The Nexus 4 Thread

jedi5diah

the toolkit options for drivers only the last one works which is to disable driver sign verification.

i'm using rock solid stock from factory img. i did side adb update on nexus 7 before but could get it work on nexus 4 as fast boot refuse to recognise my device. no choice use toolkit n finally it recognised rem to press ok on the phone for usb debugging lol...

the biggest issue of kitkat for me is "media rescan" is changed, the only way now is to reboot device which a pain. so only do file management on desktop not on the phone with apps before someone fix or come up with the 4.4 version.

btw don't feel too bad on nexus 5 arrival (i'll get next yr as PS4 is priority lol...), nexus 4 is still a rocking solid phone!

swanpeach

I Seriousness think the nexus 5 is not a good upgrade now over the 4.
just installed kitkat on nexus 4 and its so smooth and nice!

jedi5diah

tbh 5 inch is shiok la... plus i like matt finish than glossy back. you can skip n wait for the next nexus. but on software front nexus 4 is my best ever phone experience on stock, never tot of rooting at all. only impatience of kitkat i unlock boot LOL... but i'm still running pure stock its just that amazing!

jedi5diah

uc

in celebration with Kitkat!

mun

tbh 5 inch is shiok la... plus i like matt finish than glossy back. you can skip n wait for the next nexus. but on software front nexus 4 is my best ever phone experience on stock, never tot of rooting at all. only impatience of kitkat i unlock boot LOL... but i'm still running pure stock its just that amazing!

Wait till you have rooted and installed TouchControl - you will be speechless by then... :s13:

swanpeach

u guys using the new kitkat on your nexus 4?
i changed the build.prop and its so much nicer!,
and the full screen .. so niceeeee

jtec14

just in case u need help...

fastboot flash system *location of the system.img file*
fastboot flash boot *location of the boot.img file*
fastboot format cache

do it in this sequence, will keep all your apps and settings intact while upgrade...do not fastboot flash userdata as it will factory reset your device.

Thank you, I edited the flash-all.bat and remove the "-w".
Is it me, the screen seems sharper after the upgrade. :D

jtec14

I still haven't got over N4, just upgraded to 4.4. And my N5 still sealed in box.. lol

jtec14

you installed the google launcher? Seems nice, maybe I should install also, now using nova launcher.

jedi5diah

please share how u did it? thanks. because i'm reading those flash able zip is getting loops...

I still haven't got over N4, just upgraded to 4.4. And my N5 still sealed in box.. lol

OMG you are insane...if i were you i'll be licking my N5 non stop liao lol...

BTW the transparent bar/fullscreen is only compatible with some apps atm... it will take awhile till most apps updated their apps if they wanted to.

swanpeach

downlaod this from the playstore. called build.prp editor.
then edit the fole that says 320 to a lesser value. im usign 240 now. just to mess around.

swanpeach

Try build.prop editor from play store..find ro.sf.lcd_density..change the 320 value to 300 or 280...or according to you

P.s. if that doesn't work... Use root explorer..go to system...longpress build.prop...open in text editor...find the ro.sf.lcd_density...change the value...then save...reboot you phone

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

jtec14

OMG you are insane...if i were you i'll be licking my N5 non stop liao lol...

BTW the transparent bar/fullscreen is only compatible with some apps atm... it will take awhile till most apps updated their apps if they wanted to.

:D:D:D:D I dun forgot the old times easily.

jedi5diah

Try build.prop editor from play store..find ro.sf.lcd_density..change the 320 value to 300 or 280...or according to you

P.s. if that doesn't work... Use root explorer..go to system...longpress build.prop...open in text editor...find the ro.sf.lcd_density...change the value...then save...reboot you phone

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

hey you know what to change so get transparent lock screen?
Edit: done!

uc

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.