The Nexus 4 Thread

kennyboy

BAD NEWS GUYS, I believe this post should be bumped for awareness time to time.

YAWN......
Chey....servicing is already better than some companies liao.

Samsung don't even service export sets (even if they selling same model locally), tell u ship back or suck thumb. Throw money at them they also don't want. :(

At the end of the day, u want cheap, buy from overseas, don't expect to have your cake and eat it too. :D

kennyboy

i think can always dump or download the factory images and decrypt those drivers...

In fact, if you go to Nexus factory images page...it's up for download now. Just unzip and find the Radio.img and you can get the baseband radio img.

Not open sourcing the drivers in AOSP (for now) is only a small roadblock...
Just u didn't read my follow up post. :D

lordlad0

BAD NEWS GUYS, I believe this post should be bumped for awareness time to time.

I just got off the phone with LG Mobile Singapore.
They gave me a definite answer that although their Facebook page does mention "Hi *******, LG Singapore would provide servicing for the Nexus 4 even if it is bought from the Google Play store. Thank you."

SERVICING IS NOT EQUAL TO INTERNATIONAL WARRANTY.
Please note that any Nexus 4 handsets that are purchased OUTSIDE of Singapore, are not covered under warranty.

LG Singapore can and will service your phone if necessary, BUT IT WILL BE CHARGEABLE.
Charges are variable.

So please note this before your purchase if you decided to purchase because of the misunderstanding that occurred on facebook.

Regards,
Shawn.

edit: So i just checked the LG Singapore facebook page again, and somehow words have been changed here and there.
on one post it only mentions servicing, another post mentioned servicing and warranty. gonna call again.

edit2: Well it's 6pm and the call couldn't get through, the guy gave me a definitive NO on LG phones having international warranty.
however i'm looking at facebook posts saying : "the Nexus 4 mobile phones purchased directly from Google Play store will also receive servicing and warranty from LG Singapore."

Hoping for the best, and will try to call back tomorrow.
like what i commented way back, ppl expecting international warranty on imported stuff need to check on your head. Asus can service international purchased N7 and that's a kind gesture on their part.

I repeat, if you want to import stuff from overseas, DO NOT EXPECT ANY WARRANTY!!!

THIS IS THE RISK YOU HAVE TO TAKE. IF YOU DON'T, THEN WAIT FOR LOCAL RELEASE OR BUY OTHER LOCAL RELEASE PHONES!!!!!

lordlad0

Not much buzz about nexus 4 in SG. . Or just my wrong observation. .??
No buzz because IT"S NOT ON SALES IN SINGAPORE...

geez......i'm not sure whether having large sales of nexus phone is a good idea now..

some of you don't know the idea of the nexus phone and keep complaining.....

the nexus phone is not like iphone or other carrier brand android phones...

it's a dev and unlocked phone and to showcase pure android......

but now so many ppl want to buy and yet they keep complaining here and there...

the nexus brand sorta diluted...

i don't remember i complained last year when i bought the galaxy nexus for SGD900 via import before singtel bring in and i learn everything via xda instead of expecting ppl to deliver all the solution to your doorstep...ditto for my nexus one. I unlock my nexus one practically with my own guts and leap of faith..

if you want commercial phone...got get a S3, One X or iPhone or something. The Nexus is not for you.

If you want nexus, be prepare to learn....i mean learn, not just opening mouth and expect ppl to spoonfeed info.

kennyboy

geez......i'm not sure whether having large sales of nexus phone is a good idea now..

i don't remember i complained last year when i bought the galaxy nexus for SGD900 via import before singtel bring in and i learn everything via xda instead of expecting ppl to deliver all the solution to your doorstep...ditto for my nexus one. I unlock my nexus one practically with my own guts and leap of faith..

if you want commercial phone...got get a S3, One X or iPhone or something. The Nexus is not for you.

If you want nexus, be prepare to learn....i mean learn, not just opening mouth and expect ppl to spoonfeed info.
Aiyah.....dun emo lah. Make u look like snobbish brat only. :(

They dunno let them wallow in their misery lor. U like that people think u own this forum. :)

It's a free market, they wanna buy, not up to u or me to stop them.

lordlad0

Aiyah.....dun emo lah. Make u look like snobbish brat only. :(

They dunno let them wallow in their misery lor. U like that people think u own this forum. :)

It's a free market, they wanna buy, not up to u or me to stop them.
...true....

not snobbish....used to, u go to a nexus forum, you will see alot of interest discussion about modding and so forth......i don't want it to it degrade to become iphone forum...

kennyboy

...true....

not snobbish....used to, u go to a nexus forum, you will see alot of interest discussion about modding and so forth......i don't want it to it degrade to become iphone forum...
Aiyah.....dun like then dun read lor. Last time I also sian to see such crap, until I realize this not my grandfather forums. Just scroll through or click the close tab button lor.

