PAC rom, they have halo also.

Jin shiok, I agree :o

wahhh open source liao..i tot still available for PA nia..hahaha..maybe for now will stick with stock first, but my next ROM is gonna be PAC rom..thx bro

swanpeach

im using pac rom
with pie.
but battery like super fast drains eh
how u guys coping with it
music wise its awesome with my akg earphones, comes with appolo

expositox

im using pac rom
with pie.
but battery like super fast drains eh
how u guys coping with it
music wise its awesome with my akg earphones, comes with appolo

I left home with 30% juice, managed to squeeze out 1 hour of whatsapping/fbing/gaming and 1 hour idle on 3G. Matr1x kernel.

weiyang76

Hi all

Good news for all Nexus 4 import owners.

I just sent my phone back through SingPost. It cost only $21.70 SGD inclusive of tracking number & a brown-parcel envelope with bubble wrap over nexus 4 package.

Sign up for SingPost's Small Packets (AIR) $17.90 + $2.20 to have the faulty phonesent to the states.
  • It will take 6-8 days to arrive in US,
  • and another 8-14 days for the phone to arrive at LG Electronics.

I won't cover much about how to use CGW since most of you knows how to use it to bring in Nexus 4. When the new phone reaches CGW, you will need to return the faulty phone for RMA within 21 days. If you use singpost's slow services, you will need to request for authorization hold (extension to returning the phone). CGW will take 2-3 days for the phone to be sent to you.

Nov 13 2013 Update to cheaters who are intending to report lost of the phone: Google will track the IMEI and device serial on their backend servers to check if you are cheating them of the phone.

Nov 13 2013 Update: If your phone arrives in US, and it's lost in freight to LG Electronics, Google may waive off the fee since it's not really your fault. They based it through the tracking number you provide from DHL/Fedex/SingPost whichever services you take to send the phone over to US.

Also, send back all original packaging with accessories or LG may charge you for every missing accessories. I highly doubt they will charge you for a missing manual, usb cable, or even the pin for sim card slot removal.

Total cost to fix my phone, SGD $35.45
  • CGW - US $11.00 or SGD $13.75 (free upgrade to express 3-5 days)
  • SingPost - SGD $21.70 (6-8 days delivery + tracking + parcel envelope)

Do not mail out the phone before the new phone arrives at your doorstep.

Here are SingPost services you can use to send your item back. Apparently, SingPost mentioned that many singaporeans use this the standard option very often to ship items to US. Both services are delivered in the same fashion, it's just a matter of time (stored in their warehouse) before it reaches US.

vjPLNiK.png

My nexus 4 phone was down for 1 week+. The new one came back with new audio design. It's all well-worth it for the replacement overseas than local LG that replaces only the broken parts. Since I got all new parts and phone, I'll recommend you to do the same as well than to go back LG Singapore.

The phone does not support 2.1A chargers well and screen still goes alittle cranky.

squeeish

Charging at 2.1A is crazy.

Careful what chargers you use on your phone. Cranky screen might be caused by bad chargers.

I believe it could be because of the china charger I used to charge this phone. The phone tend to behave cranky whenever I do charging. It made the phone unusable whenever it's charging. And recently started to crash in the middle of the night. The screen also behaved very weirdly and unresponsive shortly after the charge and i had to power off/on screen to have it functioning normally again. After the impact was done, even after I switch back to iPad 2's 2.1A charger the screen also behaves weirdly. My screen/battery might have been faulty already.

swanpeach

what is the correct charger to use?
the USB cable they gave is like super lousy eh and the 2 pin american plug,
what are the apps u guys have

Mach3.2

I have no issues charging using my nexus 7 charger, the phone only draw what is required from the charger. The charger don't push 2A to phone, it is rated up to 2A..

ksrokiller

Hi all

Good news for all Nexus 4 import owners.

Just an update: I just sent my phone back through SingPost. It cost only $21.70 SGD inclusive of tracking number & a brown-parcel bubble wrap over nexus 4 package. It will take 6-8 days to arrive in US destination address. Google requires you to send it back within 21 days upon reaching CGW/Borderlinux/US mailing address. You need to phone them up if you need extension, they gladly gave it for customers outside of US.

Total cost to fix my phone, SGD $35.45
  • CGW - US $11.00 or SGD $13.75 (free upgrade to express 3-5 days)
  • SingPost - SGD $21.70 (6-8 days delivery)

My nexus 4 phone was down for 1 week+. The new one came back with new audio design. It's all well-worth it.

The phone does not support 2.1A chargers well and screen still goes alittle cranky.

Need to pay gst to cgw? Does singpost provide insurance for the parcel?

weiyang76

what is the correct charger to use?
the USB cable they gave is like super lousy eh and the 2 pin american plug,
what are the apps u guys have

Use the charger provided. I had another friend charging with iPhone 4's charger on his Nexus 4 without issues since day 1.

I have no issues charging using my nexus 7 charger, the phone only draw what is required from the charger. The charger don't push 2A to phone, it is rated up to 2A..

Good to hear that! Now maybe we should avoid non-google nexus chargers that are rated more than 2A.

Need to pay gst to cgw? Does singpost provide insurance for the parcel?

No need. Tell the singpost personnel that it is for returning to the manufacturer - show them the shipping label to help them understand your situation. You will need to write "FOR RETURN" under declaration portion with the item detail.

Yes theres insurance. SingPost - Send Document/Parcel

expositox

So I was playing around and flashing random stuff, then I had enough fun and decided to restore from my nandroid backup.

...restored, all my app data gone. My settings and pictures are still there, but just my app data lost. Of all things to lose, it has to be my app data..

Better back up your Titanium Backups before you end up like me.. Didn't use TB because I trusted my nandroid backup..

Time to change phone... Bye bye N4 community :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.