The Official Xperia S thread

anpanbun

i... give up on putting music into my phone. lol. syncing 5GB of songs at one shot is too much, fine,.. i separate, do bit by bit.

in the end, i sync one singer's songs... altogether she has 1GB of stuff i want, lag at 3/4 way... then i had to quit and disconnect.

checked my phone. only had 1/2 of the total songs i sync. even the movie that i drag and dropped into the phone also cannot watch -_-

sigh... is it because i'm using snow leopard? but it's ridiculous that i need to pay another $50 just to update to lion just to be able to transfer media right?

My classmate is on SL and he could access the phone

waterballoon

My classmate is on SL and he could access the phone

as a mountable disc, then can drag and drop? wah lau eh.

i also download double twist... then i check their website, says that my model only has USB MTP mode... and they're working on developing the USB MPP mode or whatever la, that has it mounted as an external storage.

wtf. :s22:

pker88

as a mountable disc, then can drag and drop? wah lau eh.

i also download double twist... then i check their website, says that my model only has USB MTP mode... and they're working on developing the USB MPP mode or whatever la, that has it mounted as an external storage.

wtf. :s22:

u mean your mac or your xs?

most of us on mac with xs can drag drop as a drive
no bigg issue
maybe just accept your fault and live with it or sell away
or go find out how to update your mac to enable it lor

waterballoon

i'm hoping it's not an issue with my xs... dunno whether sony service centre will help also or not. how would they check if there's a problem with my xs that causes it to be unable to be detected on a macbook?

pker88

i'm hoping it's not an issue with my xs... dunno whether sony service centre will help also or not. how would they check if there's a problem with my xs that causes it to be unable to be detected on a macbook?

since its a macbook
it more easy
just bring to bishan is more adviceable
is the service cte and the only service cte in sg for SONY mobile
or
bring to mac shop
with your xs
and ask why others on SL can access as mount drive and why yours cant
and ask if can test on their mac with LION lor

did u try reset the phone?
go under
setting
privacy
and select setting reset and it will reboot the phone it wont delete all data
unless u select factory reset
this is a minor reset we can do on our first lvls troubleshoot
if got a bug on the phone

if still cant go can go consider go SONy mobile at bishan or mac shop

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
The default video player doesn't support that many formats. Maybe you want to try something like power amp.

waterballoon

sigh... did setings reset. still got no result. -_- luckily i live at toa payoh. guess will be going down to J8 to make noise bah.

do i need to bring anything else besides my phone ah

pker88

sigh... did setings reset. still got no result. -_- luckily i live at toa payoh. guess will be going down to J8 to make noise bah.

do i need to bring anything else besides my phone ah

its your mac issue cum phone lor
u better bring your mac along if sony cant fix your issue
go macshop soo easy :)

goodluck to u
as i doubt sony bishan got a mac for them to test and show them your issue so best bring mac along
to show them
as they wil usually do the usual SOP procedures lor
or the most reload the os for u
and hope it works for u

what i feel
go macshop more better
but up to u go sony mobile first lor

kiroro1986

Was thinking whether to get this XS or SGN . i like sony phone much. am using using xperia arc currently. and eligible for recontract now.

to me screen size not smaller than 4" i am good.

i dun play games on phone. not does any drawing.

basically i use my phone for. whatsapp, music, youtube occasionally,
facebook, and some video playing of my own collection.

so is it good to get this phone? to me the audio quality much be good
since i listen to alot of mp3.

any suggestion for me guys?

waterballoon

its your mac issue cum phone lor
u better bring your mac along if sony cant fix your issue
go macshop soo easy :)

goodluck to u
as i doubt sony bishan got a mac for them to test and show them your issue so best bring mac along
to show them
as they wil usually do the usual SOP procedures lor
or the most reload the os for u
and hope it works for u

what i feel
go macshop more better
but up to u go sony mobile first lor

i see...

hmm but my phone also has another bugs that i never say cos... lazy, but think the phone buggy also.

when i launch timescape and another app, the screen suddenly flickers very quickly, and i can't do anything unless i lock the screen or tap home button.

think i'll go sony today. then macshop tomorrow. btw u mean macshop like epicentre/nubox all these right? cos j8 has one of those i think

pker88

Was thinking whether to get this XS or SGN . i like sony phone much. am using using xperia arc currently. and eligible for recontract now.

to me screen size not smaller than 4" i am good.

i dun play games on phone. not does any drawing.

basically i use my phone for. whatsapp, music, youtube occasionally,
facebook, and some video playing of my own collection.

so is it good to get this phone? to me the audio quality much be good
since i listen to alot of mp3.

any suggestion for me guys?

both is good
SGN or xs
up to u
u like epic big heavy SGN with good large screen but over rich color amoled and cmi camera?

or u like good battery life with epic good camera and good natural color
as sony dont use amoled

sony will fit your needs according to your needs above
go play with it demo set on shop to get a feel on both SGN and xs
both feels diff on the hands

pker88

i see...

hmm but my phone also has another bugs that i never say cos... lazy, but think the phone buggy also.

when i launch timescape and another app, the screen suddenly flickers very quickly, and i can't do anything unless i lock the screen or tap home button.

