The Official Property Agent Thread ~

nahbehism

harisharis

hi.. i m keen to be a property agent.. however i have very little experience in sales.. what kinda job training or support should i be expecting from my company if i join?

i m currently having a full time job and thinking of starting off with part time first.. :D

You have to go through the course and pass the exam first to get the license

satayxp

someone i knew just returned to her full time job after 6 mths of nothing other den a few rental deals.. the sums dun add up lo

Bieffe

As a note to all. Besides ur RES job after u pass out there are some other things u need to pay b4 even warning ur 1st $0.10.
-depending on agency there is an introduction course or whatever they call it usually $800
-uniform & t shirt $100+
-u will need to advertise like online and classifieds are $30+ for 3 liners
-make pass u pay $100+
-licence to practice $250
-name card $100
-others I dunno
Not to mention ur com only come mths later....so 3 mths nothing....u say leh

e24djenggos

Need Help..

Need help to sell my 3 bedroom hdb in Toa payoh. Evaluated at 340k no cov . Ethnic qouta, ind/mal/others 2nd floor. 5 mins walk to Braddell MRT. Existing , i already got an agent, but didnt manage to sell , CAll me for queries 82289208

killerer

As a note to all. Besides ur RES job after u pass out there are some other things u need to pay b4 even warning ur 1st $0.10.
-depending on agency there is an introduction course or whatever they call it usually $800
-uniform & t shirt $100+
-make pass u pay $100+
-name card $100
-others I dunno

everything pay and pay

bagger 288

-uniform & t shirt $100+
-make pass u pay $100+
-name card $100
-others I dunno

Propertyguru account lei......
$700 now.
Last time when they first started only $300.

crazygamer84

so unfair. at least give first 6 months free then when renew pay $700. New agents suffer big time like open own shop liddat.

No free account ah, I tot last time the free one is can post limited listings right, now no more?

nauhchop

The barrier to entry is relatively low so there's lots of agents. It's very competitive.

The support depends on your agency and team leader. You have to choose carefully.

Council for Estate Agencies (CEA) requires those who are holding another job to get their employer's approval first, before becoming property agents.

New rule could lead to fewer housing agents, Property Agents, Singapore Property Guides & Articles - STProperty

When we say barrier of entry is low, it means anyone can pass the exams easily and join the industry.
A lot of agents joined before cea was formed and then the ceha and res was very easy.
But today the exams are very much harder to pass, so it seems the barrier has gone up.

Ultimately, an agent is considered self employed, whether u have a fantastic agency or team leader, u still have to work hard. But of course learn from a good mentor too.

As for agents not making good money, its a 90-10 rule. Out of 100, 10 will be exceptionally good.

n1ef5ng

Hey for rrenewal of license, is there a need to show proof of consent from employee if agent is working as ppart time

vinz

When we say barrier of entry is low, it means anyone can pass the exams easily and join the industry.
A lot of agents joined before cea was formed and then the ceha and res was very easy.
But today the exams are very much harder to pass, so it seems the barrier has gone up.

Ultimately, an agent is considered self employed, whether u have a fantastic agency or team leader, u still have to work hard. But of course learn from a good mentor too.

As for agents not making good money, its a 90-10 rule. Out of 100, 10 will be exceptionally good.
Can I know did you take the CEHA?

And you comparing CEHA exam to the current exam and saying CEHA is easy?!!!!!

Are you an agent? What is your statement based on ? You taken BOTH EXAMS ?

I am very sure all those who had taken and pass the CEHA exams will be offended by what you wrote.

Lushfield

Partnership with Wealth & Estate Planner

A possible option is work with a wealth & estate planner to co-broke for mortgage insurance and client referral. Value adds to your range of services as a property agent.

nauhchop

Can I know did you take the CEHA?

And you comparing CEHA exam to the current exam and saying CEHA is easy?!!!!!

Are you an agent? What is your statement based on ? You taken BOTH EXAMS ?

I am very sure all those who had taken and pass the CEHA exams will be offended by what you wrote.

I have taken ceha before in 2004. And i have also taken the ceha in 2012.
I can be an agent if i register with an agency.

I am very sure those who had taken ceha last time and now will tell u the difference.
The reason you think that ceha then and now is still same standard is because if you taken then you are a novice and if you take now you are more experienced and a practicing agent.

I have looked at the res papers before cea was formed and this year's cea. Can pass the paper doesn't mean its easier, its because i know about the industry because i practise. But to a novice then and now, the standards have gone up by a lot.

And if you still think ceha and res nowadays are not as hard, then cea will read this and improve the barrier even further which also means that agents still think the exams are easy and something which cea does not like to read.

crazygamer84

I have taken ceha before in 2004. And i have also taken the ceha in 2012.
I can be an agent if i register with an agency.

I am very sure those who had taken ceha last time and now will tell u the difference.
The reason you think that ceha then and now is still same standard is because if you taken then you are a novice and if you take now you are more experienced and a practicing agent.

I have looked at the res papers before cea was formed and this year's cea. Can pass the paper doesn't mean its easier, its because i know about the industry because i practise. But to a novice then and now, the standards have gone up by a lot.

And if you still think ceha and res nowadays are not as hard, then cea will read this and improve the barrier even further which also means that agents still think the exams are easy and something which cea does not like to read.

I'm not sure how hard hard CEHA and RES was last time, but for me I only managed to get the license at my 3rd attempt.

According to my father who has been in the industry for 30 years, license back then was easy to get, many even practise without a license in those days.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.