the OnePlus 5 !!!

zhaohan

Being loving the oneplus 5 since i gotten it . sadly have to off load my oneplus 1 - 2 and 3 off =x if not gf nagggg one person so many phone. haha .

so far still feel ringke case is one of the better 1 out there . beside that will go for spigen .

skin applied with ringke fusion . best matched . altho for this 1+5 the ringke case comes with the dust cap which is abit annoying .

skin ordered online
ringke gotten from moshi (carousell)
oneplus 5 (131express)

Anyone looking for extra dash charger set . cable + charger + adapter letting go at $23 if interested.

this cover damn chio

tkte_85

Mine still says "Your system is up to date". I am on 4.5.6.

Regards
CK
Use a vpn fron playstore like turbovpn and choose canada as country
Then check for update, and once option is there to dl, disconnect vpn and download

slowpokie

Is there another cheaper alternative ?

Evem with 6gb ram and 64gb is still kinda exp

For the fact that is non contract phone

deckcard

Buy used set lor. Given latest flagship with such spec I'd say the pricing is pretty good. If $600 if still to expensive, there's always OP3T that's still very fast even by 2017 standard

batboyz

Mine still says "Your system is up to date". I am on 4.5.6.

Regards
CK

Use a vpn fron playstore like turbovpn and choose canada as country
Then check for update, and once option is there to dl, disconnect vpn and download

Download and install it yourself from one of these links:

OTA:
https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=961840155545586047

Full ROM:
http://otafsg.h2os.com/patch/amazon...xygen_23_OTA_012_all_1707312123_3bd11eedc.zip
Mirror for full ROM: https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=817550096634789895

There is no need for VPN etc.

Flash instructions/steps:
http://downloads.oneplus.net/oneplus-5/oneplus_5_oxygenos_4.5.5/

slowpokie

Buy used set lor. Given latest flagship with such spec I'd say the pricing is pretty good. If $600 if still to expensive, there's always OP3T that's still very fast even by 2017 standard

600 i know abit cheapo

But i am looking at 650 max 700 for 8 gb ram and 64 gb

Op2 works fine for me at 4gb ram

I dun really need super big storage as videos see liao can del
Dun watch on hp when got tablet

Only would love the speed and nfc

Other wise i dun utilise at maximum capacity for phones

tkte_85

6gb ram and 64gb option isnt the selling point of OP5 here
its the sd835 SOC u shld be comparing the prices to. S8: $815, XZP: $830, HTC U11: $820
for OP5 price point, u are looking at R11, G6, XZs. All the fones here are a step back in processor package

deckcard

600 i know abit cheapo

Huh, why you need 8GB ram when you are not even close at utilizing it? You are contradicting yourself with your own requirement imo. 4GB ram is actually enough and 6GB is already overkill in most instances but good for future prove. 8GB has no practical use so why spend more? You may think it's good for future but let's be practical here, by the time when 8gb is the norm, SD835 SOC is already too slow and you would be thinking of upgrading already just like you are now with OP2

musicsg_com

Hi guys any feedback in the camera performance. Tempted to switch from Samsung S8 Plus..

Camera is not as brilliant as S8+. Close scrutiny, the images are muddy like waterpainting, but noise removal is quite capable. Looks fine without zooming in. Exposure is conservative, while S8+ is brighter, sharper, looks better out of the cam.

http://musicphotolife.com/2017/08/oneplus-5-review-singapore-local-warranty/

The Depth Effect is quite ok, but Huawei is better because I can adjust the blurness and change the focal point after shooting.

OnePlus5_12.jpg

Summary: the camera quality is above average and can deliver acceptable photos, but for price, I expect better.

slowpokie

Huh, why you need 8GB ram when you are not even close at utilizing it? You are contradicting yourself with your own requirement imo. 4GB ram is actually enough and 6GB is already overkill in most instances but good for future prove. 8GB has no practical use so why spend more? You may think it's good for future but let's be practical here, by the time when 8gb is the norm, SD835 SOC is already too slow and you would be thinking of upgrading already just like you are now with OP2

Ya just got thd mentality faster ram less lag lor...

So likely if phone dun lorry

By op2 batt is quite drainjng now fullh charged at 12 by 530 almost dead

garychengjw

Get 3T then. Used 64gb about 400$.
600 i know abit cheapo

Very contradicting statement.

Sent from OnePlus 5 #SlateGrey using GAGT

deathst

Actually you can utilize it more and unconsciously use up all.. infact 8 GB is just right it keeps a good amount of applications in RAM so things are really zippy..

Here are screenshots of the ram usage
4irb4qg.jpg

Look at the amount of applications it can comfortably keep within.. btw each chrome application visible is a chrome tab.

HDD2R56.jpg

Active services in memory and most of the time these are the things that will eat your RAM.

shager

Camera is not as brilliant as S8+. Close scrutiny, the images are muddy like waterpainting, but noise removal is quite capable. Looks fine without zooming in. Exposure is conservative, while S8+ is brighter, sharper, looks better out of the cam.

http://musicphotolife.com/2017/08/oneplus-5-review-singapore-local-warranty/

The Depth Effect is quite ok, but Huawei is better because I can adjust the blurness and change the focal point after shooting.

OnePlus5_12.jpg

Summary: the camera quality is above average and can deliver acceptable photos, but for price, I expect better.

The U11 and S8 can be bought at cheaper than the OP5 with warranty. Who goes to singtel and pay full retail price for the U11 or S8? Misleading review with regard to pricing. That's why if you are comparing local warranty sets of the OP5 and U11/S8, it's not worth it.

deathst

The U11 and S8 can be bought at cheaper than the OP5 with warranty. Who goes to singtel and pay full retail price for the U11 or S8? Misleading review with regard to pricing. That's why if you are comparing local warranty sets of the OP5 and U11/S8, it's not worth it.

Cause OP5 can only be bought in retail not in telco. All these prices are not telco reduced plus the trend is shifting to a sim only plans where people will go out buying devices and selling them from the markets not telco sets

shager

Cause OP5 can only be bought in retail not in telco. All these prices are not telco reduced plus the trend is shifting to a sim only plans where people will go out buying devices and selling them from the markets not telco sets

But practically to the consumer it does not matter. Full local warranty for the U11/S8 is available cheaper than full local warranty for OP5. Not so much a flagship phone killer here than in other countries.

deathst

But practically to the consumer it does not matter. Full local warranty for the U11/S8 is available cheaper than full local warranty for OP5. Not so much a flagship phone killer here than in other countries.
Simply cause Telco does not carry it. OnePlus phones is not a phone that an Average consumer would get, usually people who get OnePlus devices will have to know Who is Oneplus and their devices cause simply it is not as simple to get and there is a higher chance they are more Tech savvy than the rest. These people are the ones who would spend more to import or buy a retail prices cause most of the devices are in yearly cycles and Telco plans cannot support these cycles so most of the time we buy them retail and sell away our previous devices.

TLDR; The review will only cover retail prices cause there is no Telco price comparison for OP5. Plus it is a tech enthusiast device who are willing to buy things at retail prices cause telco plan cycles are too slow.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.