the OnePlus 5 !!!

berber

Did you guys check for the jelly effect thing? My set doesn't seem to have it, tried scrolling through instagram, twitter, etc. but can't spot it. Guess i'm lucky?

kashix

Good leh you! Got a good set! Gxgx! My set today jin jia lat the jelly, : (

Did you guys check for the jelly effect thing? My set doesn't seem to have it, tried scrolling through instagram, twitter, etc. but can't spot it. Guess i'm lucky?

kashix

Gonna do the same also. After get it will try awhile if not good then I'll switch to s8 bah!

For me just use default one. Quality good enough, very clear, and no halo. Never see carefully like almost naked. :s13:

1 thing I've missed about OnePlus phone is the dash charging. Totally changed how you charge your phone. Super fast! How's the idle discharge? I heard it's quite bad.

After reading all the posts here, I use the original plastic one that came with the phone first. Don't even have a case at the moment...

Realise the battery on this thing not bad.. that dash charge thing is crazy fast... My last one plus phone was the OPO, this iteration is good... May consider using it as my daily driver after a few more days of use..

Sent from OnePlus ONEPLUS A5000 using GAGT

tkte_85

its the same cable, even for flat one. so long its stated to support dash charge, which is from OP3 onwards. Only OP2 cable dun support dash charge

hellojeffo

Gonna do the same also. After get it will try awhile if not good then I'll switch to s8 bah!

1 thing I've missed about OnePlus phone is the dash charging. Totally changed how you charge your phone. Super fast! How's the idle discharge? I heard it's quite bad.
Idle discharge too early to say as I still have not installed my daily suite of apps.. I fully charged last night at 12am and woke up at 7.45am with 96%

Sent from OnePlus ONEPLUS A5000 using GAGT

kryptonit3

place an order from 131express using the 50 dollars voucher and their store voucher for the 6gb model @ 597

jackycar

Good leh you! Got a good set! Gxgx! My set today jin jia lat the jelly, : (

Don't drama la hahahaha all sets have it its just he doesn't really what it is.

U will not realize anymore in a few days trust me

How often do you scroll repeatedly up and down on your phone without reading?

Alexz_Hong

Busy doing review forgot to share. Good battery life for me. Most of the time can get around 6hr. Never really keep track of standby drain, but seems okay. Not sure if it matters, but for Dynasty Warriors mostly in auto mode, so maybe no touch input less drain. Also for the screenshot i share, most of the time on Wifi. Just don't expect to see this type of SOT though, cause the apps you use, apps you install, all plays a part too. I quite particular about not installing too many apps, so often my battery life is better than the average. haha.

Anyway, so far i feel is better than LG G6, S8, HTC U11, and slightly ahead of XZ Premium.

2017-07-09.png

Alexz_Hong

Some thoughts on the camera so far. This one is written so i can talk a bit more. Video review will be more general to keep it short and sweet. (Sorry to mobile users, the attachments are best enjoyed on a computer)

2017-07-11.jpg

Images are generally pleasing to look at. The metering is right up my alley. Unlike some other companies that like to go for a bit higher exposure, especially the HTC U11. Colours tend to be a bit on the saturated side in day time, which is fine since it makes for a more vibrant photo. But, it can be a bit inconsistent (like different angle of the same sky, but slightly different colour) if you're picky about these things. Or when you use the telephoto lens and it's a very busy scene, the colours can sometimes differ a lot.

2017-07-11.jpg

The second camera is maybe only useful occasionally, like when you need to take photo, but can't get too close to the subject. The telephoto camera is 20MP, but the aperture and pixel size of the sensor is not that impressive, and quite limited in capabilities. It's pretty much useless in lowlight. The phone just zooms in using the main 16MP camera when there's not enough light. Like even in my room (indoors) the camera will stick to main camera most of the time.

2017-07-11.jpg

Same thing with the exposure in lowlight. Almost exactly the way i like it (more true to life). No need to keep adjusting the exposure lower like on the U11 which gets really annoying after a while. Colours are just nice too and not too over the top or too muted.

But due to lack of OIS, it goes for higher ISO so the shutter speed can be kept fast enough to avoid camera shake (it does a good job at this btw). But the problem is with the image processing.

WARNING: talking about the bad stuff now.

If you zoom in to the cat photo with the telephoto lens i posted earlier, and see the image processing. The way it processes the image and try to reduce the grain and noise, washes out the finer details. Becoming a bit flat looking. Almost like a painting or some filter. This is in broad daylight. Meaning in lowlight where there is more grain, more noise with the higher ISO, it looks even worse.

(cropped in a bit to show the image processing. namely the floor and the lamps)
2017-07-11.png

When you view it on your phone, it's completely fine. OnePlus is very smart too by capping how much you can zoom in in their gallery app. haha. But when zoom in, it's not that nice to look at. Some will argue that there's no point pixel peeping, and yeah, I agree. But the thing written on the side of the box, is "Dual Camera, Clearer Photos". Only the first part is true, and that doesn't say much about the quality. Also if don't zoom in, why claim it's the "highest resolution dual-camera system"? Lower MP count and bigger pixels would work even better.

But it's not a bad camera. The daylight photos are pleasing to look at. Very nice colour, vibrant, good exposure, fast camera app, etc. Most consumers I think mostly look at photos and share them through their phones anyway. Not a big deal.

But in lowlight, I think the OP3T has a noticeable edge with OIS on-board. Which makes it kinda disappointing that because they jump aboard the dual camera train (which isn't too useful to me), they sacrificed some of the quality.

Okay. I think long enough post liao. HWZ limit 8 photos per post nia, so can't attach that many sample or comparisons. Got time I try to do more. If not will be wait till video review liao. haha.

TL;DR, decent camera for its price (comparing brand new to brand new), but not as good as Oneplus says it is. Dxomark rating see see the in depth analysis can liao. The final score can don't take too seriously. Camera quality sibeh subjective one. Some like warm, some like cold. Some like natural looking, some like vibrant. Even U11 I also didn't think it was the best camera around despite top DXOmark scores.

Here's a good read from another Alex.
Androidcentral: Why DxOMark scores are basically worthless

Thanks for reading my 0.2 cents. haha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.