The Nexus 5 Thread

ZhuPaJian

Letting go my spigen ultra hybrid black casing if anyone is interested. Inside comes with free screen protector also.

GreenHorn

hi gus, i just got nexus 5 and can i confirm that this phone don't have the button that we can clear all the open apps at 1 go and have to manually do it 1 by 1?

and can i check all of u guys are still on the stock os that came with the phone?

For stock android, yes...no clear all button.

and yes again, i am on Stock. :D

Salapi

I recently picked up a Redmi too. I do not like the MIUI (I never liked the MIUI custom roms) and immediately changed to the Nova Launcher which I use on my N5. Apart from setting up the Redmi and installing a few "must have" apps, and played with it for a while, I have not used it at all - not even for a day. It will be used as my travel phone - because of the dual-SIM.

At less than half the price of the N5, I feel the Redmi is great value. Its smooth and fast, although the phone weight is a bit heavy. The 2 major negatives I have with the Redmi are - no LTE/4G, and the very limited (4GB) internal storage which leaves only about 2.1 GB for apps. I believe rooting will enable A2SD (moving apps to SD) but I have stopped rooting ever since I had a N4.

Was a nexus 4 user and nexus 5 user and many rooted android user previously. Was never a fan of MIUI before i bought my redmi, i had MI2 bought in China in Jan 2013. Never liked it, sold after 2weeks.

However, after Redmi came to Singapore, i tried it out and immediately dumped my Nexus 5 after finding out there's so many functions and quality that i've been missing out on this budget cheap good phone.

Reason i dump N5: Battery life sucks, sound quality sucks, camera is horrifying.

Reason i took up Redmi: Camera better than n5, sound quality lesser distortion than n5, price better than n5.

Things i didn't mind: LTE (fk sg LTE, it's useless, drain battery and provide no real speed anyway), 5inch IPS screen, pure android experience (i like MIUI more now, alot more settings without needing to meddle with root and roms. Warranty, n5 warranty proves to be a hassle.

Ended up i got redmi to be my main phone. In between i got myself a mi3 too, but i didn't like it because at that price range, no LTE and the Snapdragon 800 (burning hot and drains batt) proves to be a NONO to me.

Will be back when nexus decided to release to more markets and make everything better at the same price range.

shichuanhua

Was a nexus 4 user and nexus 5 user and many rooted android user previously. Was never a fan of MIUI before i bought my redmi, i had MI2 bought in China in Jan 2013. Never liked it, sold after 2weeks.

However, after Redmi came to Singapore, i tried it out and immediately dumped my Nexus 5 after finding out there's so many functions and quality that i've been missing out on this budget cheap good phone.

Reason i dump N5: Battery life sucks, sound quality sucks, camera is horrifying.

Reason i took up Redmi: Camera better than n5, sound quality lesser distortion than n5, price better than n5.

Things i didn't mind: LTE (fk sg LTE, it's useless, drain battery and provide no real speed anyway), 5inch IPS screen, pure android experience (i like MIUI more now, alot more settings without needing to meddle with root and roms. Warranty, n5 warranty proves to be a hassle.

Ended up i got redmi to be my main phone. In between i got myself a mi3 too, but i didn't like it because at that price range, no LTE and the Snapdragon 800 (burning hot and drains batt) proves to be a NONO to me.

Will be back when nexus decided to release to more markets and make everything better at the same price range.

my experience with n5 is exctly the opposite of u~~ I have no problem with battery life, 4 hours minimum SOT & 24 hours standby is good enough for me. i never have problem with sound, camera wise only bad in low light condition, but i think most of the phone camera are like this

Salapi

my experience with n5 is exctly the opposite of u~~ I have no problem with battery life, 4 hours minimum SOT & 24 hours standby is good enough for me. i never have problem with sound, camera wise only bad in low light condition, but i think most of the phone camera are like this

glad that it worked for you. i only shoot with HDR on n5, the normal one quality really CMI. 4hours SOT is too short. Standby? My redmi one night (10hours of sleep) standby drain 2%. Beat that nexus5. Oh nexus 5 google framework seems to have random drain at times when i was on 4.4 dunno solved already or not. It happens randomly. Nexus 5 get way too warm for my liking sometimes even with light usage. Nexus 5 also use a pin much smaller and if you use a iphone pin, it will spoil the sim eject hole. When go overseas = GG cannot find the small round sim eject tool.

I used to swear by nexus, nexus 4 is amazing. Nexus 5 is quite a disappointment to me. :(

shawniiex

If one didn't know better, they would think these people are hired to speak about MIUI in threads outside xiaomi phones.

Just saying.

Salapi

If one didn't know better, they would think these people are hired to speak about MIUI in threads outside xiaomi phones.

Just saying.

saw people discussing about it so come in saysay, paiseh if off-topic.