think i'll go sony today. then macshop tomorrow. btw u mean macshop like epicentre/nubox all these right? cos j8 has one of those i think
hmm since u got more bugs then go sony mobile first lor
and also ask them your bugs on mac

if sony mobile can fix then u can go home happy
if not go machshop
but where u brought mac best go there first lor
if not if u just random go anyshop i duno if they willing to help
and apple care expired?
if not if u buy from their shop they should be ok to help u with it
as nubox and epi got their own service booth

kiroro1986

both is good
SGN or xs
up to u
u like epic big heavy SGN with good large screen but over rich color amoled and cmi camera?

or u like good battery life with epic good camera and good natural color
as sony dont use amoled

sony will fit your needs according to your needs above
go play with it demo set on shop to get a feel on both SGN and xs
both feels diff on the hands

yes i was resolute to get SGN at first... just now i went to 112 katong singtel retailer shop and test out XS... i was quite surprise the screen really looks nice. and the cpu speed to do anything is nice.

so yes it put me to dilemma again now..

waterballoon

hmm since u got more bugs then go sony mobile first lor
and also ask them your bugs on mac

if sony mobile can fix then u can go home happy
if not go machshop
but where u brought mac best go there first lor
if not if u just random go anyshop i duno if they willing to help
and apple care expired?
if not if u buy from their shop they should be ok to help u with it
as nubox and epi got their own service booth

my macbook is poly macbook. the lao ya 2009 macbook 13.3" lol... warranty no more liao... maybe i go fake fake nubox and ask also can la

pker88

yes i was resolute to get SGN at first... just now i went to 112 katong singtel retailer shop and test out XS... i was quite surprise the screen really looks nice. and the cpu speed to do anything is nice.

so yes it put me to dilemma again now..

ya
u need to compare both phone
as both use diff lcd panel

sony use mmore natrual lcd with led backlited up
and
samsung use amoled a oversatured color display

some love the amoled super rich color or fake color
i do agreed is looks good on it but some ppls dont like it
as it too fake and over rich

as iam used to more natrual color if i use samsung i will try to tune down the color and go for more neutual color setting
samsung got it function to select but its using amoled so whatu can tune down is certain degreee lor

sony wise self explains is natrual color and epic good camera over SGN
so sony xs is more all rounder vs SGN

SGN good in big screen only as both is using dualcore just diff brands chipset only
both got 1gb of ram to run the appls

but XS got one of the highest dpi means u get super sharp on the screen itelf
but SGN is not bad too
but s2 is real bad as its dpi is damm low even lower than arc s

pker88

my macbook is poly macbook. the lao ya 2009 macbook 13.3" lol... warranty no more liao... maybe i go fake fake nubox and ask also can la

oo poly one
hmm macbook ah not macbookpro as now no more macbook liao
its expired now only left macbook pro and AIR
hmm then u can try luck at epi or nubox lor
hope they can help u or u might need to pay a fees as according to epi got stated
like a go see doc consultations fees lor
if not u can try mutilmedia intergrated beside nubox or epi lor
MI just overhaul it shop and just open over this weekend too

kiroro1986

true. i did compare SGN dpi and XS dpi.. can tell the quality differences.

what about audio quality? is it better? i use poweramps btw. mayb it doest make a different?

to me natural color or rich color is not much of an issue. becuz the picture i took usually will just copy over to PC and view it.

Yellow tint issue happens to alot? or heng and suay issue?

kiroro1986

And the battery life is good? compare to SGN? becuz my arc battery life is bad all along.

so yes is one of the concerns too

pker88

true. i did compare SGN dpi and XS dpi.. can tell the quality differences.

what about audio quality? is it better? i use poweramps btw. mayb it doest make a different?

to me natural color or rich color is not much of an issue. becuz the picture i took usually will just copy over to PC and view it.

Yellow tint issue happens to alot? or heng and suay issue?
yellow tint issue is on both SGN and XS lor
so best before u buy check with the shop ask if u can check before u pay for it

audio quallity if u want to compare to a real dedicated audio player i dont see any phone wil match it thats why i use my own SONY player for audio

but according to user on xs who tested they say is quite good
i am more fussy on audio actually as i dont find even xs better improved SQ is not my taste hahah
but my friend on SGN use a portable amp like those siao ipod he say e use a appls and with a port amp is sounds damm good
but i am not into those
but by right sony mobile should have better sound
as they got a history of walkman sony phone with good SQ too
why not u go use own earphone and test yourself
as sound is subjective

is quite easy just look for a SGN or XS and use oyur phone and bluetooth over haha
and use your earphone and listurn
as some demo phone got a google account let u DL the appls too
this is what i usually do i hunt for it and DL appls i need to benchmark the phone it self

pker88

And the battery life is good? compare to SGN? becuz my arc battery life is bad all along.

so yes is one of the concerns too

SGN battery is not as good
actually my friend own it he buy port battery ahaha
for me i used to own XS i do carry port battery unless i siao heavy use
if not its good enought

same for my arc s battery life is one of the best
as battery life is aslo hard to say
as depend on the user

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.