The Nexus 5 Thread

chinhan5129

You are not alone man. I am having the same issue. Over one day already but no email, no status change and nothing at all. But I think they are reviewing our accounts in this case and somebody mentioned that it might take about 48hrs. :s8:
yea its true I rang up their support line just now then they informed me they are still in a reviewing process thus the charge has not been made and is in "Pending"
Hope that's the case..

xonix

I really like the G2. The handling is one of the best, the display is GORGEOUS to the max, and I like the KnockOn feature. The camera is not bad too!

BUT one major turn off is the slow software update from LG side. And of cos the LG interface.

If only the N5 design sticks closer to the G2 - e.g the display and camera ....

Imho...taking into consideration the price and effort required to buy Nexus 5, it is makes more sense to buy G2 instead.

With the specifications so close, up to date custom Rom should not be any problems.

bradputt

You are not alone man. I am having the same issue. Over one day already but no email, no status change and nothing at all. But I think they are reviewing our accounts in this case and somebody mentioned that it might take about 48hrs. :s8:

i got 2 orders at US playstore pending now..... so sian.

no deliver by date now.

etoile

yea its true I rang up their support line just now then they informed me they are still in a reviewing process thus the charge has not been made and is in "Pending"
Hope that's the case..

We better hope it goes through well. :D

kashix

even if release in SG by LG SG, the 16GB model probably cost around the same as the G2 leh. :s22:

I really like the G2. The handling is one of the best, the display is GORGEOUS to the max, and I like the KnockOn feature. The camera is not bad too!

BUT one major turn off is the slow software update from LG side. And of cos the LG interface.

I really in serious dilemma leh, can anyone really help me justify my purchase? If I get G2 I sure need to root and flash one and now CM 10.2 not stable yet, still nightlies :( N5 comes stock with 4.4 but god knows when is it available . :(

swgj86

So honored that a HWZ editor replied me. :s13:

The fact that LG mobile SG didn't even have a media set to circulate around tech sites for reviews/first look probably reflect on how insignificant the N5 is to them compared to other bigger players like Asus or Samsung...

At least there was a leak of N5 at Malaysia LG prior to the official release date.
hahaha. not editor, me just a writer. LOLZ.

believe me when I said i chased the peeps over at LG Singapore & Google Singapore in the weeks leading up to the launch, and on Friday.

The LG folks told me that the Nexus 5 is not up to them to decide even though they are the manufacturer. Google decides, not them.

As to whether LG SG has N5 units or prototypes, I do not know either. but its approved in IDA website already so .... .... I still think LG SG will price the N5 quite exp so as to not harm the sales of its G2.

tankerglenn

must faster release in SG :( if not i have to hoot G2 liao :(

That's a damn good idea man. But I don't like the LG logo in front leh.

Get a G2 then flash cyanogen lor. :)

zenify.me

hahaha. not editor, me just a writer. LOLZ.

believe me when I said i chased the peeps over at LG Singapore & Google Singapore in the weeks leading up to the launch, and on Friday.

The LG folks told me that the Nexus 5 is not up to them to decide even though they are the manufacturer. Google decides, not them.

As to whether LG SG has N5 units or prototypes, I do not know either. but its approved in IDA website already so .... .... I still think LG SG will price the N5 quite exp so as to not harm the sales of its G2.

They can choose to make it only available via Google SG play store and not available for telco!
Since Nexus series isn't really advertised that much locally anyway....

IntelFlash

If it is officially in spore, touch wood anything happenes to n5.. At least lg Singapore provides techical support in spore without having to ship back to origin country. This is gd.
Depends, if your set is from US/JP.

They can say they can't service sets with power specifications not same as SG at all.
Afterall, they don't have to stock spares for overseas sets.
They don't really have to obligate, depends on service level.

squeeish

That's a damn good idea man. But I don't like the LG logo in front leh.

Get a G2 then flash cyanogen lor. :)

My flashing days are over. Ever since my first Android I've always been using Cyanogen. Might as well get a Nexus device for true stock experience.

skylines

They can choose to make it only available via Google SG play store and not available for telco!
Since Nexus series isn't really advertised that much locally anyway....

Google play/store Singapore does not sell device till today. Chances of it for N5?

IntelFlash

BTW if you call a company up, and ask the CSO if a certain product will be launched.

