The Official Xperia S thread

scubyti

i remember when the arc rom was first released, battery was a belter... but over the course of 3-4 rom update, battery life reached a decent level. we cannot compare to iphone as iphone is on 3.5" screen compare to 4.3" screen. why apple refuse to move to a big screen is due to the fact that there's not much space you can squeeze a big battery into a phone where size factor and shape play a big part as well....

the next iphone will probably be a 4" screen at the max... :s13:

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
perhaps ur phone is not going into "deep sleep"

download cpu spy to verify that.

also use better battery stats to see what is keeping your phone "awake" during idle.

overnight for the past 2 days ive only had like 1% per hr drainage on idle.

during the day my usage is whatsapp, browser, fb, games, some video, youtube.

i unplug @8am and lasts me all the way till 10pm.

btw im rooted on the .67 firmware. i uninstalled a lot of the SE bloatware :D

Any battery stats apps u recommend?? :)

Chevalier

Any battery stats apps u recommend?? :)

personally i use battery monitor widget <---helps to see the amt of power being used

cpu spy <----see if my phone is going into deep sleep *note that the cpu throttle will shoot to max frequency in use

better battery stats <-----pinpoints the function of ur phone that keeps it awake and not going into deep sleep.

kaby

wah the battery life jialat lah.
maybe cuz my old phone was a nokia e72. that one whole day 24 hours, use whatsapp & fb can last. this xperia s 4 hours dieing already. the display using 86% of battery usage @ 25% brightness. wtf. i'm already thinking of selling. I need my phone to last 10 hrs min with heavy 3G usage. I guess its impossible?

xtwis7

I'm a s2 user and intending to switch to XS soon. How's the batt life compared with s2? I don't know if it's Go launcher that drains more battery. but my s2 dies on me a lot outside.

DoraemonBoi

maybe cuz my old phone was a nokia e72. that one whole day 24 hours, use whatsapp & fb can last. this xperia s 4 hours dieing already. the display using 86% of battery usage @ 25% brightness. wtf. i'm already thinking of selling. I need my phone to last 10 hrs min with heavy 3G usage. I guess its impossible?

woah urs sound more jialat than mine :D At least mine can last almost 3/4 day :D

bobbytkc

I don't think there is a high end phone out there that allows you to use 3g for 10 hours. Maybe the galaxy note, not sure.

timberland

Cost plus markup. Plus admin fee :). Sure a lot of hwzoners wouldn't mind I would like a green one myself :p

ok those who wanna mod their transparent strip colors from stock white to

Pink (Bright)
Green (Bright)
Blue (Normal)
Orange (Normal)
Red (Bright)

you can pm me. It takes at least 40 mins to 60 mins. The longer time the better.

Then i can do a better job for u. :)

Pls take note that your warranty will be voided even i reverse the colors back to stock white

as it's a different kind of LED. But very unlikely, they will know it after reversing. ;)

bobbytkc

I'm a s2 user and intending to switch to XS soon. How's the batt life compared with s2? I don't know if it's Go launcher that drains more battery. but my s2 dies on me a lot outside.

XS has a battery life roughly comparable to a 4S according to benchmarks, but less than s2 I believe.

High end smart phones are like that. Fast processors and big screen means more power hungry. If you want good battery life, maybe can get a note, or a note so high end phone with slower processor and smaller screen.

xtwis7

XS has a battery life roughly comparable to a 4S according to benchmarks, but less than s2 I believe.

High end smart phones are like that. Fast processors and big screen means more power hungry. If you want good battery life, maybe can get a note, or a note so high end phone with slower processor and smaller screen.

Yea, it's a tradeoff. Some benchmarks place it just above S2 but those are just numbers. I guess 3gs battery life was very good or maybe it was just me because I always off 3g when not using. So considering that my current s2 is on 3g every time, inevitably will drain faster. But XS definitely looks more chio than s2.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator

Then i feel u should sell away ur XS and stick to e72.

Phones like nexus, XS, droid, galaxy series cannot last u 24hrs with usage.

Btw, maybe you will want to define your heavy 3G usage, what you will be using on.

Igene

It's my third day using the phone and it's the 4th charge. In between got plug in a while.

Last night torture the phone until battery went flat. Before the battery went flat I flat first on the sofa and the TV was watching me instead me watching him:s13: So after that woke up and plug in charge until this morning. Unplugged at 8.30am. Now left 62%. In between listen radio (1.5 hour), lots of WA (like 50). 3 SMSes and 1 min of call. Install Go keyboard too.

I think it's still pretty Xiong the battery. Let it run 2 more cycle see how.

BTW, anyone rooted and loaded with custom ROM? I believe you have to request to the unlock code. Does that mean your warranty will go Ku Ku and you can go ahead and put whatever color of LED you like?

Oh ya, there's a power saver app inbuilt. But I think that lou ya app doesn't really work. I set profile liao it doesn't act accordingly one. It worked on the first day. The 2nd day not working so I restarted the app. It worked again. Then last night again not working...:s22:

kaby

i'm really not sure man. now i'm off-ing all the auto sync and fb in xperia ****. no push msgs, not even hourly updates. all manual updates. will continue to monitor. the display's taking 80+% of battery usage. is that normal? i don't need to last 24 hrs, just the 10 hrs at work w/o charging. apparently when i reach home, the batt's dead alr. any suggestions on how to extend the batt life?

xtwis7

i'm really not sure man. now i'm off-ing all the auto sync and fb in xperia ****. no push msgs, not even hourly updates. all manual updates. will continue to monitor. the display's taking 80+% of battery usage. is that normal? i don't need to last 24 hrs, just the 10 hrs at work w/o charging. apparently when i reach home, the batt's dead alr. any suggestions on how to extend the batt life?

I saw videos of XS and the display takes up about 20-30% but nowhere near your levels. You mentioned it's only at 25% brightness? The 10 hours of work consists of mostly standby time? Think it's a fact that the phone drains battery faster on standby than others.

Chevalier

the galaxy note with custom rom will suit u.

my battery can last now cos i modified some stuff at my own risk

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.