But i really adore pure android experience on ART runtime, nothing beats that speed. (but i can do without it, no longer young and curious anymore, a phone is a phone, i don't really install games on handphone too, a tablet maybe yes).

shawniiex

glad that it worked for you. i only shoot with HDR on n5, the normal one quality really CMI. 4hours SOT is too short. Standby? My redmi one night (10hours of sleep) standby drain 2%. Beat that nexus5. Oh nexus 5 google framework seems to have random drain at times when i was on 4.4 dunno solved already or not. It happens randomly. Nexus 5 get way too warm for my liking sometimes even with light usage. Nexus 5 also use a pin much smaller and if you use a iphone pin, it will spoil the sim eject hole. When go overseas = GG cannot find the small round sim eject tool.

I used to swear by nexus, nexus 4 is amazing. Nexus 5 is quite a disappointment to me. :(

What?!
Beat that Nexus5?
10 hours standby, 1% drain. Please.
If you do the right **** with your phone, you'll get the right results.
Don't come and flame the Nexus for being a failure to you and yourself only.

And wtf, it has some random framework problem, you're using a damn Nexus, it's suppose to be the very latest version of Android. Of course there's bound to be issues.

And of all people, you being a Nexus 4 user should know better.

Your point about the sim eject hole. Please get a life. Who the hell can nitpick about a Sim eject hole?!

||||||||||

Wah chill bros! Too each it's own man....
If he's happy with xiaomi then good for him.

No need to get so worked up.

Relax lah.....

shawniiex

Wah chill bros! Too each it's own man....
If he's happy with xiaomi then good for him.

No need to get so worked up.

Relax lah.....

I honestly expected more from a previous gen Nexus user.
Yeah i know to each his own, but if he's gonna come in and shoot the Nexus like this, then obviously it allows one to get worked up.

SIM eject hole leh bro, first time i hear someone complain about that.

||||||||||

Well to me nexus is more for the tech savvy ones.

I even open up my nexus to drill holes for better sounds (that's before they got the software hack to make it louder)

The good thing is now I don't even need vibrator cos my phone vibrates when the speaker sounds! Hahah.

4 hours SOT is good already. I think the other bro got mixed up with deep sleep drain.

But not to discredit redmi, it's really a good phone based on the price range.

jchoong

It all boils down to what is high on your priority list; for me I don't care about sound and camera as I hardly use them. But without 4G/LTE, several of my key apps takes ages (or at times won't even run) to load. So, in my case, I put LTE above sound and camera. And of course, pure Android is just so efficient and fluid. And that doesn't mean I dislike my RedMi; given its limitations, it will never be my main hp. (No offence meant!)

BlitzStryker

I think the starting debate is more of iOS and Android (be it pure, "unpure", skinned or etc). Nonetheless Ima standing on Android camp =)

Salapi

What?!
Beat that Nexus5?
10 hours standby, 1% drain. Please.
If you do the right **** with your phone, you'll get the right results.
Don't come and flame the Nexus for being a failure to you and yourself only.

And wtf, it has some random framework problem, you're using a damn Nexus, it's suppose to be the very latest version of Android. Of course there's bound to be issues.

And of all people, you being a Nexus 4 user should know better.

Your point about the sim eject hole. Please get a life. Who the hell can nitpick about a Sim eject hole?!

paiseh paiseh. i anyhow say say nia. i by no means any expert in mobile phones, i may use many but i know nuts about them. still learning also. :(

i'm not nitpicking, those are the things that matters to me, and yes, only to me, my personal preference on what a good mobile phone should be to me. by no means applying to any other people ah.

sorry if my stupidity angers you. lol :o

I honestly expected more from a previous gen Nexus user.
Yeah i know to each his own, but if he's gonna come in and shoot the Nexus like this, then obviously it allows one to get worked up.

SIM eject hole leh bro, first time i hear someone complain about that.

i travel often and so there are times when i need to open it up to change to an overseas sim. most of the places and shops only has iPhone ejector. i was thinking maybe someone will think like me too. yeah, i guess it's just me. LOL.

really apologise if i said "beat the n5", sound kinda wrong so i explain, i'm just saying according to my usage, i feel it works better than n5, the apps i use, my usage patterns, etc...

and i didn't said that nexus is a failure, i've mentioned i was loving nexus series, just that i found something that suits me more with a better budget, a phone that i can replace more easily without heartache.

aiya, phone nia, cool down mr shawniiex

JJJ010101

Hi guys.. looking to change from N4 to N5.. how do u guys order for those sets LTE compatible with SG?

kingtrade

Hi guys.. looking to change from N4 to N5.. how do u guys order for those sets LTE compatible with SG?

Use vpn n create a new google account tie to the country the lobang is.

E.g Let say u want to order from google hk. 1st connect ur vpn to a hong kong ip. Then create a new hk google a/c (remember to put a local hk shipping address - either a forwarder address or ur relative/friends/gf/etc hk address). Once done, u r good to order the phone. One last thing, u need to have ur own way to ship the phone to sg cos google will not ship it to singapore for u even if u pay to them so.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.