U know what u know is good enough. Help/suan those who deserve it, then bye bye....no need to get so emo. It's just the internet..... :D

justln

It's just a phone to be used, what brand? :s13:
You sound like a iPhone/Android elite cussing everyone who doesn't conform to your idea.

sakuragi8 just asked an innocent question but overreact much? :s13:

I'm buying this just because it's cheap and has a big screen good for my mother.
I don't intend to root or install anything besides PPSTV and some games for her.

sakuragi8

hi, what i am trying to say is that seems like friends around not aware of Google launching this phone which is quite affordable and with nice specs.. nothing more.. it does not bring much attention like other phones launch event.. :)
and i don't think i will root it also..

kennyboy

hi, what i am trying to say is that seems like friends around not aware of Google launching this phone which is quite affordable and with nice specs.. nothing more.. it does not bring much attention like other phones launch event.. :)
and i don't think i will root it also..
Not aware also sold out like hotcakes. If popular then Google servers instant death liao. :D

Be thankful for small favors..... :D

kennyboy

It's just a phone to be used, what brand? :s13:
You sound like a iPhone/Android elite cussing everyone who doesn't conform to your idea.

sakuragi8 just asked an innocent question but overreact much? :s13:

I'm buying this just because it's cheap and has a big screen good for my mother.
I don't intend to root or install anything besides PPSTV and some games for her.
You are a good son..... :D Personally I would think a N4 to be way over-specced for my mom. :D

Xavier Lim

Just a simple question...don't flame me ah.

If purchase by myself, through the internet (via comgateway or Borderlinx), what is the total estimated cost in Singapore dollars? Inclusive of shipping, taxes, etc.

KB

like what i commented way back, ppl expecting international warranty on imported stuff need to check on your head. Asus can service international purchased N7 and that's a kind gesture on their part.

I repeat, if you want to import stuff from overseas, DO NOT EXPECT ANY WARRANTY!!!

THIS IS THE RISK YOU HAVE TO TAKE. IF YOU DON'T, THEN WAIT FOR LOCAL RELEASE OR BUY OTHER LOCAL RELEASE PHONES!!!!!

alot of things international warranty already ma... asian companies probably slow to catch on this part though

emuji

Just a simple question...don't flame me ah.

If purchase by myself, through the internet (via comgateway or Borderlinx), what is the total estimated cost in Singapore dollars? Inclusive of shipping, taxes, etc.

if only you have read through the forum, if only :D

disclaimer: i am not an elitist :p

shawniiex

Bro, are you on XDA?
If you're tired of HWZ's user base of a certain mobile phone, just move there dude.
I've given up on proper Singaporeans using Android for what it is.
Sometimes when i'm on the train, i wonder how many people using their S3, Note are rooted.

Get on XDA and you won't have to face any of this crap.

If people wanna get the Nexus 4 and complain, just let them? It's a beautiful phone albeit with a few shortcomings, order your phone, get it, root the **** out of it. Live the rest of your life on XDA until the next Nexus phone.
At least that's what i'm gonna do.

Ratix0

Rooting and unlocking the bootloader sure has a lot of benefits. Whether the users want to take the leap is up to them. Some wants to use the phone without any hassle like a fruity phone, who is to comment otherwise? My 2c is that there is no point showing an elitist stance or shoving it down to others. Its like shoving down your religious belief down someone else's throat.

I rooted and unlocked my HTC Desire HD as well as HP Touchpad and played with it extensively enough to have a good feel of the android modding community, and occasionally tell people the benefits and problems (mostly related to non nexus phones, they can be quite a headache trying to root and rom it) of rooting and installing custom roms. People who are interested will come and learn more from me, people who arn't can continue living in their own happy world, nothing wrong with that.

Despite the Nexus being a developer phone, its a great phone to use by default. It touts top end SOC, decent battery, and pure stock android which is arguably better than any other forms of skins and extra bloat features you see on other phones. Why shouldn't it go mainstream? I for one would like to see Nexus become mainstream because its simply beautiful and streamlined unlike Touchwiz or Sense, which I feel have given Android a name of being messy/user-unfriendly.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.