The Nexus 4 Thread

kennyboy

Guys, you can't keep comparing it to the price Google is offering it direct. Google is most probably subsidizing the price of the phone itself, that's why they only sell it in places where they can offer Play Store sales of music/movies/magazines/books so in order to recuperate their investment. Same for nearly all of their hardware products.

Malaysia launched it at RM1,649, reduced to RM1,499 with a 3mth "contract" with Digi.
UK £399 for 16GB edition on Pay & Go, a prepaid plan
T-Mobile to sell Nexus 4 for US$499 off-contract.

These are the prices that one should properly compare to, without Google or telco subsidy. So we not getting shafted that much. But yes, the alternative is much easier on the wallet. :D

kEvinErd

Guys, you can't keep comparing it to the price Google is offering it direct. Google is most probably subsidizing the price of the phone itself, that's why they only sell it in places where they can offer Play Store sales of music/movies/magazines/books so in order to recuperate their investment. Same for nearly all of their hardware products.

Malaysia launched it at RM1,649, reduced to RM1,499 with a 3mth "contract" with Digi.
UK £399 for 16GB edition on Pay & Go, a prepaid plan
T-Mobile to sell Nexus 4 for US$499 off-contract.

These are the prices that one should properly compare to, without Google or telco subsidy. So we not getting shafted that much. But yes, the alternative is much easier on the wallet. :D

But i can't understand why Google choose to launch Nexus in India and not Singapore..... Makes no sense to me.

jedi5diah

But i can't understand why Google choose to launch Nexus in India and not Singapore..... Makes no sense to me.

just count the population and you'll know why :s13:

SG also don't have official apple retail store...

we are last priority...

kennyboy

just count the population and you'll know why :s13:

SG also don't have official apple retail store...

we are last priority...
Going by that logic then I wonder why would any company launch any product here. :D

Not to mention having a Google branch set up here, Maps navigation.

Sometimes we must understand we are not the center of the universe. If we don't get something from others, it doesn't necessarily means they hate us. That would just be the indication of a puny ego. :(

savage

Heh. anyway I just hope someday we will get Google Services here. Like books, movies, videos music and all.
There are workarounds now but I just hope it becomes official.

kifo

Ever since I set my google acc to my amex card, I already enjoy the full Google Play experience. I can buy books, music and movies normally. No VPN required on my phone. I only need vpn on my PC.

cran87

anyone knows if the Nexus4 sold by LG sg come with telco subsidies?

kennyboy

Ever since I set my google acc to my amex card, I already enjoy the full Google Play experience. I can buy books, music and movies normally. No VPN required on my phone. I only need vpn on my PC.
Thanks for the newsflash. :D

kennyboy

Imagine, if that was the contracted price, there would be a LOT more kpkb here. :D

jedi5diah

itz not easy to go thru online media distribution WW as every country has their own censorship etc. currently apple store is the first to punch thru the barrier. hav to give them the credit.

swgj86

Eh? It's stated on their Web page though that it's available through the telcos? Hmm... LG sure likes to flip pratas
Hi kEvinErd,

I did not see any statements on LG website that say the Nexus 4 is available thru the telcos.

kennyboy

Eh? It's stated on their Web page though that it's available through the telcos? Hmm... LG sure likes to flip pratas
You dun anyhow whack leh. Where got say telcos carry?

http://www.todayonline.com/mobile/nexus-4-launches-singapore

SINGAPORE — Announced last October and launched in the United States in November, Google’s Nexus 4 smartphone finally reaches our shores today.

A collaboration between Google and LG, the Nexus 4 has been getting rave reviews. Technology website ExpertReviews said in its review that the LG and Google had struggled to keep up with demand since its launch.

An LG spokesperson confirms there will be enough handsets available at selected phone retailers such as GadgetWorld and Best Denki. For the full list of retail shops, check http://www.lg.com/sg.

Running on the latest Android 4.2.2 Jelly Bean, the Nexus 4 features a brilliantly sharp 4.7-inch display. Images are represented in full detail on its 1280 x 768 pixel, 320 ppi True HD IPS Plus screen. Pictures displayed have adequate contrast, even in the harsh noon sun.

Thanks to its Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 Pro chipset, quad-core 1.5GHz processor, surfing on the Nexus 4 is pretty responsive and does not lag even when I was scrolling through pages. Web browsing is speedy and videos on YouTube loads with hardly a breather.

At 139g, the Nexus 4 is lightweight but has a nice heft that gives it the premium solid feel that I prefer.

However, I was quite disappointed the Nexus 4 did not have a removable battery, even though its 2100mAH battery lasted a decent eight to 10 hours on a single charge. Not having a removable cover also means there was no hidden miniSD slot for further expansion.

Google’s personal assistant Google Now is also enabled for the Nexus 4. Designed for the Jelly Bean OS, Google Now took a while to learn my habits. By noon, it had tried to tell me not to go out for lunch because of the unbearable heat then provided me with directions cheerfully when I ignored its advice. One of the joys of Android phones is the gesture typing. Words magically appear as your glide over the keys, and it is no different for the Nexus 4. If anything, the smartphone’s responsiveness just makes typing a joy.

Android fans will like the Nexus 4 for the pure unadulterated Android experience but it won’t win anyone over from the other camps.

Sold without contract, the 16GB Nexus 4 retails today at S$668.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.