It's pretty standard that the CSO will just tell you that it is not confirmed until they really received confirmation from their management.

For Today to say that it will be launched, i bet they must had communicated with the managment level.

Since it takes a few weeks to wait anyway, as well wait and see for a little while more.

For sure there will be other parallel importers who will bring in for you anyway.

Rejinderi

Yup.. Either you have a friend like in Australia who can buy for u and bring it here cheaply or just wait for a few weeks more see if the today news is true or not.

If not by then u order also not late.. at least it should be less congested, resist the temptation!!!

zenify.me

BTW if you call a company up, and ask the CSO if a certain product will be launched.

It's pretty standard that the CSO will just tell you that it is not confirmed until they really received confirmation from their management.

For Today to say that it will be launched, i bet they must had communicated with the managment level.

Since it takes a few weeks to wait anyway, as well wait and see for a little while more.

For sure there will be other parallel importers who will bring in for you anyway.

https://www.todayonline.com/tech/gadgets/google-launches-nexus-5-smartphone
LONDON — Google has just announced in reports yesterday (Oct 31) the release of its latest flagship Android smartphone, the Nexus 5 that comes running the next iteration of Android 4.4 Kitkat.

With a 5-inch full HD screen and high-end specifications, the Nexus 5 offers a premium Android experience with a more affordable price tag, starting at £299 (S$600), than other flagship Android smartphones like the Samsung Galaxy S4 and HTC One, as well as Apple’s iPhone 5S.

Based on the underlying hardware of one of LG’s current Android smartphones, the LG G2, the Nexus 5 features, a top-of-the-line 2.3GHz quad-core Qualcomm Snapdragon 800 processor, 2GB of RAM and 16 or 32GB of built-in storage, which should perform well for both multitasking and graphically intensive gaming.

“For KitKat, we partnered with LG to develop Nexus 5 — the slimmest and fastest Nexus phone ever made,” said Google in a blogpost.

The Nexus 5 also features an 8-megapixel rear-facing camera, and a 1.3-megapixel camera on the front for video chatting, as well as wireless charging and Wi-Fi, NFC and Bluetooth 4.0 for communication with low-power accessories like the Fitbit One and a plethora of other fitness gadgets.

“The advanced new lens on Nexus 5 captures more light for brighter night and sharper action shots. And with optical image stabilisation, you no longer have to worry about shaky hands and blurry pictures,” Google said.

The Nexus 5 is the first smartphone to run Google’s latest iteration of Android — version 4.4 Kitkat — which continues the refinement of the mobile operating system becoming more colourful and flatter, similar to Apple’s latest revision of iOS.

Google Now, Google’s context-sensitive digital assistant, has also been given greater prominence in the new software, after the new “Hummingbird” algorithm update made Google’s core search better at answering longer, more complex and spoken queries.

It is discussed that Google will make their new device LG Nexus 5 available in Singapore and other countries in the last week of November or first week of December, this year. Be ready to grab your new Nexus equipped will the amazing specifications and best price. THE GUARDIAN

Looks like they base the article off "THE GUARDIAN" or something.
Nonetheless, apparently N5 will be made available offline in various countries according to Anandtech.

weiyang76

Sending back to overseas for warranty is as good as no warranty since the 2 way freight charge is enough for pay for repair in Singapore

it only cost $35 to exchange a brand new phone. it's worth it considering you paid lesser than what you will be paying for a similar phone in singapore.

check out my nexus 4 thread on rma cost under android user group.

ykeen

what do u recommend to charge with?

buy a Qi charger :s13:

Dude, what's the power input and output of the charger?

HK follows UK standards leh, so same pin and voltage as SG la..

Willing to pay 450 for somebody who can order for me... Pm me if can help thanks

for 16gb maybe got people help u, 32gb no one help u i guess.. :s13:

680 is still too expensive for a phone that is supposed to be Nexus. I dunno if its worth it to incur so much shipping charges when it's not significantly more powerful than current phones, other than a stock android experience.

Still pondering.... :(

LG Nexus 4 (16GB) Available in Singapore for S$668 (Update) - HardwareZone.com.sg

u were saying? :D treat it as upgrade over N4 with LTE finally :s13:

Interesting, my JP playstore in in English D:

can also manually add the parameters ?hl=en and u get english ;p or append &hl=en if you already got a ? in your URL already...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.