The Official Xperia S thread

eeLsinneD

Where is Adix's shop at? o.o

You know Burlington Square? The one beside Sim Lim Square with Burger King.

His shop is facing the main road, beside the famous Lomography-friendly printing lab.

He has quite a number of nice casings. From normal, humble-looking ones to Ah Beng types with bling-blings and leopard preens.

I bought the Rock (not the WWE Wrestler hor) type casing, which carlover mentioned earlier from Adix. He is a very patient and friendly guy. Not the pushy type who just wanna clinch a deal. Haha.

xerome

sian.. i just noticed i'm unable to use sync by wifi to PC companion.. =(

Go through with the setup wizard and saw this on my phone:
611162238-1bfe285593c2f3feca7bc504ccd42089.4ff47690-scaled.png

Anyone knows how to resolve this?

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
12GB is not enough, for some people. But for most... 12GB is over-kill...it depend on how you use it... those that can easily hit 12GB...the new Singtel/Starhub plans will kill... for most, they are safe...

I used ard 4GB plus per month...so ya.... contract until next yr...next yr then worry... :crazy:

CoolSilverRider

ok guys, i found a bug in the ICS on XS.

Facebook: timeline is a known issue, forget about it.

What i encountered on FB is, if you scroll to more than 5 pages down to retrieve what happen the passed info on FB, you will faced a hangout and the XS will run very very very slow and it will freeze and prompted you to force close.

And i switched to the apps mode, and found out that under the "Undering", FB is utilitizing about 300MB+ ram memory, that's is like left only 20MB on the RAM!!!! Therefore, i need to froced stop the FB apps to release about 300MB+ ram memory back to the phone.

I wonder is it a ICS bug or XS bug, and therefore again, i used my wife S2 on ICS to test. And hers is working perfectly fine by scrolling more than 10 pages down of updates.

So i believe is the Sony development on the ICS for XS got problem. Especially on the RAM memory leakage and unable to control the Apps I/O control. Hopefully, Sony will solve those bugs asap.

So did you guys encounter this problem?

blacksmith

Strange battery issue.

I off mobile data and wifi, for the whole night (7 hours), CPU Spy report 98% deep sleep and there is about 4% battery drop from 99% to 95%. This seems normal. However, when I check the battery usage, it report "Android System" was awake for 5 hours + ... and used about 70% of the battery of the 4% battery drop, much more than "cell standby"

Dixon.

What i encountered on FB is, if you scroll to more than 5 pages down to retrieve what happen the passed info on FB, you will faced a hangout and the XS will run very very very slow and it will freeze and prompted you to force close.

And i switched to the apps mode, and found out that under the "Undering", FB is utilitizing about 300MB+ ram memory, that's is like left only 20MB on the RAM!!!! Therefore, i need to froced stop the FB apps to release about 300MB+ ram memory back to the phone.

I wonder is it a ICS bug or XS bug, and therefore again, i used my wife S2 on ICS to test. And hers is working perfectly fine by scrolling more than 10 pages down of updates.

So i believe is the Sony development on the ICS for XS got problem. Especially on the RAM memory leakage and unable to control the Apps I/O control. Hopefully, Sony will solve those bugs asap.

don't like to use timescape...

=:p

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
Uninstall FB app. Reinstall from Play store and update. See if the problem continue.

carlover76

I did a test on my FB app, no hang and slow down downloading using WiFi for more than 10 pages (1 contact posting consider 1 page).

1) I close all apps including FB app and check the RAM usage below :

Screenshot_2012-07-05-09-47-19.png

2) Open FB app and scroll more than 10 pages down, check on the RAM again :

Screenshot_2012-07-05-09-48-05.png

CoolSilverRider

I did a test on my FB app, no hang and slow down downloading using WiFi for more than 10 pages (1 contact posting consider 1 page).

1) I close all apps including FB app and check the RAM usage below :

Screenshot_2012-07-05-09-47-19.png

2) Open FB app and scroll more than 10 pages down, check on the RAM again :

Screenshot_2012-07-05-09-48-05.png

Is your FB build in along with the ICS updates?

carlover76

Is your FB build in along with the ICS updates?

Yes, I did a repair using PC Companion though my initial ICS update is from Service Centre then I found out that it cannot download FB Contact Photo so decided to do a repair using PC Companion.

After the repair then I update the FB app.

CoolSilverRider

Yes, I did a repair using PC Companion though my initial ICS update is from Service Centre then I found out that it cannot download FB Contact Photo so decided to do a repair using PC Companion.

After the repair then I update the FB app.

So SC did all the updates for you lah.

carlover76

So SC did all the updates for you lah.

Nope, like I mention that my first version of ICS is from Service Centre then I am having problem with the FB inside Xperia.

So I do a repair using PC Companion to do a clean refresh of ICS on my phone.

CoolSilverRider

Nope, like I mention that my first version of ICS is from Service Centre then I am having problem with the FB inside Xperia.

So I do a repair using PC Companion to do a clean refresh of ICS on my phone.

Oh...let me load some screenshot. :s8:

Screenshot_2012-07-05-10-25-37.png

blacksmith

Strange battery issue.

I off mobile data and wifi, for the whole night (7 hours), CPU Spy report 98% deep sleep and there is about 4% battery drop from 99% to 95%. This seems normal. However, when I check the battery usage, it report "Android System" was awake for 5 hours + ... and used about 70% of the battery of the 4% battery drop, much more than "cell standby"

No one has this problem?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.