The Official Xperia S thread

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
The Sony Xperia S is a smartphone with a bit of an identity crisis, which is to say that there were two versions of the same handset on the showroom floor -- one with the now oddly outdated Sony Ericsson branding along its top bezel, just above the speaker grill and another which simply reads "Sony" in big, block letters.

Enough of ericsson name. Just name as SONY and sell here.

pker88

Local telecons are rolling out LTE.

ya it rolling out but still not so fast
o most lte phone still in limbo
unlike Korean

so it now called xperia s hahaha
odd why not arc HD
more consistence to their range too
I bet entrrperjsing ppls will import in the ion version

cyberac

Re

I would love the Xperia Ion too but it seems like we won't be getting it. I hope the Xperia S makes it in time for the March IT show.

Btw, any idea of the likely pricing? How much did the Arc S cost with a contract when it first launched?

hush66

I am also inclined to the ION, due to the larger screen and microSD slot.

There is no mention of whether the battery is removable for both devices?

GTBlackIce

Same here... but provided if we can get our hands on it.

Seen somewhere where the product # stated LT28at/LT28i... so hope there would be the 'i' version for global market some time down the road.

Based on a few pics/vids I've seen there seems to be a 'Sony AT&T' branded and another 'Sony Ericsson' branded... hopefully it's not just some gimmick and eventually it'll come to our shores. :D Don't mind letting US have their 'bragging rights' on being the first to own one... =:p

Both models' battery don't seem to be removable... again, can't recall where I read it.

Let us hope for the best... :s12:

pker88

should be built-in batt and is it microsim ?

toobad ion is for US mkt while we getting the xperia s
but still acceptble

I now also worry of battlife even its 1700mah vs sgs2 while is 1.2ghz dual core vs xperia s which is 1.5ghz dual core
which will impact on battlife
as sgs2 battrry already quite weak liao

if not I will go for keitai Android Toshiba it still got removebke batt and 1.2ghz dual core and microsdcard too

just need to wait and see
march it show might have it if earlier got ppls import in lor

Unknownx

On paper, Xperia S battery life:

- Talk time (GSM) Up to 7 hours 30 min
- Standby time (GSM) 450 hours
- Talk time (UMTS) Up to 8 hours 30 min
- Standby time (UMTS) Up to 420 hours
- Music listening time Up to 25 hours
- Video playback time Up to 6 hours 30 min

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
Removed the confusion. Let's just call it the official Xperia S thread.

rssd21

ya it rolling out but still not so fast
o most lte phone still in limbo
unlike Korean

so it now called xperia s hahaha
odd why not arc HD
more consistence to their range too
I bet entrrperjsing ppls will import in the ion version

Simple. Because xperia s got hunchback, dont look like arc. :D

rssd21

According to white paper, both are embedded battery.

I smell a fruity likeness. :D

rssd21

should be built-in batt and is it microsim ?

toobad ion is for US mkt while we getting the xperia s
but still acceptble

I now also worry of battlife even its 1700mah vs sgs2 while is 1.2ghz dual core vs xperia s which is 1.5ghz dual core
which will impact on battlife
as sgs2 battrry already quite weak liao

if not I will go for keitai Android Toshiba it still got removebke batt and 1.2ghz dual core and microsdcard too

just need to wait and see
march it show might have it if earlier got ppls import in lor

One thing different, sgs2 using amoled screen which sucks more battery life for white color. We will see how the guys at sony play their magic & improve the battery life of xperia s.

According to white paper, xperia s should pack 1750mah while some markets may get 1700mah.

pker88

waiting game again
ya lor amoled suck battery like warer. on white bg ESP most website is white bg codes too

I prefer LCD over amoled hahah more sharper over amoled and more nature colors
from the looks most jp brands use LCD with led backlite as compare to Korean siao. amoled.

pker88

hmm xperia s got nfc?
since SE intro smarttag hmm
look interesting

the bottom transclucent looks interesting to be a LED notifcation or the top got a led too i noticed
wonder is for the looks the transparent bottom
or got some LED blinking below haha

like a keitai

SExiao

waiting game again
ya lor amoled suck battery like warer. on white bg ESP most website is white bg codes too

I prefer LCD over amoled hahah more sharper over amoled and more nature colors
from the looks most jp brands use LCD with led backlite as compare to Korean siao. amoled.

I agree.... I look at the SII screen, I look at the Arc S screen... still prefer Arc.... even the phone..... like holding the Arc compare to SII..... =:p

But hows the phone..... since its not "Dual Core" or whatever, will running apps and watching movie lag... or the phone lag??? Hows the battery life??

Hand itchy..... :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.